Strategy Dynamics (Динамика стратегии)
(Warren)

Центр Знаний

   

Объяснение результатов бизнеса и разработка стратегии для улучшения будущих показателей, на основании создания и удерживания ресурсов и возможностей. Объяснение Strategy Dynamics (Динамика стратегии) Kim Warren. ('99)

Содержание

  1. Резюме
  2. Форум
  3. Лучшие Лрактики
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Ресурсы
  6. Печатать

Warren Strategy Dynamics (Динамика стратегии) Strategy Dynamics (Динамика стратегии)? Описание

Метод Strategy Dynamics (Динамика стратегии) Warren Kim - это метод, который можно использовать для объяснения результатов бизнеса и разработки стратегии для улучшения будущих показателей, на основании создания и удерживания ресурсов и возможностей.


Цель Strategy Dynamics (Динамика стратегии) состоит в том, чтобы ответить на некоторые трудные вопросы (см. изображение):

  • Почему результаты бизнеса следует данной динамике?
  • Куда будет двигаться бизнес при сохраниении сегодняшних тенденций?
  • Каким образом можно разработать надежную стратегию, чтобы радикально улучшить показатели в будущем?

Конечная задача стратегического менеджмента состоит в том, чтобы количественно улучшить показатели деятельности с течением времени. Будь то предприятие в целом или ключевой функции [например, продажи]. Эта траектория зависит, сильно и неизбежно, на происходило над историей организации, и будет продолжаться сделать так. Метод в связи с этим начинается с временной диаграммы показателей организации за соответствующий период ее истории и будущего периода с использованием одного и более стандартных обычными измерений [например, доход или прибыль].

Вместо того, чтобы заниматься поиском статистического объяснения этих показателей, метод исследует логическую причинно-следственную цепочку. Доход = объем продаж x цена . Затраты = зарплаты + продажи и маркетинг +  R&D и т.д.. Каждый компонент отображается на диаграмме, на бумаге, доске или с помощью программного обеспечения. Любая непостоянная деталь, как и сам результат, показывается с помощью временной диаграммы за прошедший период и проектируется в будущее.

После 2-3 стадий, этот процесс исследования достигает одного или более "ресурсов". Эти ресурсы являются факторами, которые накапливаются и иссякают с течением времени. Клиенты, денежные средства, люди, продукты в номенклатуре выпускаемых изделий и мощности - самые распространенные примеры. Логическое правило причинности все еще применяется. Объемы продаж = клиенты x продажи в расчете на одного клиента. Совокупные зарплаты = сотрудники x средняя зарплата.

Следующий компонент метода важен - текущая стоимость таких запасов активов «не определяется» никаким другим фактором, но математически идентична сумме всех компонентов, которые когда либо были добавлены минус все компоненты, которые когда либо были потеряны. Это принципиально важно в случае с денежными средствами. Текущие наличные средства равны всем денежным средствам, когда либо полученным, минус все денежные средства, которое когда либо были потрачены. Но это, в равной степени, верно и для каждого другого актива. Сегодняшний клиент равен каждому клиенту, когда либо приобретенному, минус каждый клиент, когда либо потерянный. Сегодняшний сотрудник равен каждому человеку, когда либо нанятому, минус каждый человек, когда либо потерянный. Сегодняшняя номенклатура выпускаемых изделий равна каждому продукту, когда либо выпущенному, минус каждый продукт, когда либо прерыванный в реализации. Именно поэтому, сегодняшние и будущие показатели неизбежно зависят от истории.

Следующий вопрос причинности объясняет движущие факторы «скорости потока». Насколько быстро были приобретены клиенты, или Насколько быстро были потеряны сотрудники. Эти скорости потока зависят от:

  • Решений менеджмента [например, сумма, потраченная на маркетинг, оказывает влияние на приобретение клиента. Зарплаты оказывают влияние на сокращение персонала.
  • Внешние факторы [например, маркетинг или зарплаты других фирм или располагаемый доход клиентов], и также на
  • Текущих уровнях ресурсов [например, нормы потерь клиентов зависят от качества сервисных услуг, что зависит от адекватного количества сотрудников]. Все из это сопровождается количественными данными.

3 принципа Динамики стратегии являются следующими:

  1. Результаты зависят от ресурсов.
  2. Ресурсы накопляются и иссякают.
  3. Эти потоки зависят от текущих ресурсов.

При  объединении эти принципы создают интегрированную стратегическую архитектуру, которое показывает «физику» системы - аналогичную схемам последовательности процесса на  химических заводах или силовых установках - и то, как эта система определяет показатели по времени.

После завершения построения центра архитектуры предприятия [или бизнес сегмента] дополнительные факторы могут быть добавлены, с использованием тех же принципов. Ключевая роль принадлежит потенциальным ресурсам [например, вероятным клиентам] и различным стадиям развития ресурсов [например, младший, средний, старший персонал, или продукты на стадии исследования, развития и выпуска]. Модно зафиксировать значение нематериальных факторов. Как репутация влияет на приобретение клиентов. Как моральное состояние влияет на текучесть кадров. Можно оценить влияние конкуренции, например, вероятные темпы приобретения конкурентами определенного сегмента. Также можно оценить значение организационных возможностей.


Происхождение Динамики стратегии. История

Основой концепции является метод Системная динамика, который был разработан проф. Jay Forrester из MIT в 1960-х и был явно ориентирован на ресурсный взгляд на организации, стратегию и принцип накопления активов, описанный Dierickx и Cool и долго сохранявший роль центрального элемента стратегии. Однако, в отличие от Resource Based View (Ресурсная теория фирмы) [Wernerfelt, Barney, Grant, et al], и стратегии, основанной на компетенциях и знаниях, метод подчеркивает важность рутинных ресурсов [продуктов, людей, мощностей…], также как и роль редких и трудных для имитации факторов, которые, как утверждается, отвечают за устойчивое конкурентное преимущество. Метод также отличается от подходов «Системного мышления» ("Systems Thinking") [Senge et al] в том, что он подчеркивает аккумуляцию ресурсов и важность квантификации перемен-по-времени, в отличие от качественной ориентации на обратную связь.


Вычисление Динамики стратегии. Формула

Исполнение (t) = f [ресурсы (1-n, t), Решения (t), Внешние факторы (t)]
Ресурс (i, t) = Ресурс (i, t-1) +/- Потоки ресурсов (i, t-1 to t)
Потоки ресурсов (I, t-1 to t) = f [Ресурсы (1-n, t), Решения (t), Внешние факторы (t)]


Применение метода Динамика стратегии. Формы применения

  • Метод применим к каждому типу предприятия - коммерческому, некоммерческому, сферы общественного обслуживания - также как и к любой функции внутри предприятия.
  • Он также применим к пока еще несуществующим предприятиям, таким как новые рискованые проекты.

Стадии в Динамике стратегии. Процесс

  1. Квантифицируйте временной период задачи текущей деятельности и ожидаемой или заданной задачи.
  2. Определите и квантифицируйте в течение времени причинно-следственные отношения с ресурсами, непосредственно связанными с результатами компании.
  3. Квантифицируйте скорости потоков этих ресурсов по времени.
  4. Определите связь этих ресурсных потоков с решениями, внешними факторами и ресурсами, от которых они зависят.
  5. Объедините эти зависимости для того, чтобы создать центральную «стратегическую архитектуру» для предприятия.
  6. Дополнительно: Расширьте эту центральную архитектуру, включив потенциальные ресурсы, развитие ресурсов, нематериальные факторы, конкуренции и т.д.

Преимущества Динамики стратегии. Преимущества

Ограничения Динамики стратегии. Недостатки

  • Метод является комплексным и трудоемким, но не чрезмерно, учитывая ценность от улучшения стратегий и решений.
  • Существуют значительные ограничения относительно определенности некоторых факторов, например, измерения репутации или возможности.

Предположения подхода Динамика стратегии. Условия

  • Для максимизации значения, методу требуется обширная фактическая база, включая историю, по многим аспектам предприятия и ее деятельности. Часто, эти ключевые показатели неизвестны, в случае чего группа должна быть подготовлена к тому, чтобы осуществить оценку недостающих показателей и их возможных значений.
  • Подход зависит от готовности и способности менеджмента применять количественные методы в процессе принятия решений, что не характерно для всех культур .

Книга: Kim Warren - Competitive Strategy Dynamics -

Книга: Kim Warren - The Critical Path -

Книга: Lars Finskud - Competing for Choice -


Динамика стратегии Форум
  Learning Experience... Well Done..
A professional collection of inputs enhancing a real time learning experience for graduate students... Well done, a comprehensive digest of strategic thinking and planning......
     
 
  Use of Strategy Dynamics
How useful is strategy dynamics for strategy development?...
     
 

Динамика стратегии Специальная группа по интересам


Специальная группа по интересам

Динамика стратегии Образование & Мероприятия


Поиск тренингов, семинаров и мероприятий


Лучшие Лрактики - Динамика стратегии Премиум

Expert Tips (ENG) - Strategy Dynamics Премиум
 

Strategy Dynamics in SMEs

What distinguish best performers from meteors - companies performing well only in a short run - is the capability to excel even in todays high...
Usage (application): How to Reach the Top
 
 

Ресурсы - Динамика стратегии Премиум
 

Новости

динамика стратегии метод
     
 

Новости

стратегия динамика
     
 

Видео

динамика стратегии метод
     
 

Видео

стратегия динамика
     
 

Презентации

динамика стратегии метод
     
 

Презентации

стратегия динамика
     
 

Более

динамика стратегии метод
     
 

Более

стратегия динамика
     

Сравните с Strategy Dynamics (Динамика стратегии): Business Simulation (Бизнес Моделирование)  |  System Dynamics (Системная динамика)  |  Resource Based View (Ресурсная теория фирмы)  |  Balanced Scorecard (Cбалансированная система показателей эффективности)  |  Value Based Management (Ценностно-ориентированное управление)  |  Value Chain (Цепочка приращения стоимости)  |  Value Stream Mapping (Систематизирование потока ценности)  |  Benchmarking (Бенчмаркинг)


Возврат на главную страницу: Процесс принятия решений и Оценка  |  Знания и Нематериальные активы  |  Стратегия


Больше: Методы, Модели и Теории Менеджмента

Special Interest Group Leader

Вы здесь


О 12manage | Реклама | Ссылка на наш сайт | Конфиденциальность | Условия пользования
Авторское право 2016 12manage - Ускоренный путь в топ-менеджеры. V14.1 - Последнее обновление: 8-12-2016. Все права защищены обладателями.

Strategy Dynamics
(Warren)

Knowledge Center

   

Explain the business performance to date, and develop strategies for improving the future performance, based on building and retention of resources and capabilities. Explanation of Strategy Dynamics of Kim Warren. ('99)

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

Strategy Dynamics WarrenWhat is Strategy Dynamics? Description

The Strategy Dynamics method from Kim Warren is a technique that can be used to explain the business performance to date, and develop strategies for improving the future performance, based on building and retention of resources and capabilities.


The target of Strategy Dynamics is to answer some challenging questions (figure):

  • Why is the business performance following its current path?
  • Where will the business performance go if we continue the way we are doing today?
  • How can we design a robust strategy to radically improve the performance into the future?

The ultimate concern of strategic management is to quantitatively improve performance through time. Whether for the enterprise as a whole, or for a key function of interest [e.g. sales]. This trajectory depends, strongly and unavoidably, on what has occurred over the organization's history, and will continue to do so. The method therefore starts from a time-chart of the organization's performance over its relevant history, and the future period of interest, as measured by one or more conventional indicators [e.g. revenue or profits].

Rather than seek statistical explanations for this performance, the method drills back along the logical causal chain. Revenue = sales volume x price. Costs = salaries + sales & marketing + R&D. Etcetera. Each element is mapped on a diagram, whether on paper, white-board or software. Any non-constant item is, like the performance outcome itself, depicted with a time-chart of its values over the past, and as estimated into the future.

After 2-3 steps, this drill-back process reaches one or more 'resources' [strictly, accumulating asset-stocks]. These resources are factors whose behavior is such that they fill up, and drain away over time. Customers, cash, people, products in a product range, and capacity are the most common examples. The logical causality rule still applies. Sales volume = customers x sales-per-customer . Total salaries = staff x average salary.

The next element of the method is critical - the current value of such asset-inventories is not 'determined by' any other factor, but is mathematically identical to the sum of all element that were ever added, minus all elements that were ever lost. This is fundamental in the case of cash. Cash-today is equal to all cash that was ever received, minus all cash that was ever spent. But this is equally true of every other asset-inventory. Today's customers is equal to every customer that was ever won, minus every customer that was ever lost. Today's staff is equal to every person that was ever hired, minus every person that was ever lost. Today's product range is equal to every product that was ever launched, minus every item that was ever discontinued. This is why today's performance and future performance are both unavoidably dependent on history.

The next question of causality is to explain what has been driving these 'flow-rates'. How quickly customers have been won, or how quickly staff was lost. These flow-rates turn out to be dependent upon:

  • Management Decisions [e.g. the amount of money spent on marketing is influencing the customer acquisition. The salaries that were offered are influencing the staff attrition.
  • External Factors [e.g. other firms' marketing or salaries, or customers' disposable income], and crucially also upon
  • Existing Resource-levels [ e.g. customer loss rates depend on service quality, which depends on adequate staff numbers]. All of this is populated with quantitative time-path information.

The three Principles of Strategy Dynamics are:

  1. Performance depends on resources.
  2. Resources fill and drain.
  3. These flow-rates depend on existing resources.

When combined, the principles create an integrated strategic architecture that depicts the 'physics' of the system - highly analogous to the flow-charts found in chemical process plants or power-transmission systems - and how this system determines performance through time.

Once this core architecture of an enterprise is complete [or of a business segment], additional factors can be added by extending the same principles. Key amongst these is the role of potential resources [e.g. likely customers] and the various development-states of resources [e.g. junior, middle, senior staff, or products in research, development and launched]. The impact of intangible factors can be captured. How does reputation affects customer acquisition. How does the morale influences staff turnover. Competitive rivalry effects can be estimated, e.g. likely rates at which rivals may win a newly-developing customer segment. And the impact of organizational capabilities can be evaluated.


Origin of Strategy Dynamics. History

The underlying science is the System Dynamics method, originated by Prof Jay Forrester at MIT in the 1960s, applied explicitly to a resource-perspective of organizations and strategy and the principle of asset-stock accumulation highlighted by Dierickx and Cool, and long recognized to lie at the heart of Strategy and performance. However, in contrast to the Resource Based View [Wernerfelt, Barney, Grant, et al], and competence-based and knowledge-based perspectives on strategy, the method stresses the importance of mundane resources [products, people, capacity ...] as well as the role of rare and inimitable factors believed to be responsible for sustained competitive advantage. The method also differs from 'Systems Thinking' approaches [Senge et al] in emphasizing resource-accumulation and the importance of quantifying change-through-time, in contrast to the qualitative, feedback orientation of that tradition.


Calculation of Strategy Dynamics. Formula

Performance(t) = f[Resources(1-n, t), Decisions(t), Exogenous factors(t)]
Resource(i,t) = Resource(i,t-1) +/- Resource-flows(i,t-1 to t)
Resource-flows(i,t-1 to t) = f[Resources(1-n, t), Decisions(t), Exogenous factors(t)]


Usage of the Strategy Dynamics method. Applications

  • The method is applicable to every kind of enterprise, whether commercial, public-service, or voluntary, as well as to every function within an enterprise.
  • It is also applicable to not yet existing enterprises, such as new ventures or voluntary initiatives.

Steps in Strategy Dynamics. Process

  1. Quantify the time path of the current performance objective, and of the anticipated or desired performance objective.
  2. Identify and quantify over time the causal relationships back to the resources that directly drive performance.
  3. Quantify the flow-rates of these resources over time.
  4. Trace the causality from these resource flow-rates back to the decisions, exogenous factors and existing resources on which they depend.
  5. Connect these dependencies to create the core "strategic architecture" for the enterprise.
  6. Optional: Extend this core architecture to encompass potential resources, resource-development, intangible factors, rivalry etc.

Strengths of Strategy Dynamics. Benefits

  • The method is strongly evidence-based and rigorous, and it provides a good understanding of the causes of current performance, and it provides confidence in the future performance.
  • Since it highlights exactly where management actions and decisions exert control, it provides clear and specific strategies and action plans, that are adaptable when the future unfolds.
  • The method is evidence-based, and it can solve differences of opinion amongst team-members. Also it allows each individual [both amongst the management team and below] to see where their activity contributes to the whole, and on whom they depend.
  • The method provides a solid foundation for methods as the Balanced Scorecard [Kaplan and Norton] and for Value Based Management, and is a means of integrating other established strategy frameworks and approaches, such as PEST, Core Competence, Value Chain.

Limitations of Strategy Dynamics. Disadvantages

  • The method is demanding, and time-consuming, but not excessively so, given the value at stake from improved strategies and decisions.
  • There are significant limits to the certainty that can be applied to certain factors, e.g. measures for reputation or capability, and to some important causal relationships, e.g. to what extent reputation influences the rates of customer acquisition.

Assumptions of the Strategy Dynamics approach. Conditions

  • To maximize its impact, the method requires extensive factual evidence, including history, about many aspects of the enterprise and its performance. Frequently, these key numbers are unknown, in which case the team must be prepared to exercise its judgment in estimating what those missing values might be, and what impact they may have.
  • The approach depends on management's willingness and ability to be quantitative in their decision-making, which not all cultures find easy.

Book: Kim Warren - Competitive Strategy Dynamics -

Book: Kim Warren - The Critical Path -

Book: Lars Finskud - Competing for Choice -


Strategy Dynamics Forum
  Learning Experience... Well Done..
A professional collection of inputs enhancing a real time learning experience for graduate students... Well done, a comprehensive digest of strategic thinking and planning......
     
 
  Use of Strategy Dynamics
How useful is strategy dynamics for strategy development?...
     
 

Strategy Dynamics Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

Strategy Dynamics Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - Strategy Dynamics Premium

Expert Tips - Strategy Dynamics Premium
 

Strategy Dynamics in SMEs

What distinguish best performers from meteors - companies performing well only in a short run - is the capability to excel even in today’s high...
Usage (application): How to Reach the Top
 
 

Resources - Strategy Dynamics Premium

Introduction to Simulation: Definition, Terminology and Process Steps

Presentation about Simulation that includes the following sections:
1. Definition of Simulation
2. Applications of Simulation
3. Defini...
Usage (application): Simulation, Complex Systems
 

Strategy Dynamics Diagram

Download and edit this 12manage PowerPoint graphic for limited personal, educational and business use. Republishing in intranets, websites, books, ma...
Usage (application): Strategy
 
 

News

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

News

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

Videos

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

Videos

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

Presentations

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

Presentations

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

More

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

More

Strategy Dynamics
     

Compare with Strategy Dynamics: Business Simulation  |  System Dynamics  |  Resource Based View  |  Balanced Scorecard  |  Value Based Management  |  Value Chain  |  Value Stream Mapping  |  Benchmarking


Return to Management Hub: Decision-making & Valuation  |  Knowledge & Intangibles  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2016 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 6-12-2016. All names tm by their owners.