3C模型大前研一

知识中心

   

制定成功经营战略的三个关键因素。 大前研一的3C's Model[3C模型]解析。

目录

  1. 摘要
  2. 论坛
  3. 最佳实践
  4. Expert Tips
  5. 相关资料
  6. 打印

3C模型的发明人,大前研一(Kenichi Ohmae,是日本战略研究的领军人物,他强调成功战略有三个关键因素, 在制定任何经营战略时,都必须考虑这三个因素,即

  1. 公司自身(Corporation)。
  2. 公司顾客(Customer)。
  3. 竞争对手(Competition)。

战略三角

只有将公司、顾客竞争者整合在同一个战略内,可持续的竞争优势才有存在的可能。 大前研一将这三个关键因素称作为3C战略三角


1 : 公司战略

公司战略旨在最大化企业的竞争优势,尤其是与企业成功息息相关的功能性领域的竞争优势:

  • 选择性和程序化。 企业没有必要在各个功能领域都占据领先优势, 企业要能够在某一核心功能上取得决定性优势,那么,它的其他功能领域即便平庸,最终也将因此核心功能优势而获得提升。
  • 以自制或购买为例。 在劳动力成本迅速攀升的情况下,是否将企业的组装业务转包出去,就成了一个非常重要的战略决定。 如果竞争对手不能迅速将生产功能转移给承包商和供营商,那么,该公司与竞争对手的差别最终将表现在成本结构上以及应对需求波动的反应能力上,而这些差别对企业经营与市场竞争将产生至关重要的影响。
  • 提高成本效益。 通过以下三种基本方式实现:
    1. 较之竞争对手,更为高效地减少成本费用。
    2. 简单化、优化选择:
      • 受理的订单。
      • 提供的产品。
      • 执行的功能。

      这种“摘樱桃”(选取最好的)的做法对企业运营影响巨大,一些经营业务、生产功能被削减之后,企业运营成本下降的速度要比营业收入增加的速度还要快。

    3. 将企业某项业务的关键功能与其他业务共享,甚至于与其他公司共享。 经验表明,很多情况下,在一个或多个次级营销功能领域进行资源共享是有利的。

2 : 顾客战略

依照大前的观点,顾客是所有战略的基础。 毫无疑问,公司的首要考虑应该是顾客的利益,而不是股东或者其他群体的利益。 从长远来看,只有那些真正为顾客着想的公司对于投资者才有吸引力。


顾客群体的合理划分法:

  • 按消费目的划分。 即按照顾客使用公司产品的不同方式来划分顾客群。 以咖啡为例。 一些人饮用咖啡是为了提神醒脑,而另一些人则是为了休闲交际(如会议茶休期间边饮咖啡边做交谈)。
  • 按顾客覆盖面划分。 这种划分法源于营销成本和市场面的平衡研究。 此研究认为,不论营销成本与市场面二者关系如何变化,营销收益总是在递减的。 因此,公司的任务就是要优化其市场面。 优化的依据既可以是消费者的居住地域,也可以是公司的分销渠道。 通过这一做法,企业的营销成本较之竞争对手将处于更加有利的地位。
  • 对顾客市场进行细分。 在一个竞争激烈的市场上,公司的竞争对手极有可能采取与自己类似的市场手段。 因此,从长远来看,企业最初制定的市场分割战略其功效将逐渐呈现下降趋势。 出现这样的情况后,企业就应该进一步聚焦一小部分核心客户,重新审视什么样的产品和服务才是他们真正需求的。

消费者组合的变化
随着时间的推移,市场力量通过影响人口结构、销售渠道、顾客规模等等,不断改变消费者组合的分布状态,因此,市场划分也要因时制宜。 这种变化意味着公司必须重新配置其企业资源。


3 : 竞争者战略

大前研一主张,企业的竞争者战略,可以通过寻找有效之法, 追求在采购、设计、制造、销售及服务等功能领域的差异化来实现。 具体思路如下:

  • 品牌形象差异化。 索尼和本田的销售量比他们的竞争对手要高出许多,是因为他们在公关和做广告上投入得更多。 而且,比起竞争对手来,他们的广告战组织得更加谨慎、细致。 当产品功能、分销模式趋同的时候,品牌形象也许就是差异化的唯一源泉。 然而,瑞士腕表业遭遇的不幸也揭示了品牌形象的危险性。因此,必须对品牌形象进行长期有效的监控。
  • 利润和成本结构差异化。 首先,从新产品的销售和附加服务上, 追求最大可能的利润。 其次,在固定成本与变动成本的配置比率上做文章。 当市场低迷的时候,固定成本较低的公司能够轻而易举地调低价格。 由此,通过低价策略,公司极易扩大市场份额。 这一策略对于那些固定成本较高的企业有很大的杀伤力。 市场价格过低的时候,他们往往寸步难行。
  • 轻量级拳击战术。 如果公司打算在传媒上大做广告,或者加大研发力度,那么公司收入将会有很大一部分消耗在这些附加的固定成本上面。 中小企业跟市场巨擘在这样一些领域交战,孰胜孰负不言自明。 然而,企业可以将其市场激励计划建立在一个渐进比例上,而不是一个绝对数值上。这样一种可变的激励计划,同时能够保证经销商为了获取额外回报,加大企业产品的销售力度。 很显然, Big Three Market Players[市场三巨头]不可能为其经销商提供这样的额外回报 如此,他们的收益将很快遭受到中小公司的侵蚀。
  • Hito-Kane-MonoHito-Kane-Mono是日本企划师们津津乐道的三个字,即人、财、物(固定资产)。 他们相信,只有当此三者达成平衡,无一冗余或浪费,才能实现流线型的企业管理。 例如: 现金存量超出管理人员的资金需求量,就是一种浪费。 相反,如果管理人员太多,而供其支配的资金不足,同样也是一种浪费。由此产生的浪费还包括,财务管理人员不得不把宝贵的时间花在如何分配有限的资金上。 在此人、财、物三种资源中,应该最后配置资金。 公司首先应该依据现有的“物”(厂房车间、机器设备、技术工艺、流程业务及功能强项)对“人”(管理类型的人才资源)进行针对性的配置 。 一旦“人”的创造性被开发了出来,产生了远见卓识的商业构想,“物”和“财”就应该按需求配置到这些具体的商业构想和生产项目上去。

参考书: Kenichi Ohmae - The Mind Of The Strategist: The Art of Japanese Business -

参考书: Kenichi Ohmae - The Invisible Continent: Four Strategic Imperatives of the New Economy [中译本《看不见的新大陆:知识经济四大策略》,台湾天下杂志出版社,2001] -


3C模型论坛
  Using the 3C Model by Ohmae in Practice
My question is: How exactly can I use the 3C model? Fore example, can I use the Ohmae's 3 Cs for a B2B marketing report?
Do I need to choose one 1 strategy per C or does it depends on the company's issues? How can I integrate the 3C's?
So ...
     
 
  3C's Model and Supply Chain Strategy
While designing / re-engineering a supply chain one has to consider all 3 C's of Ohmae. The supply chain design should be based on
1. Corporation: corporate image, cost effectiveness, wastage & risk.
2. Customer service level, lead times
     
 
  Adding Culture to 3C Model
First, as a strategy person thinking that human resources / manpower is the strongest force to use in a comany, I would say that I prefer the 3C's the way Philip Grobbler defines it.
Second, I want to emphasize the importance of adding cultu...
     
 
  3C as a Change Management Tool
In considering ways to work with a simple model to use during any change management journey I worked with great people (Williams/de Weerd) who explained their 3C model as Concept (intellectual and blue{cold colour}); Commitment (emotional and red{war...
     
 
  Strategic vs Operational Plans
A strategic plan is related to aligning the organization to its environment in the long term. So it emphasizes effectiveness (doing the right things), is general and scientific analysis can be mixed with intuition.
An operational plan<...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae): Add Comfort
Ohmae tried with the 3Cs, but without the welfare of the firm (management and staff) and environment (people and land), the strategies could be impaired. By Comfort I mean the over-all well-being of firm and environment can add value, profit ...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae); Add Culture
I think the 3c's offer a simple yet relevant way to look at the focus and direction of the company. Some other elements (other C's) then make up for a secondary tier of strategy development (subsections of a mind map) in the development of a comprehe...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae): Add Cost
The 3C's is a successful tool for strategic planning. Please allow me to add Cost as a very important tool as well, as I know a lot of high quality manufacturers who think that the cost is not an important competitive tool....
     
 
  Ohmae's 3C's Model: Add Context
Including Context into the 3C's model will improve the model's explanatory power. Context refers to the multiple environments in which the corporation operates....
     
 
  Strategy is Irrational
Another important notion described by Ohmae in The Mind of the Strategist is the non-linair and irrational nature of (Japanese) strategy. The most reliable way of dissecting a situation into its constituent parts, and then reasasembling them i...
     
 
  3C model on Leadership
Do not mix up the 3C business strategy model by Ohmae with the 3C Model on Leadership by Paul B. Thornton. In his 1999 book 'Be the Leader, Make the Difference' Thornton claims as a leader you can "make the difference" by Challenging people, building...
     
 

3C模型 小组


小组

3C模型 培训|活动


搜索培训、会议及活动项目


最佳实践 - 3C模型 高级帐户
  3C is Simple but Complete
3C is a very simple strategic tool to analyze why a company or brand is successful....
     
 

Expert Tips (ENG) - 3Cs Model 高级帐户
 

The Strategy Model of 5 Cs

A variant of Ohmae's 3C Strategy Model is the 5C Strategy Model, which includes the first 3 C's of Ohmae plus 2 more:
1. Corporation/Company
...
Usage (application)Corporate and Business Strategy
 
 
 

A Closer Look Into Customer Value

It is often argued that customer value is required for staying competitive and successful as organization. But in what ways can customer value be a cr...
Usage (application)Customer Value Analysis, Strategic Marketing, Innovation Strategy
 
 
 

Understanding your Customer's Needs

In order to transform your customers experience and to better understand your customers needs, it is helpful to construct a hypothetical cons...
Usage (application)Customer Targeting and Strategy
 
 

相关资料 - 3C模型 高级帐户
 

新闻

3C模型
     
 

新闻

大前研一
     
 

视频

3C模型
     
 

视频

大前研一
     
 

简报

3C模型
     
 

简报

大前研一
     
 

更多

3C模型
     
 

更多

大前研一
     

比较:  Value Profit Chain[价值利润链]  |  Competitive Advantage[竞争优势]  |  Resource-Based View[企业资源观]  |  Co-Creation[共同创造]  |  Parenting Styles[母合类型]  |  Parenting Advantage[母合优势]  |  Prahalad  |  BCG Matrix[BCG矩阵]  |  Growth Phases[成长阶段]  |  Distinctive Capabilities[特殊能力]  |  Organizational Configurations[组织构型]  |  Marketing Mix[营销组合] (4Ps)  |  The Value Net[价值网], Coopetition[合作竞争]


返回到分类主页: 营销  |  战略与策略  |  供应链与质量管理


更多管理方法、模型和理论

Special Interest Group Leader

你在这里


关于12manage | 广告服务 | 链接我们 | 隐私 | 服务条款
版权所有 2016 12manage经理人进阶捷径。V14.1 - 最后更新:8-12-2016。各管理方法名称(tm)为其原创者所拥有。

The 3C Model by Ohmae

Knowledge Center

   

Three key factors to create a successful business strategy. Explanation of 3C's Model of Ohmae

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

The 3C's model of Kenichi Ohmae, a famous Japanese strategy guru, stresses that a strategist should focus on three key factors for success. In the construction of any business strategy, three main players must be taken into account:

  1. The corporation itself.
  2. The customer.
  3. The competition.

The Strategic triangle

Only by integrating the three C's (Customer, Corporate, and Competitor) in a strategic triangle, a sustained competitive advantage can exist. Ohmae refers to these key factors as the three C's or the strategic triangle.


1: Corporate-based strategies

These strategies aim to maximize the corporation's strengths relative to the competition in the functional areas that are critical to achieve success in the industry:

  • Selectivity and sequencing. The corporation does not have to lead in every function to win. If it can gain a decisive edge in one key function, it will eventually be able to improve its other functions which are now mediocre.
  • A case of make or buy. In case of rapidly rising wage costs, it becomes a critical decision for a company to subcontract a major share of its assembly operations. If its competitors are unable to shift production so rapidly to subcontractors and vendors, the resulting difference in cost structure and/or in the company's ability to cope with demand fluctuations may have significant strategic implications.
  • Improving cost-effectiveness. This can be done in three basic ways:
    1. Reducing basic costs much more effectively than the competition.
    2. Simply to exercise greater selectivity in terms of:
      • The orders that are accepted.
      • The products that are offered.
      • The functions that are performed.

      This means cherry-picking operations with a high impact, so that when other operations are eliminated, functional costs will drop faster than sales revenues.

    3. To share a certain key function with the corporation's other businesses or even with other companies. Experience indicates that there are many situations in which sharing resources in one or more basic sub-functions of marketing can be advantageous.

2: Customer-based strategies

Clients are the basis of any strategy according to Ohmae. There is no doubt that a corporation's foremost concern ought to be the interests of its customers rather than that of its stockholders and other parties. In the long run, the corporation that is genuinely interested in its customers will be interesting for its investors.


Segmentation is advisable:

  • Segmenting by objectives. Here, the differentiation is done in terms of the different ways that different customers use the product. Take coffee, for example. Some people drink it for waking up or staying alert, while others view coffee as a way to relax or socialize (coffee breaks).
  • Segmenting by customer coverage. This type of strategic segmentation normally emerges from a trade-off study of marketing costs versus market coverage. There appears always to be a point of diminishing returns in the cost-versus-coverage relationship. The corporation's task, therefore, is to optimize its range of market coverage. Be it geographical or channel. So that its cost of marketing will be advantageous relative to the competition.
  • Segmenting the market once more. In a fiercely competitive market, the corporation and its head-on competitors are likely to be dissecting the market in similar ways. Over an extended period of time, therefore the effectiveness of a given initial strategic segmentation will tend to decline. In such a situation it is useful to pick a small group of key customers and reexamine what it is that they are really looking for.

Changes in customer mix:
Such a market segment change occurs where the market forces are altering the distribution of the user-mix over time by influencing demography, distribution channels, customer size, etc. This kind of change means that the allocation of corporate resources must be shifted and/or the absolute level of resources committed in the business must be changed.


3: Competitor-based strategies

According to Kenichi Ohmae, these strategies can be constructed by looking at possible sources of differentiation in functions such as: purchasing, design, engineering, sales and servicing. Ways to do this:

  • The power of an image. Both Sony and Honda sell more than their competitors as they invested more heavily in public relations and advertising. And they managed these functions more carefully than did their competitors. When product performance and mode of distribution are very difficult to differentiate, image may be the only source of positive differentiation. But the case of the Swiss watch industry shows that a strategy built on image can be risky and must be monitored constantly.
  • Capitalizing on profit- and cost-structure differences. Firstly, the difference in source of profit might be exploited. For profit from new product sales, profit from services etcetera. Secondly, a difference in the ratio of fixed cost and variable cost might also be exploited strategically. Because a company with a lower fixed cost ratio can lower prices in a sluggish market. In this way it can win market share. This hurts the company with a higher fixed cost ratio. The market price is too low to justify its high fixed cost and low volume operation.
  • Tactics for flyweights. If such a company chooses to compete in mass-media advertising or massive R&D efforts, the additional fixed costs will absorb a large portion of its revenue. Its giant competitors will inevitably win. It could however calculate its incentives on a gradual percentage basis, rather than on absolute volume, thus making the incentives variable by guaranteeing the dealer a larger percentage of each extra unit sold. Of course, the big three market players cannot afford to offer such high percentages across the board to their respective franchised shops; their profitability would soon be eroded.
  • Hito-Kane-Mono. A favorite phrase of Japanese business planners is hito-kane-mono, or people, money, and things (fixed assets). They believe that streamlined corporate management is achieved when these three critical resources are in balance without any surplus or waste. For example: cash over and beyond what competent people can intelligently expend is wasted. Too many managers without enough money will exhaust their energies and involve their colleagues in a time-wasting warfare over the allocation of the limited funds. Of the three critical resources, funds should be allocated last. The corporation should first allocate management talent, based on the available mono: plant, machinery, technology, process know-how, and functional strengths. Once these hito have developed creative and imaginative ideas to capture the business's upward potential, the kane, or money, should be allocated to the specific ideas and programs generated by individual managers.

Book: Kenichi Ohmae - The Mind Of The Strategist: The Art of Japanese Business -

Book: Kenichi Ohmae - The Invisible Continent : Four Strategic Imperatives of the New Economy -


3Cs Model Forum
  Using the 3C Model by Ohmae in Practice
My question is: How exactly can I use the 3C model...
     
 
  3C's Model and Supply Chain Strategy
While designing / re-engineering a supply chain on...
     
 
  Adding Culture to 3C Model
First, as a strategy person thinking that human r...
     
 
  3C as a Change Management Tool
In considering ways to work with a simple model to...
     
 
  Strategic vs Operational Plans
A strategic plan is related to aligning the...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae): Add Comfort
Ohmae tried with the 3Cs, but without the welfare ...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae); Add Culture
I think the 3c's offer a simple yet relevant way t...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae): Add Cost
The 3C's is a successful tool for strategic planni...
     
 
  Ohmae's 3C's Model: Add Context
Including Context into the 3C's model will...
     
 
  Strategy is Irrational
Another important notion described by Ohmae in The...
     
 
  3C model on Leadership
Do not mix up the 3C business strategy model by Oh...
     
 

3Cs Model Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

3Cs Model Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - 3Cs Model Premium
  3C is Simple but Complete
3C is a very simple strategic tool to analyze why...
     
 

Expert Tips - 3Cs Model Premium
 

The Strategy Model of 5 Cs

A variant of Ohmae's 3C Strategy Model is the 5C S...
Usage (application): Corporate and Business Strategy
 
 
 

A Closer Look Into Customer Value

It is often argued that customer value is required...
Usage (application): Customer Value Analysis, Strategic Marketing, Innovation Strategy
 
 
 

Understanding your Customer's Needs

In order to transform your customerís experience a...
Usage (application): Customer Targeting and Strategy
 
 

Resources - 3Cs Model Premium

Top 5 Strategy Pitfalls

Strategy is complex and companies are making many ...
Usage (application): Strategy Errors, Strategy Traps, Strategy Barriers, Strategic Planning, Strategy Process
 

Introduction to Competitive Strategy: The 3 Circle Model

Prof. Joe Urbany goes to the heart of Competitive ...
Usage (application): Initial Understanding of Competitive Strategy
 

The Importance of a Long Term Focus on the Customer

Ohmae explains the importance of the fundamental b...
Usage (application): Interview Ohmae on the Need for a Long-term Customer Focus
 
 

News about Ohmae Model


     
 

News about Business Strategy


     
 

Videos about Ohmae Model


     
 

Videos about Business Strategy


     
 

Presentations about Ohmae Model


     
 

Presentations about Business Strategy


     
 

More about Ohmae Model


     
 

More about Business Strategy


     

Compare with:  Value Profit Chain  |  Porter Competitive Advantage  |  Resource-Based View  |  Co-Creation  |  Parenting Styles  |  Parenting Advantage  |  Prahalad  |  BCG Matrix  |  Growth Phases  |  Distinctive Capabilities  |  Organizational Configurations  |  Marketing Mix (4-Ps)  |  The Value Net, Co-opetition


Return to Management Hub: Marketing  |  Strategy  |  Supply Chain & Quality


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2017 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 22-9-2017. All names tm by their owners.