Le Modèle 3C de Ohmae

Centre de Connaissances

   

Trois facteurs principaux pour créer une stratégie commerciale réussie. Définition du modèle des 3 C d'Ohmae

Sommaire

  1. Résumé
  2. Forum
  3. Meilleures Pratiques
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Ressources
  6. Imprimer

Le modèle des 3 C de Kenichi Ohmae, le célèbre gourou en stratégie japonais, souligne qu'un stratège devrait se concentrer sur trois facteurs principaux de succès. Dans la construction de n'importe quelle stratégie commerciale, trois joueurs principaux doivent être pris en considération :

  1. L'entreprise elle-même.
  2. Le client.
  3. La concurrence.

Le triangle stratégique

C'est seulement en intégrant les trois C (Client, Compagnie, et Concurrent) dans une triangle stratégique, qu'un avantage concurrentiel stable peut exister. Ohmae se rapporte à ces facteurs principaux comme les trois C ou le triangle stratégique.


1 : Basé sur les stratégies d'entreprise

Ces stratégies visent à maximiser les points forts de l'entreprise relativement à la concurrence dans les domaines fonctionnels qui sont critiques pour réaliser le succès dans l'industrie :

  • Sélectivité et ordonnancement. L'entreprise ne doit pas nécessairement être leader dans chacune des fonctions pour gagner la victoire. Si elle peut gagner un avantage décisif dans une fonction clé, elle sera par la suite en mesure d'améliorer ses autres fonctions actuellement médiocres.
  • Un cas de faire ou faire-faire. En cas de coûts salariaux en croissance rapide, cela devient une décision urgente pour l'entreprise qu'elle sous-traite une part croissante de ses opérations d'assemblage. Si ses concurrents ne peuvent pas transférer leur production aussi rapidement aux sous-traitants et aux fournisseurs, la différence résultante en structure de coût et/ou dans l'habileté de l'entreprise à faire face aux fluctuations de la demande peut avoir des implications stratégiques significatives.
  • Améliorer la rentabilité. Ceci peut être fait de trois manières différentes :
    1. Réduisant les coûts de base beaucoup plus efficacement que la concurrence.
    2. Exerçant simplement une plus grande sélectivité en termes de :
      • Les commandes qui sont acceptées.
      • Les produits qui sont offerts.
      • Les fonctions qui sont réalisées.

      Cela signifie une sélection d'opérations ayant un impact important, de sorte que quand d'autres opérations sont éliminées, les coûts fonctionnels chutent plus rapidement que le revenu des ventes.

    3. En partageant certaines fonctions clé avec d'autres activités de l'entreprise ou même avec d'autres compagnies. L'expérience indique qu'il y a beaucoup de situations dans lesquelles les ressources partagées dans une ou plusieurs activités de base du marketing peuvent être avantageuses.

2 : Stratégies Orientées Client

Les clients sont la base de n'importe quelle stratégie selon Ohmae. Il n'y a aucun doute que la première préoccupation d'une entreprise doit être les intérêts de ses clients plutôt que celui de ses actionnaires et des autres partenaires. En fin de compte, l'entreprise qui est véritablement intéressée par ses clients sera intéressante pour ses investisseurs.


Segmentation recommandée :

  • Segmentation par objectifs. Ici, la différentiation s'effectue du fait des différentes manières d'utiliser le produit par les différents clients. Prenez le café, par exemple. Certaines personnes le boivent pour se réveiller ou rester alertes, alors que d'autres regardent le café comme une manière de se détendre ou d'avoir une vie sociale (la pause-café).
  • Segmentation par les besoins du client. Ce type de segmentation stratégique émerge normalement d'une étude comparative entre les frais de commercialisation et la couverture des besoins du marché. Il apparaît toujours un moment où le retour sur investissement diminue dans le rapport entre les frais de commercialisation et la couverture des besoins du marché. La tâche de l'entreprise, donc est d'optimiser sa gamme de produits pour couvrir les besoins du marché. Que ce soit géographique ou des canaux de distribution. De sorte que son coût de commercialisation soit avantageux relativement à la concurrence.
  • Segmentation plus fine du marché. Dans un marché concurrentiel agressif, l'entreprise et ses concurrents frontaux ont probablement découpé le marché de manières similaires. Sur une période prolongée, donc l'efficacité d'une segmentation stratégique initiale donnée tendra à diminuer. Dans une telle situation il est utile d'échantillonner un petit groupe de clients principaux et de réexaminer ce qu'ils recherchent vraiment.

Changements dans le mix-client :
Un tel changement de segment de marché se produit lorsque les forces du marché modifient la distribution du mix-utilisateur au cours du temps en influençant la démographie, les canaux de distribution, la taille du client, etc. Ce genre de changement signifie que l'affectation des ressources de l'entreprise doit être redistribuée et/ou le niveau du montant global des ressources affectées à l'activité doit être changé.


3 : Stratégies de concurrence

Selon Kenichi Ohmae, ces stratégies peuvent être construites en regardant les sources possibles de différentiation dans les fonctions comme : les achats, les études, l'ingénierie technique, les Ventes et le Service Après-Vente. Les différentes manières de faire :

  • La puissance de l'image. Sony et Honda vendent plus parce qu'ils ont investi plus lourdement que leurs concurrents dans les Relations Publiques et la publicité. Et ils ont géré ces fonctions plus soigneusement que leurs concurrents. Quand il est très difficile de se différencier par la performance du produit et le mode de distribution, l'image peut être la seule source de différentiation positive. Mais le cas de l'industrie suisse de la montre prouve qu'une stratégie établie sur l'image peut être risquée et doit être constamment pilotée.
  • Capitalisation sur les différences de rentabilité et les coûts de structure. Premièrement, la différence de source de rentabilité devrait être exploitée. Pour la rentabilité des ventes de nouveau produit, la rentabilité des services à la clientèle; etc. Deuxièmement, une différence dans le ratio de coût fixe et de coût variable pourrait également être exploitée stratégiquement. Car une compagnie avec un ratio de coûts fixes plus faible peut réduire ses prix sur un marché peu actif. De cette façon, il peut gagner des parts de marché. Ceci touche la compagnie avec un ratio de coûts fixes plus élevé. Le prix du marché est trop bas pour justifier son haut niveau de coût fixe et son faible volume d'activité.
  • Tactiques pour Poids Mouche. Si une telle compagnie choisit de concourir sur le marché de masse au moyen de la publicité ou bien au moyen d'efforts massifs de R&D, les coûts fixes additionnels absorberont une grande partie de ses revenus. Ses concurrents dominants gagneront inévitablement. Il pourrait cependant calculer sa rentabilité sur la base d'un pourcentage progressif, plutôt que sur le volume global, lui permettant ainsi une rentabilité variable en garantissant au revendeur un pourcentage croissant fonction du volume supplémentaire des ventes. Naturellement, les trois plus grands compétiteurs sur le marché ne peut pas avoir les moyens d'offrir de tels pourcentages élevés d'un bout de l'affaire à l'autre à leurs magasins concessionnaires respectifs ; leur rentabilité serait bientôt érodée.
  • Hito-Kane-Mono. L'expression préférée des développeurs d'affaires japonais est hito-kane-mono, ou les personnes, l'argent, et les choses (immobilisations). Ils croient qu'une gestion efficace de l'entreprise est réalisée quand ces trois ressources critiques sont équilibrées sans aucun excédent ou perte. Par exemple : une rémunération excessive et au delà de ce qu'une personne compétente peut raisonnablement dépenser est un gaspillage de ressources. Trop de directeurs sans un budget suffisant épuiseront leur énergie et entraînerons leurs collègues dans des luttes intestines source de perte de temps pour essayer d'influencer l'allocation de fonds limités. Des trois ressources critiques, les fonds devraient être alloués en dernier. L'entreprise devrait d'abord allouer les responsabilités de gestion, basée sur le mono disponible : usine, machines, technologie, savoir-faire des processus, et compétences fonctionnelles. Une fois que ces hito ont développés des idées créatives et imaginatives afin de capturer une source de rentabilité d'activité, le kane, ou l'argent, devrait être alloué aux idées et programmes spécifiques produits par les différents directeurs.

Livre : Kenichi Ohmae - The Mind Of The Strategist: The Art of Japanese Business -

Livre : Kenichi Ohmae - The Invisible Continent : Four Strategic Imperatives of the New Economy -


Forum de Modèle des 3C
  Modèle des 3C (Ohmae): ajouter une autre dimention: la Création
Personellement, je pense qu 'il faut ajouter une autre dimention qui est le C de la création, afin d'arriver à bien fomuler les 3 premiers C, d'une manière optimale en d'autres mots C de la cohérance de ces 3 premier C... Qui signifie l'amélioration ...
     
 
  L'importance des Clients dans le Modèle 3C de Ohmae
J'apprécie tout particulièrement que l'on insiste ici sur le fait que le client est le sens de l'entreprise, en lieu et place de l'actionnaire....
     
 
  Using the 3C Model by Ohmae in Practice
My question is: How exactly can I use the 3C model? Fore example, can I use the Ohmae's 3 Cs for a B2B marketing report?
Do I need to choose one 1 strategy per C or does it depends on the company's issues? How can I integrate the 3C's?
So ...
     
 
  3C's Model and Supply Chain Strategy
While designing / re-engineering a supply chain one has to consider all 3 C's of Ohmae. The supply chain design should be based on
1. Corporation: corporate image, cost effectiveness, wastage & risk.
2. Customer service level, lead times
     
 
  Adding Culture to 3C Model
First, as a strategy person thinking that human resources / manpower is the strongest force to use in a comany, I would say that I prefer the 3C's the way Philip Grobbler defines it.
Second, I want to emphasize the importance of adding cultu...
     
 
  3C as a Change Management Tool
In considering ways to work with a simple model to use during any change management journey I worked with great people (Williams/de Weerd) who explained their 3C model as Concept (intellectual and blue{cold colour}); Commitment (emotional and red{war...
     
 
  Strategic vs Operational Plans
A strategic plan is related to aligning the organization to its environment in the long term. So it emphasizes effectiveness (doing the right things), is general and scientific analysis can be mixed with intuition.
An operational plan<...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae): Add Comfort
Ohmae tried with the 3Cs, but without the welfare of the firm (management and staff) and environment (people and land), the strategies could be impaired. By Comfort I mean the over-all well-being of firm and environment can add value, profit ...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae); Add Culture
I think the 3c's offer a simple yet relevant way to look at the focus and direction of the company. Some other elements (other C's) then make up for a secondary tier of strategy development (subsections of a mind map) in the development of a comprehe...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae): Add Cost
The 3C's is a successful tool for strategic planning. Please allow me to add Cost as a very important tool as well, as I know a lot of high quality manufacturers who think that the cost is not an important competitive tool....
     
 
  Ohmae's 3C's Model: Add Context
Including Context into the 3C's model will improve the model's explanatory power. Context refers to the multiple environments in which the corporation operates....
     
 
  Strategy is Irrational
Another important notion described by Ohmae in The Mind of the Strategist is the non-linair and irrational nature of (Japanese) strategy. The most reliable way of dissecting a situation into its constituent parts, and then reasasembling them i...
     
 
  3C model on Leadership
Do not mix up the 3C business strategy model by Ohmae with the 3C Model on Leadership by Paul B. Thornton. In his 1999 book 'Be the Leader, Make the Difference' Thornton claims as a leader you can "make the difference" by Challenging people, building...
     
 

Modèle des 3C Groupe d'Intérêt Spécial


Groupe d'Intérêt Spécial

Modèle des 3C Enseignement & Evènements


Trouvez des formations, séminaires et évènements


Meilleures Pratiques - Modèle des 3C Premium
  3C is Simple but Complete
3C is a very simple strategic tool to analyze why a company or brand is successful....
     
 

Expert Tips (ENG) - 3Cs Model Premium
 

The Strategy Model of 5 Cs

A variant of Ohmae's 3C Strategy Model is the 5C Strategy Model, which includes the first 3 C's of Ohmae plus 2 more:
1. Corporation/Company
...
Usage (application) : Corporate and Business Strategy
 
 
 

A Closer Look Into Customer Value

It is often argued that customer value is required for staying competitive and successful as organization. But in what ways can customer value be a cr...
Usage (application) : Customer Value Analysis, Strategic Marketing, Innovation Strategy
 
 
 

Understanding your Customer's Needs

In order to transform your customer’s experience and to better understand your customer’s needs, it is helpful to construct a hypothetical cons...
Usage (application) : Customer Targeting and Strategy
 
 

Ressources - Modèle des 3C Premium
 

Nouvelles

Ohmae Modèle
     
 

Nouvelles

Business Stratégie
     
 

Vidéos

Ohmae Modèle
     
 

Vidéos

Business Stratégie
     
 

Présentations

Ohmae Modèle
     
 

Présentations

Business Stratégie
     
 

Plus

Ohmae Modèle
     
 

Plus

Business Stratégie
     

Comparez avec :   Chaîne d'Avantages de la Valeur  |  Avantage Concurrentiel de Porter  |  Vision Basée Ressource  |  Co-Création  |  Styles de Filialisation  |  Avantage de la Filialisation  |  Prahalad  |  Matrice BCG  |  Phases de Croissance  |  Aptitudes Distinctives  |  Configurations d'Organisation  |  Le Marketing Mix (4-Ps)  |  Valeur Nette, Co-opétition


Retour vers la page des disciplines de Management : Vente  |  Stratégie  |  Supply Chain & Quality (Chaîne des Appros et Qualité)


Plus de Méthodes, Modèles et Théorie de Management

Special Interest Group Leader

Vous ici


Au sujet de 12manage | Publicité | Lien avec nous | Confidentialité | Conditions de service
Copyright 2016 12manage - La voie rapide vers la direction générale. V14.1 - Dernière mise à jour : 26-9-2016. Tout les noms TM par leurs propriétaires.

The 3C Model by Ohmae

Knowledge Center

   

Three key factors to create a successful business strategy. Explanation of 3C's Model of Ohmae

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

The 3C's model of Kenichi Ohmae, a famous Japanese strategy guru, stresses that a strategist should focus on three key factors for success. In the construction of any business strategy, three main players must be taken into account:

  1. The corporation itself.
  2. The customer.
  3. The competition.

The Strategic triangle

Only by integrating the three C's (Customer, Corporate, and Competitor) in a strategic triangle, a sustained competitive advantage can exist. Ohmae refers to these key factors as the three C's or the strategic triangle.


1: Corporate-based strategies

These strategies aim to maximize the corporation's strengths relative to the competition in the functional areas that are critical to achieve success in the industry:

  • Selectivity and sequencing. The corporation does not have to lead in every function to win. If it can gain a decisive edge in one key function, it will eventually be able to improve its other functions which are now mediocre.
  • A case of make or buy. In case of rapidly rising wage costs, it becomes a critical decision for a company to subcontract a major share of its assembly operations. If its competitors are unable to shift production so rapidly to subcontractors and vendors, the resulting difference in cost structure and/or in the company's ability to cope with demand fluctuations may have significant strategic implications.
  • Improving cost-effectiveness. This can be done in three basic ways:
    1. Reducing basic costs much more effectively than the competition.
    2. Simply to exercise greater selectivity in terms of:
      • The orders that are accepted.
      • The products that are offered.
      • The functions that are performed.

      This means cherry-picking operations with a high impact, so that when other operations are eliminated, functional costs will drop faster than sales revenues.

    3. To share a certain key function with the corporation's other businesses or even with other companies. Experience indicates that there are many situations in which sharing resources in one or more basic sub-functions of marketing can be advantageous.

2: Customer-based strategies

Clients are the basis of any strategy according to Ohmae. There is no doubt that a corporation's foremost concern ought to be the interests of its customers rather than that of its stockholders and other parties. In the long run, the corporation that is genuinely interested in its customers will be interesting for its investors.


Segmentation is advisable:

  • Segmenting by objectives. Here, the differentiation is done in terms of the different ways that different customers use the product. Take coffee, for example. Some people drink it for waking up or staying alert, while others view coffee as a way to relax or socialize (coffee breaks).
  • Segmenting by customer coverage. This type of strategic segmentation normally emerges from a trade-off study of marketing costs versus market coverage. There appears always to be a point of diminishing returns in the cost-versus-coverage relationship. The corporation's task, therefore, is to optimize its range of market coverage. Be it geographical or channel. So that its cost of marketing will be advantageous relative to the competition.
  • Segmenting the market once more. In a fiercely competitive market, the corporation and its head-on competitors are likely to be dissecting the market in similar ways. Over an extended period of time, therefore the effectiveness of a given initial strategic segmentation will tend to decline. In such a situation it is useful to pick a small group of key customers and reexamine what it is that they are really looking for.

Changes in customer mix:
Such a market segment change occurs where the market forces are altering the distribution of the user-mix over time by influencing demography, distribution channels, customer size, etc. This kind of change means that the allocation of corporate resources must be shifted and/or the absolute level of resources committed in the business must be changed.


3: Competitor-based strategies

According to Kenichi Ohmae, these strategies can be constructed by looking at possible sources of differentiation in functions such as: purchasing, design, engineering, sales and servicing. Ways to do this:

  • The power of an image. Both Sony and Honda sell more than their competitors as they invested more heavily in public relations and advertising. And they managed these functions more carefully than did their competitors. When product performance and mode of distribution are very difficult to differentiate, image may be the only source of positive differentiation. But the case of the Swiss watch industry shows that a strategy built on image can be risky and must be monitored constantly.
  • Capitalizing on profit- and cost-structure differences. Firstly, the difference in source of profit might be exploited. For profit from new product sales, profit from services etcetera. Secondly, a difference in the ratio of fixed cost and variable cost might also be exploited strategically. Because a company with a lower fixed cost ratio can lower prices in a sluggish market. In this way it can win market share. This hurts the company with a higher fixed cost ratio. The market price is too low to justify its high fixed cost and low volume operation.
  • Tactics for flyweights. If such a company chooses to compete in mass-media advertising or massive R&D efforts, the additional fixed costs will absorb a large portion of its revenue. Its giant competitors will inevitably win. It could however calculate its incentives on a gradual percentage basis, rather than on absolute volume, thus making the incentives variable by guaranteeing the dealer a larger percentage of each extra unit sold. Of course, the big three market players cannot afford to offer such high percentages across the board to their respective franchised shops; their profitability would soon be eroded.
  • Hito-Kane-Mono. A favorite phrase of Japanese business planners is hito-kane-mono, or people, money, and things (fixed assets). They believe that streamlined corporate management is achieved when these three critical resources are in balance without any surplus or waste. For example: cash over and beyond what competent people can intelligently expend is wasted. Too many managers without enough money will exhaust their energies and involve their colleagues in a time-wasting warfare over the allocation of the limited funds. Of the three critical resources, funds should be allocated last. The corporation should first allocate management talent, based on the available mono: plant, machinery, technology, process know-how, and functional strengths. Once these hito have developed creative and imaginative ideas to capture the business's upward potential, the kane, or money, should be allocated to the specific ideas and programs generated by individual managers.

Book: Kenichi Ohmae - The Mind Of The Strategist: The Art of Japanese Business -

Book: Kenichi Ohmae - The Invisible Continent : Four Strategic Imperatives of the New Economy -


3Cs Model Forum
  Using the 3C Model by Ohmae in Practice
My question is: How exactly can I use the 3C model...
     
 
  3C's Model and Supply Chain Strategy
While designing / re-engineering a supply chain on...
     
 
  Adding Culture to 3C Model
First, as a strategy person thinking that human r...
     
 
  3C as a Change Management Tool
In considering ways to work with a simple model to...
     
 
  Strategic vs Operational Plans
A strategic plan is related to aligning the...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae): Add Comfort
Ohmae tried with the 3Cs, but without the welfare ...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae); Add Culture
I think the 3c's offer a simple yet relevant way t...
     
 
  3C's Model (Ohmae): Add Cost
The 3C's is a successful tool for strategic planni...
     
 
  Ohmae's 3C's Model: Add Context
Including Context into the 3C's model will...
     
 
  Strategy is Irrational
Another important notion described by Ohmae in The...
     
 
  3C model on Leadership
Do not mix up the 3C business strategy model by Oh...
     
 

3Cs Model Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

3Cs Model Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - 3Cs Model Premium
  3C is Simple but Complete
3C is a very simple strategic tool to analyze why...
     
 

Expert Tips - 3Cs Model Premium
 

The Strategy Model of 5 Cs

A variant of Ohmae's 3C Strategy Model is the 5C S...
Usage (application): Corporate and Business Strategy
 
 
 

A Closer Look Into Customer Value

It is often argued that customer value is required...
Usage (application): Customer Value Analysis, Strategic Marketing, Innovation Strategy
 
 
 

Understanding your Customer's Needs

In order to transform your customerís experience a...
Usage (application): Customer Targeting and Strategy
 
 

Resources - 3Cs Model Premium

Top 5 Strategy Pitfalls

Strategy is complex and companies are making many ...
Usage (application): Strategy Errors, Strategy Traps, Strategy Barriers, Strategic Planning, Strategy Process
 

Introduction to Competitive Strategy: The 3 Circle Model

Prof. Joe Urbany goes to the heart of Competitive ...
Usage (application): Initial Understanding of Competitive Strategy
 

The Importance of a Long Term Focus on the Customer

Ohmae explains the importance of the fundamental b...
Usage (application): Interview Ohmae on the Need for a Long-term Customer Focus
 
 

News about Ohmae Model


     
 

News about Business Strategy


     
 

Videos about Ohmae Model


     
 

Videos about Business Strategy


     
 

Presentations about Ohmae Model


     
 

Presentations about Business Strategy


     
 

More about Ohmae Model


     
 

More about Business Strategy


     

Compare with:  Value Profit Chain  |  Porter Competitive Advantage  |  Resource-Based View  |  Co-Creation  |  Parenting Styles  |  Parenting Advantage  |  Prahalad  |  BCG Matrix  |  Growth Phases  |  Distinctive Capabilities  |  Organizational Configurations  |  Marketing Mix (4-Ps)  |  The Value Net, Co-opetition


Return to Management Hub: Marketing  |  Strategy  |  Supply Chain & Quality


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2017 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 22-9-2017. All names tm by their owners.