Strategy Dynamics[战略动力学]
(Warren)

知识中心

   

对已经取得的企业绩效进行解释,并在企业所保有的资源和能力的基础上制定战略,提升企业未来绩效。 Kim Warren的Strategy Dynamics[战略动力学]解析。 (‘99)

目录

  1. 摘要
  2. 论坛
  3. 最佳实践
  4. Expert Tips
  5. 相关资料
  6. 打印

Strategy Dynamics[战略动力学] Warren 什么是战略动力学? 释义

Kim Warren提出的战略动力学(Strategy Dynamics)模型是用来帮助企业对已经取得的绩效进行解释,并在企业所保有的资源和能力的基础上,制定战略提升企业未来绩效。


战略动力学的目标在于以下三个具有挑战性的问题(参见右图):

  • 为什么(Why):企业绩效为什么会跟从当前发展路径?
  • 去哪里(Where):如果当前一切保持不变,企业会发展成什么样?
  • 怎么办(How):如何才能够制定一个强有力的发展战略,帮助企业提高未来绩效?

战略管理的关注是,随着时间的推移,企业绩效能够发生数量化的提高, 不管是作为企业整体的绩效,还是某一功能的绩效(如销售)。 企业绩效的发展变化轨迹注定了要高度依赖于企业历史上发生的一切,延续至今,而且还要继续下去。 因此方法开始从组织的表现的时间图在其相关的历史和未来期间利益,如由一个或更多常规指标测量[即收支或赢利]。

不同于那些用统计方法对企业绩效进行解释,战略动力学是通过回顾挖掘其历史逻辑关系来进行解释, 收入 = 销售量 x 单价, 成本 = 薪水 + 市场销售费用 + 研发费用, 等等。 以上每一个成分都会在时间绩效图上反映出来,这张图既可以画在纸上、白板上,也可以用电脑来制作。 对于那些非恒定项目,如绩效本身,在对其历史值逐一记录的同时,并对其未来表现值进行估测。

如此两三步回顾过后,“挖掘”过程将会接近更多的“资源”, 它们时而盈满,时而枯竭, 顾客、现金、人员、各个产品线上的产品以及产能,等等,是最为典型的例子。 逻辑因果关系在这里仍然有效, 销售量 = 顾客 * 单位顾客销售量, 工资成本 = 员工数 * 平均薪水。

在这一模型下,企业资产现值也是一个至关重要的项目。例如库存,尽管不受任何其他因素影响,但是在数字上它等价于累计产量减去累计消耗量。 企业现金流量亦是这个原理, 企业当前的所有现金也是用企业的现金收入减去企业的现金开支。 这一原理同样适用于其他企业资产存量。 当前的顾客数量等价于企业赢取的所有顾客减去企业失去的顾客; 当前的员工数量等价于企业所雇用的员工总数减去企业所失去的员工数量。 企业当前的产品线等价于企业开发过的所有产品减去企业已经放弃了的产品。 这就是为什么企业当前绩效与未来绩效均与历史绩效有依赖关系的原因。

下一步的任务是,对各种关系的“流动速率”进行解释——背后的驱动力是什么? 企业赢取顾客的速度有多快?企业人员流失的速度又如何? 这些流动速率取决于:

  • 管理决策,如市场营销的支出对顾客获取有着明显影响, 公司支付的薪水对员工损耗有影响。
  • 外部因素,如其他公司的市场活动情况、薪酬支付情况以及消费者可自由支配的收入情况,等等。
  • 现有资源水平,如顾客流失率取决于服务质量,而服务质量又在很大程度上依赖于充足的员工数量。 所有这些都包含着大量数量化的时间-绩效轨迹(Time-Path)变化信息。

战略动力学的三个原则

  1. 绩效取决于资源。
  2. 资源有亏有盈。
  3. 绩效变化速度取决于现有资源。

将这些原则组合在一起,我们就能够看到一个整合的战略架构——它极其类似于化工企业或者能源传输系统的流程图——在一定的时间框架下,绩效由既定系统来决定。

当这个核心战略架构搭建完成后,其他因素亦可以附加进来,对这三个简单原则进行扩充和延伸。 其中,较为关键的有潜在资源(如潜在顾客)、资源的不同状态(如初级员工、中级员工和高级员工;或研究中的产品、发展中的产品和投产的产品)在这个战略体系中所扮演的角色。 在这个体系中,能够捕捉到无形因素的影响。 企业声誉对顾客获取影响如何? 员工士气如何影响企业的员工数量? 并且,能够对竞争对手的影响进行评估,如哪些竞争对手有可能赢取新发展起来的顾客市场。 此外,还能够对组织能力进行评估。


战略动力学的起源。 历史

麻省理工学院的Jay Forrester教授在1960年代开发了System Dynamics[系统动力学],后来,Dierickx和Cool两位持企业资源观的学者,又将资产-股份累积的原则和战略融入到了系统动力学理论之中。长久以来,这一理论占据着绩效管理的中心位置。 然而,与Resource Based View[企业资源观] [(Wernerfelt、Barney、Grant等)、企业竞争力观、企业知识观等战略观点不同的是,战略动力学除了认为稀缺的独特的资源是企业持久竞争力的源泉外, 将着眼点和重心放在了企业的普通资源上:产品、人员、产能,等等。 战略动力学亦不同于Senge的Systems Thinking[系统思考]法,后者关注于定性的反馈信息,而战略动力学则强调资源累积以及数量变化的量化信息的重要性。


战略动力学的计算。 公式

绩效(t) = f [资源(1-n, t),决策(t),外因(t)]
资源(i, t) = 资源(i, t-1) +/- 资源流(i, t-1 to t)
资源流动(i, t-1 to t) = f[资源(1-n, t),决策(t),外因(t)]


战略动力学的运用。 应用

  • 该方法适用于各种类型的企业,不管是商业公司还是公共服务机构,或志愿者组织,同时也适用于组织内部的每一个具体部门。
  • 该方法还适用于并不存在的实体,如一个新的风险项目,或者一个志愿者活动。

战略动力学的步骤。 流程

  1. 确定当前绩效目标以及预期的未来绩效目标的时间路径。
  2. 探寻并定量各个历史时期资源与绩效之间的直接的因果关系。
  3. 对各个历史时期资源的流动变化速度进行量化。
  4. 进一步探寻影响资源流速的因素:企业决策、外部因素以及现有资源情况。
  5. 根据已经辨明和量化的从属、依附关系,为企业建立核心“战略体系”。
  6. (可选步骤) 融入潜在资源因素、资源发展状态、无形因素以及竞争对手因素,对“战略体系”进行扩展。

战略动力学的优势。 优点

  • 该方法重事实依据,较为严谨,对企业当前绩效产生的原因进行了深入的探索,为提升企业未来绩效提供了信心。
  • 该方法充分汲取了历史经验,清楚地知道哪些管理决策、管理行动能够产生最佳的管理控制效果,所以能够为未来的管理实践提供清晰的、具体的战略指导方案。
  • 由于该方法以事实为依据,能够较好地解决团队成员之间的不同意见。 同时,能够使每一名成员(既包括管理团队的成员,也包括一般员工)看到,他们的行动是如何影响和贡献集体的。
  • 该方法为Balanced Scorecard[平衡计分卡]Value Based Management[价值管理]提供了一个坚实的基础,并且能够与PESTCore Competence[核心竞争力]Value Chain[价值链]等战略结构实现整合。

战略动力学的局限。 缺点

  • 该方法对投入要求高、耗费时间,当然较之质量更好的战略与决策所体现出来的价值,这些投入也不为过。
  • 不过对于一些不确定性因素以及重要因果关系的测量,局限仍较为明显。例如,对企业声誉和企业能力的测量,对企业声誉如何影响顾客获取的测量,等等。

战略动力学的假定。 情况

  • 为了充分发挥作用,该方法要求关于企业及其绩效的大量事实证据,且包括历史数据。 很多情况下,有可能无法获知这些具体的数值,那么团队成员就不得不对这些缺失的数字及数字背后的影响进行估测。
  • 该方法还有赖于管理人员的意愿——决策过程中是否需要量化的信息,以及他们获取这些量化信息的能力,这也并非易事。

参考书: Kim Warren - Competitive Strategy Dynamics -

参考书: Kim Warren - The Critical Path -

参考书: Lars Finskud - Competing for Choice -


战略动力学论坛
  Learning Experience... Well Done..
A professional collection of inputs enhancing a real time learning experience for graduate students... Well done, a comprehensive digest of strategic thinking and planning......
     
 
  Use of Strategy Dynamics
How useful is strategy dynamics for strategy development?...
     
 

战略动力学 小组


小组

战略动力学 培训|活动


搜索培训、会议及活动项目


最佳实践 - 战略动力学 高级帐户

Expert Tips (ENG) - Strategy Dynamics 高级帐户
 

Strategy Dynamics in SMEs

What distinguish best performers from meteors - companies performing well only in a short run - is the capability to excel even in todays high...
Usage (application)How to Reach the Top
 
 

相关资料 - 战略动力学 高级帐户
 

新闻

战略动力学 方法
     
 

新闻

战略 动力学
     
 

视频

战略动力学 方法
     
 

视频

战略 动力学
     
 

简报

战略动力学 方法
     
 

简报

战略 动力学
     
 

更多

战略动力学 方法
     
 

更多

战略 动力学
     

比较: Business Process Simulation[业务流程仿真]  |  System Dynamics[系统动力学]  |  Resource Based View[企业资源观]  |  Balanced Scorecard[平衡计分卡]  |  Value Based Management[价值管理]  |  Value Chain[价值链]  |  Value Stream Mapping[价值流程图]  |  Benchmarking[标杆分析]


返回到分类主页: 决策与评估  |  知识与无形资产  |  战略与策略


更多管理方法、模型和理论

Special Interest Group Leader

你在这里


关于12manage | 广告服务 | 链接我们 | 隐私 | 服务条款
版权所有 2016 12manage经理人进阶捷径。V14.1 - 最后更新:5-12-2016。各管理方法名称(tm)为其原创者所拥有。

Strategy Dynamics
(Warren)

Knowledge Center

   

Explain the business performance to date, and develop strategies for improving the future performance, based on building and retention of resources and capabilities. Explanation of Strategy Dynamics of Kim Warren. ('99)

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

Strategy Dynamics WarrenWhat is Strategy Dynamics? Description

The Strategy Dynamics method from Kim Warren is a technique that can be used to explain the business performance to date, and develop strategies for improving the future performance, based on building and retention of resources and capabilities.


The target of Strategy Dynamics is to answer some challenging questions (figure):

  • Why is the business performance following its current path?
  • Where will the business performance go if we continue the way we are doing today?
  • How can we design a robust strategy to radically improve the performance into the future?

The ultimate concern of strategic management is to quantitatively improve performance through time. Whether for the enterprise as a whole, or for a key function of interest [e.g. sales]. This trajectory depends, strongly and unavoidably, on what has occurred over the organization's history, and will continue to do so. The method therefore starts from a time-chart of the organization's performance over its relevant history, and the future period of interest, as measured by one or more conventional indicators [e.g. revenue or profits].

Rather than seek statistical explanations for this performance, the method drills back along the logical causal chain. Revenue = sales volume x price. Costs = salaries + sales & marketing + R&D. Etcetera. Each element is mapped on a diagram, whether on paper, white-board or software. Any non-constant item is, like the performance outcome itself, depicted with a time-chart of its values over the past, and as estimated into the future.

After 2-3 steps, this drill-back process reaches one or more 'resources' [strictly, accumulating asset-stocks]. These resources are factors whose behavior is such that they fill up, and drain away over time. Customers, cash, people, products in a product range, and capacity are the most common examples. The logical causality rule still applies. Sales volume = customers x sales-per-customer . Total salaries = staff x average salary.

The next element of the method is critical - the current value of such asset-inventories is not 'determined by' any other factor, but is mathematically identical to the sum of all element that were ever added, minus all elements that were ever lost. This is fundamental in the case of cash. Cash-today is equal to all cash that was ever received, minus all cash that was ever spent. But this is equally true of every other asset-inventory. Today's customers is equal to every customer that was ever won, minus every customer that was ever lost. Today's staff is equal to every person that was ever hired, minus every person that was ever lost. Today's product range is equal to every product that was ever launched, minus every item that was ever discontinued. This is why today's performance and future performance are both unavoidably dependent on history.

The next question of causality is to explain what has been driving these 'flow-rates'. How quickly customers have been won, or how quickly staff was lost. These flow-rates turn out to be dependent upon:

  • Management Decisions [e.g. the amount of money spent on marketing is influencing the customer acquisition. The salaries that were offered are influencing the staff attrition.
  • External Factors [e.g. other firms' marketing or salaries, or customers' disposable income], and crucially also upon
  • Existing Resource-levels [ e.g. customer loss rates depend on service quality, which depends on adequate staff numbers]. All of this is populated with quantitative time-path information.

The three Principles of Strategy Dynamics are:

  1. Performance depends on resources.
  2. Resources fill and drain.
  3. These flow-rates depend on existing resources.

When combined, the principles create an integrated strategic architecture that depicts the 'physics' of the system - highly analogous to the flow-charts found in chemical process plants or power-transmission systems - and how this system determines performance through time.

Once this core architecture of an enterprise is complete [or of a business segment], additional factors can be added by extending the same principles. Key amongst these is the role of potential resources [e.g. likely customers] and the various development-states of resources [e.g. junior, middle, senior staff, or products in research, development and launched]. The impact of intangible factors can be captured. How does reputation affects customer acquisition. How does the morale influences staff turnover. Competitive rivalry effects can be estimated, e.g. likely rates at which rivals may win a newly-developing customer segment. And the impact of organizational capabilities can be evaluated.


Origin of Strategy Dynamics. History

The underlying science is the System Dynamics method, originated by Prof Jay Forrester at MIT in the 1960s, applied explicitly to a resource-perspective of organizations and strategy and the principle of asset-stock accumulation highlighted by Dierickx and Cool, and long recognized to lie at the heart of Strategy and performance. However, in contrast to the Resource Based View [Wernerfelt, Barney, Grant, et al], and competence-based and knowledge-based perspectives on strategy, the method stresses the importance of mundane resources [products, people, capacity ...] as well as the role of rare and inimitable factors believed to be responsible for sustained competitive advantage. The method also differs from 'Systems Thinking' approaches [Senge et al] in emphasizing resource-accumulation and the importance of quantifying change-through-time, in contrast to the qualitative, feedback orientation of that tradition.


Calculation of Strategy Dynamics. Formula

Performance(t) = f[Resources(1-n, t), Decisions(t), Exogenous factors(t)]
Resource(i,t) = Resource(i,t-1) +/- Resource-flows(i,t-1 to t)
Resource-flows(i,t-1 to t) = f[Resources(1-n, t), Decisions(t), Exogenous factors(t)]


Usage of the Strategy Dynamics method. Applications

  • The method is applicable to every kind of enterprise, whether commercial, public-service, or voluntary, as well as to every function within an enterprise.
  • It is also applicable to not yet existing enterprises, such as new ventures or voluntary initiatives.

Steps in Strategy Dynamics. Process

  1. Quantify the time path of the current performance objective, and of the anticipated or desired performance objective.
  2. Identify and quantify over time the causal relationships back to the resources that directly drive performance.
  3. Quantify the flow-rates of these resources over time.
  4. Trace the causality from these resource flow-rates back to the decisions, exogenous factors and existing resources on which they depend.
  5. Connect these dependencies to create the core "strategic architecture" for the enterprise.
  6. Optional: Extend this core architecture to encompass potential resources, resource-development, intangible factors, rivalry etc.

Strengths of Strategy Dynamics. Benefits

  • The method is strongly evidence-based and rigorous, and it provides a good understanding of the causes of current performance, and it provides confidence in the future performance.
  • Since it highlights exactly where management actions and decisions exert control, it provides clear and specific strategies and action plans, that are adaptable when the future unfolds.
  • The method is evidence-based, and it can solve differences of opinion amongst team-members. Also it allows each individual [both amongst the management team and below] to see where their activity contributes to the whole, and on whom they depend.
  • The method provides a solid foundation for methods as the Balanced Scorecard [Kaplan and Norton] and for Value Based Management, and is a means of integrating other established strategy frameworks and approaches, such as PEST, Core Competence, Value Chain.

Limitations of Strategy Dynamics. Disadvantages

  • The method is demanding, and time-consuming, but not excessively so, given the value at stake from improved strategies and decisions.
  • There are significant limits to the certainty that can be applied to certain factors, e.g. measures for reputation or capability, and to some important causal relationships, e.g. to what extent reputation influences the rates of customer acquisition.

Assumptions of the Strategy Dynamics approach. Conditions

  • To maximize its impact, the method requires extensive factual evidence, including history, about many aspects of the enterprise and its performance. Frequently, these key numbers are unknown, in which case the team must be prepared to exercise its judgment in estimating what those missing values might be, and what impact they may have.
  • The approach depends on management's willingness and ability to be quantitative in their decision-making, which not all cultures find easy.

Book: Kim Warren - Competitive Strategy Dynamics -

Book: Kim Warren - The Critical Path -

Book: Lars Finskud - Competing for Choice -


Strategy Dynamics Forum
  Learning Experience... Well Done..
A professional collection of inputs enhancing a real time learning experience for graduate students... Well done, a comprehensive digest of strategic thinking and planning......
     
 
  Use of Strategy Dynamics
How useful is strategy dynamics for strategy development?...
     
 

Strategy Dynamics Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

Strategy Dynamics Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - Strategy Dynamics Premium

Expert Tips - Strategy Dynamics Premium
 

Strategy Dynamics in SMEs

What distinguish best performers from meteors - companies performing well only in a short run - is the capability to excel even in today’s high...
Usage (application): How to Reach the Top
 
 

Resources - Strategy Dynamics Premium

Introduction to Simulation: Definition, Terminology and Process Steps

Presentation about Simulation that includes the following sections:
1. Definition of Simulation
2. Applications of Simulation
3. Defini...
Usage (application): Simulation, Complex Systems
 

Strategy Dynamics Diagram

Download and edit this 12manage PowerPoint graphic for limited personal, educational and business use. Republishing in intranets, websites, books, ma...
Usage (application): Strategy
 
 

News

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

News

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

Videos

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

Videos

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

Presentations

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

Presentations

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

More

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

More

Strategy Dynamics
     

Compare with Strategy Dynamics: Business Simulation  |  System Dynamics  |  Resource Based View  |  Balanced Scorecard  |  Value Based Management  |  Value Chain  |  Value Stream Mapping  |  Benchmarking


Return to Management Hub: Decision-making & Valuation  |  Knowledge & Intangibles  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2016 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 6-12-2016. All names tm by their owners.