OODA Loop[包以德循环]
(John Boyd)

知识中心

   

信息战。 John Boyd的OODA Loop[包以德循环]解析。

目录

  1. 摘要
  2. 论坛
  3. 最佳实践
  4. Expert Tips
  5. 相关资料
  6. 打印

OODA 循环中的OODA观察(Oberve)、调整(Orient)、决策(Decide)以及行动(Act的英文缩写,它是信息战领域的一个概念。OODA循环的发明人是美国陆军上校约翰·包以德(1927-1997),因而又被称为包以德循环。 尽管包以德循环的发明纯粹是军事目的,但是这一理论同样能够应用于残酷的商战。 包以德凭借他战斗飞行员的经验和对动力机动性的研究,发明了这一理论。 最初,他运用OODA循环来阐述的是空对空的飞行搏击中克敌制胜的战术,但是,在他职业生涯的最后几年,他把OODA循环阐发为一种战略,一种让敌人心理瘫痪的战略。


包以德强调,任何战略都应该着眼于改变和影响敌手的行为,而不是消灭其军事力量。 包以德的理论和中国古代的军事家、《兵法》的作者孙子的军事思想无疑有异曲同工之妙。 在他们所主张的军事斗争策略中,都包含有这样的内容:协调作战、兵不厌诈、动如脱兔、行云流水、攻其不备、一招制胜、上兵伐谋。


包以德视敌人(也包括自己)为由决策流程所控制的运动系统, 这一决策过程完全依赖于对周围环境的观察。 敌人通常会不断观察(Observe)周围环境,获取相关的外部信息,根据感知到的外部威胁,及时调整(Orient)系统,做出应对决策(Decide),并采取相应行动(Act)。 包以德指出,“调整”(Orientation)步骤在整个OODA循环中最为关键,因为如果敌人对外界威胁判断有误,或者对于周围的环境理解错误,那么必将导致方向调整错误,最终做出错误决策。 包以德认为,敌、我的这一决策循环过程的速度显然有快慢之分。 己方的目标应该是,率先完成一个OODA循环,然后迅速采取行动,干扰、延长、打断敌人的OODA循环。 其中,有一种战术是,进入并操控敌人的OODA循环系统,使敌人对于外界变化无力做出任何反应。


包以德说,现实当中有很多种办法来延长敌人的OODA循环。 包以德的想法是,通过隐晦、诡计、奇兵、机动等手段,以及孙子的“正合”与“奇胜”战术,将敌人置于一个“无力合作”的重力中心。 通过隔绝敌人的重力中心,并在其系统内部制造猜疑、紧张、摩擦,使其“无力合作”,最终瘫痪、土崩瓦解。 此外,攻心战术的另一个作用还在于,敌人的士气和决策过程将被摧毁。


参考书: Sun Tzu, Gary Gagliardi - The Art of War[《孙子兵法:中国智慧之海》,北京大学出版社,1995;《孙子兵法:世界第一兵书》,台湾典藏阁,2003] -

参考书: Carl Von Clausewitz - On War [中译本《战争论》,解放军出版社,2000] -


包以德循环论坛
  Books on Boyd and his OODA Concept
'The Mind of War' and 'The John Boyd Roundtable' are some other books talking about Boyd theories and the OODA Loop concept.
The best biography about Boyd is by Robert Coram named 'Boyd: The Fighter Pilot Who Changed the Art of War'....
     
 
  OODA Loop in Education / Schools
Can anyone illustrate the use of OODA Loop in any school situation?...
     
 
  OODA Loop = Competitive Intelligence
In other words, competitive intelligence is: observe, orient, decide and act....
     
 
  OODA Loop & John Boyd
Orientation also involves probing for new information and looking for parallels in other areas of knowledge. It is extremely effective in emotionally charged situations like divorce. Boyds strategy theory is surprisingly simple yet applicable across...
     
 
  OODA & Adaptive Enterprise
I was surprised not to see anything about Stephan Haeckel's Adaptive Enterprise concept, advanced in late 1990s. He was head of IBM's Advanced Business Institute and now runs a consulting company focused on embedding an OODA loop into major organisat...
     
 

包以德循环 小组


小组

包以德循环 培训|活动


搜索培训、会议及活动项目


最佳实践 - 包以德循环 高级帐户

Expert Tips (ENG) - OODA Loop 高级帐户
 

Weaknesses of the OODA-Loop

Rousseau and Breton identify some limitations of the OODA Loop as developed by Boyd. These limitations and weaknesses are listed below:
- The OOD...
Usage (application)Limitations of OODA
 
 
 

An Improved Version of the OODA-loop with Feedback and -forward Loops

Rousseau and Breton developed an extended version of the OODA-loop in order to remove some of its weaknesses. M-OODA (short for Modular OODA loop). Th...
Usage (application)OODA-loop, Complex Decision Support, Defense, Best Practices
 
 

相关资料 - 包以德循环 高级帐户
 

新闻

OODA 循环
     
 

新闻

OODA 包以德
     
 

视频

OODA 循环
     
 

视频

OODA 包以德
     
 

简报

OODA 循环
     
 

简报

OODA 包以德
     
 

更多

OODA 循环
     
 

更多

OODA 包以德
     

比较:  Deming Cycle[戴明循环]  |  Organic Organization[有机式组织]  |  Business Intelligence[商业智能]  |  Force Field Analysis[力场分析法]  |  Scenario Planning[情境规划]  |  PEST Analysis[PEST分析]  |  SWOT Analysis[SWOT分析]  |  System Dynamics[系统动力学]  |  Business Process Simulation[商业流程仿真]


返回到分类主页: 沟通与技能  |  知识与无形资产  |  领导力  |  战略与策略


更多管理方法、模型和理论

Special Interest Group Leader

你在这里


OODA loop Boyd

上图根据 Chester W. Richards的《快捷,捉摸不定之剑:让孙子和包以德来做国防评论》一书内容改编, (该书英文名为《A Swift, Elusive Sword:What if Sun Tzu and John Boyd did a National Defense review》,

由美国国防信息中心刊发,2003年2月)。


关于12manage | 广告服务 | 链接我们 | 隐私 | 服务条款
版权所有 2016 12manage经理人进阶捷径。V14.1 - 最后更新:4-12-2016。各管理方法名称(tm)为其原创者所拥有。

OODA Loop
(John Boyd)

Knowledge Center

   

Information Warfare. Explanation of OODA loop of John Boyd.

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

The OODA Loop (Observe, Orient, Decide, and Act) is an  information strategy concept for information warfare developed by Colonel John Boyd (1927-1997). Although the OODA model was clearly created for military purposes, elements of the same theory can also be applied to business strategy. Boyd developed the theory based on his earlier experience as a fighter pilot and work on energy maneuverability. He initially used it to explain victory in air-to-air combat, but in the last years of his career he expanded his OODA Loop theory into a grand strategy that would defeat an enemy strategically by - psychological - paralysis.


Boyd emphasized that strategy should always revolve around changing the enemy's behavior, not annihilating his forces. The parallel between Boyd's ideas and the masterpiece of Sun Tzu, "The Art of War", are obvious. Both Boyd and Sun Tzu advocate the ideas of harmony, deception, swiftness and fluidity of action, surprise, shock, and attacking the enemy's strategy.


Colonel Boyd viewed the enemy (and ourselves) as a system that is acting through a decision making process. This decision making process is based on observations of the world around it. The enemy will observe unfolding circumstances and gather outside information in order to orient the system to perceived threats. Boyd states that the orientation phase of the loop is the most important step, because if the enemy perceives the wrong threats, or misunderstands what is happening in the environment around him, then he will orient his thinking (and forces) in wrong directions and ultimately make incorrect decisions. Boyd said that this cycle of decision-making could operate at different speeds for the enemy and your own organization. The goal should be to complete your OODA Loop process at a faster tempo than the enemy's, and to take action to lengthen the enemy's loop. One tries to conduct many more loops "inside" the enemy's loop, causing the enemy to be unable to react to anything that is happening to him.


Colonel Boyd stated that the enemy's loop can be lengthened through a variety of means. Boyd's aim is to generate "non-cooperate" centers of gravity for the enemy through ambiguity, deception, novel circumstances, fast transient maneuvers, and the use of Sun-Tzu's idea of Cheng and Ch'i. By isolating the enemy's centers of gravity and developing mistrust and cohesion within the system (making them "non-cooperative"), friction will be greatly increased, paralysis in the system will set in, and the enemy will ultimately collapse. By attacking the thought process of the enemy / competitor, his morale and decision process can be shattered.


Book: Sun Tzu, Gary Gagliardi - The Art of War -

Book: Carl Von Clausewitz - On War -


OODA Loop Forum
  Books on Boyd and his OODA Concept
'The Mind of War' and 'The John Boyd Roundtable' a...
     
 
  OODA Loop in Education / Schools
Can anyone illustrate the use of OODA Loop in any ...
     
 
  OODA Loop = Competitive Intelligence
In other words, competitive intelligence is: obser...
     
 
  OODA Loop & John Boyd
Orientation also involves probing for new informat...
     
 
  OODA & Adaptive Enterprise
I was surprised not to see anything about Stephan ...
     
 

OODA Loop Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

OODA Loop Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - OODA Loop Premium

Expert Tips - OODA Loop Premium
 

Weaknesses of the OODA-Loop

Rousseau and Breton identify some limitations of t...
Usage (application): Limitations of OODA
 
 
 

An Improved Version of the OODA-loop with Feedback and -forward Loops

Rousseau and Breton developed an extended version ...
Usage (application): OODA-loop, Complex Decision Support, Defense, Best Practices
 
 

Resources - OODA Loop Premium

Full 200-slide Powerpoint Presentation by Boyd

A monumental look by Boyd at what makes any organi...
Usage (application): Strategy, Conflict, OODA Loop
 

A Cognitive Version of the OODA Loop

The OODA loop has been proposed to represent the d...
Usage (application): Complex (Military) Dynamic Decision Support
 

OODA Loop Diagram

Download and edit this 12manage PowerPoint graphic...
Usage (application): Competitive Intelligence
 

Orientation Step in the OODA-loop

This presentation expands on the second point in t...
Usage (application): Orientation Phase, OODA-Loop
 
 

News about Ooda Loop


     
 

News about Ooda Boyd


     
 

Videos about Ooda Loop


     
 

Videos about Ooda Boyd


     
 

Presentations about Ooda Loop


     
 

Presentations about Ooda Boyd


     
 

More about Ooda Loop


     
 

More about Ooda Boyd


     

Compare with the OODA Loop of John Boyd:  Deming Cycle  |  Organic Organization  |  Business Intelligence  |  Force Field Analysis  |  Scenario Planning  |  PEST Analysis  |  SWOT Analysis  |  System Dynamics  |  Simulation


Return to Management Hub: Communication & Skills  |  Knowledge & Intangibles  |  Leadership  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


OODA loop Boyd

Chart adapted from Chester W. Richards, "A Swift, Elusive Sword: What if Sun Tzu and John Boyd did a National Defense review",

Center for Defense Information, February 2003, 22.


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2017 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 22-9-2017. All names tm by their owners.