Strategy Dynamics-Ansatz

Wissenszentrum

   

Erklären der aktuellen Unternehmensperformance und entwickeln von Strategien für das Verbessern der zukünftigen Performance, basierend auf dem Aufbauen und Aufrechterhalten von Ressourcen und Fähigkeiten. Erklärung der Strategy Dynamics-Ansatz von Kim Warren. ('99)

Inhaltsverzeichnis

  1. Zusammenfassung
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Quellen
  6. Drucken

Strategy Dynamics WarenWas ist Strategy Dynamics? Beschreibung

Die Strategy Dynamics Methode von Kim Warren ist eine Technik, die verwendet werden kann, um die Unternehmensperformance bis jetzt zu erklären und Strategien für das Verbessern der zukünftigen Performance, basierend auf dem Aufbauen und Aufrechterhalten von Ressourcen und Fähigkeiten, zu entwickeln.


Das Ziel von Strategy Dynamics ist, einige schwierige Fragen zu beantworten (Abbildung):

  • Warum folgt die Unternehmsperformance ihrem gegenwärtigen Weg?
  • Wohin wird die Unternehmensperformance gehen, wenn wir den Weg, den wir heute gehen, fortsetzen?
  • Wie können wir eine robuste Strategie entwerfen, um die Leistung in der Zukunft radikal zu verbessern?

Das entscheidende Interesse des strategischen Managements ist es, Performance über die Zeit quantitativ zu verbessern. Ob für das Unternehmen als Ganzes oder für eine Schlüsselfunktion von Interesse [z.B. Verkauf]. Diese Flugbahn hängt stark und unvermeidbar davon ab, was in der Geschichte der Organisation passiert ist, und was in Zukunft geschehen wird. Die Methode startet folglich bei einem Zeitdiagramm der Performance der Organisation über ihre relevante Geschichte und der zukünftigen Periode von Interessen, wie durch einen oder mehrerer herkömmlicher Indikatoren gemessen [z.B. Einnahmen oder Gewinne].

Anstatt nach statistischen Erklärungen für diese Performance zu suchen, geht die Methode zurück entlang der logischen Kausalkette. Erträge = Umsatzvolumen x Preis. Kosten = bezahlen + Verkauf u. Marketing + F&E. Etc. Jedes Element wird in einem Diagramm, ob auf Papier, Tafel oder Software abgebildet. Jeder unkonstante Punkt ist, wie das Performanceresultat selbst, bildlich mit einem Zeitdiagramm seines Wertüberschusses in der Vergangenheit, und wie für die Zukunft geschätzt, abgebildet.

Nach 2-3 Schritten erreicht dieser Drill-back Prozess eine oder mehrere „Ressourcen“ [ausschließlich akkumulative Vermögenswertbestände]. Diese Ressourcen sind Faktoren, dessen Verhalten so ist, dass sie sich füllen und über die Zeit versickern. Kunden, Geld, Leute, Produkte in einer Produktpalette und Kapazität sind die verbreitetsten Beispiele. Die logische Kausalitätsrichtlinie trifft noch zu. Umsatz = Kunden x Umsatz pro Kunde. Gesamte Gehälter = Belegschaft x durchschnittliches Gehalt.

Das folgende Element der Methode ist kritisch - der gegenwärtige Wert solcher Vermögenswertvorräte wird nicht durch irgendeinen anderen Faktor "festgestellt", aber ist mathematisch identisch zu der Summe aller Elemente, die jemals addiert wurden, minus aller Elemente, die jemals verloren wurden. Dieses ist im Falle von Bargeld fundamental. Das heutige Bargeld ist alles Bargeld, das jemals empfangen wurde, minus alles Bargeld, das jemals ausgegeben wurde. Aber dieses ist von jedem anderen Vermögenswertvorrat gleichmäßig zutreffend. Heutige Kunden sind gleich jedem Kunden, der jemals gewonnen wurde, minus jedem Kunden, der jemals verloren wurde. Heutiges Personal ist gleich jeder Person, die jemals angestellt wurde, minus jeder Person, die jemals verloren wurde. Die heutige Produktpalette ist gleich jedem Produkt, das jemals eingeführt wurde, minus jedem Gegenstand, der jemals verloren wurde. Aus diesem Grund sind heutige und zukünftige Performance unvermeidbar abhängig von der Geschichte.

Die folgende Frage der Kausalität ist, um zu erklären, was diese „Strömungsraten“ getrieben hat. Wie schnell Kunden gewonnen worden sind oder wie schnell Personal verloren wurde. Diese Strömungsraten stellen sich als abhängig zu sein heraus auf:

  • Unternehmensentscheidungen [z.B. beeinflusst die Menge des ausgegebenen Geldes für Marketing die Kundenakquise. Die Gehälter, die angeboten werden, beeinflussen den Personalverlust.
  • Externe Faktoren [z.B. Marketing oder Gehälter anderer Unternehmen oder verfügbares Einkommen der Kunden] und entscheidend auch auf
  • Vorhandene Ressourcenniveaus [z.B. Kundeverlustraten hängen von der Servicequalität ab, die von ausreichenden Personalzahlen abhängen]. All dieses wird durch quantitative Weg-Zeit-Informationen bevölkert.

Die drei Grundregeln von Strategy Dynamics sind:

  1. Performance hängt von Ressourcen ab.
  2. Ressourcen sammeln sich an und versickern.
  3. Diese Strömungsraten hängen von vorhandenen Ressourcen ab.

Wenn sie kombiniert werden, schaffen die Grundregeln eine integrierte strategische Architektur, die die „Physik“ des Systems bildlich darstellt - in hohem Grade analog zu den Flussdiagrammen, die in chemischen Prozzessbetrieben oder Antriebssystemen gefunden werden - und wie dieses Systemperformance im Zeitablauf festsetzt.

Sobald diese Kernarchitektur eines Unternehmens [oder von einem Geschäftsbereich] komplett ist, können zusätzliche Faktoren durch die Erweiterung dieser Prinzipien hinzugefügt werden. Entscheidend unter diesen ist die Rolle der potentiellen Ressourcen [z.B. wahrscheinliche Kunden] und die verschiedenen Entwicklungsstadien der Ressourcen [z.B. untere, mittlere und leitende Belegschaft, oder Produkte in der Forschung, Entwicklung und Einführung]. Die Auswirkung der immateriellen Faktoren kann eingefangen werden. Wie beeinflusst Reputation die Kundenakquise. Wie beeinflusst die Moral die Personalfluktuation. Konkurrierende Rivalitätseffekte können geschätzt werden, z.B. wahrscheinliche Geschwindigkeit, in der Rivalen ein sich neu entwickelndes Kundensegment gewinnen. Und die Auswirkung der organisatorischen Fähigkeiten kann ausgewertet werden.


Ursprung von Strategy Dynamics. Geschichte

Die zugrundeliegende Wissenschaft ist die System Dynamics Methode, von Prof Jay Forrester am MIT in den sechziger Jahren entwickelt, ausdrücklich angewendet auf eine Ressourcenperspektive von Organisationen und Strategie und auf die Grundregeln der Vermögenswertbestandsakkumulation, hervorgehoben von Dierickx und Cool, und bereits früh als das Herz von Strategie und Performance gesehen. Jedoch im Gegensatz zum Resource Based View [Wernerfelt, Barney, Grant, et al.] und den kompetenzbasierten und wissensbasierten Perspektiven auf Strategie, betont die Methode den Wert der banalen Ressourcen [Produkte, Leute, Kapazität…], sowie die Rolle der seltenen und unnachahmlichen Faktoren, von denen geglaubt wird, das sie für nachhaltigen Wettbewerbsvorteil verantwortlich sind. Die Methode unterscheidet sich auch von „Systems Thinking“-Ansätzen [Senge et al.] in der Unterstreichung der Ressourcenkumulierung und der Bedeutung des quantifizierens von Änderung im Zeitablauf, im Gegensatz zu der qualitativen, Feedback-Orientierung dieser Tradition.


Berechnung von Strategy Dynamics. Formel

Performance (t) = f [Ressourcen (1-n, t), Entscheidungen (t), exogene Faktoren (t)]
Ressourcen (i, t) = Ressourcen (i, t-1) +/- Ressourcenflüsse (i, t-1 zu t)
Ressourcenflüsse (i, t-1 zu t) = f [Ressourcen (1-n, t), Entscheidungen (t), exogene Faktoren (t)]


Gebrauch der Strategy Dynamics Methode. Anwendungen

  • Die Methode ist auf jede Art von Unternehmen, ob kommerziel, öffentlicher Service oder freiwillig, sowie auf jede Funktion innerhalb eines Unternehmens anwendbar.
  • Sie ist auch auf noch nicht bestehende Unternehmen, wie neue Unternehmensgründungen oder freiwillige Initiativen anwendbar.

Schritte in Strategy Dynamics. Prozess

  1. Quantifizieren Sie die Zeitstrecke der gegenwärtigen Performancezielsetzung und der antizipierten oder gewünschten Performancezielsetzung.
  2. Identifizieren und quantifizieren Sie im Zeitablauf die verursachenden Verhältnisse zurück zu den Ressourcen, die direkt Performance treiben.
  3. Quantifizieren Sie die Strömungsraten dieser Ressourcen im Zeitablauf.
  4. Verfolgen Sie die Kausalität von diesen Ressourcenströmungsraten zurück zu den Entscheidungen, den exogenen Faktoren und den vorhandenen Ressourcen, von denen sie abhängen.
  5. Verbinden Sie diese Abhängigkeiten, um den Kern der „strategischen Architektur“ für das Unternehmen zu schaffen.
  6. Optional: Erweitern Sie diese Kernarchitektur, um mögliche Ressourcen, Ressourcenentwicklung, immaterielle Faktoren, Rivalität etc. abzugrenzen.

Stärken von Strategy Dynamics. Nutzen

  • Die Methode basiert auf Tatsachen und ist rigoros, und sie liefert ein gutes Verständnis der Ursachen der gegenwärtigen Performance, und stellt Vertrauen in die zukünftige Performance zur Verfügung.
  • Da sie exakt hervorhebt, wo Managementaktivitäten und -entscheidungen Kontrolle ausüben, stellt sie deutliche und spezifische Strategien und Aktionspläne zur Verfügung, die anpassungsfähig sind, wenn sich die Zukunft entfaltet.
  • Die Methode basiert auf Tatsachen und kann Meinungsverschiedenheiten unter Teammitgliedern lösen. Sie erlaubt auch jeder einzelnen Person [sowohl im Management-Team als auch darunter] zu sehen, wo ihre Aktivität zum Ganzen beiträgt, und von wem sie abhängig sind.
  • Die Methode stellt ein festes Fundament für Methoden wie die Balanced Scorecard-Konzept [Kaplan und Norton] und  Wertorientierte Unternehmensführung zur Verfügung, und ist ein Mittel der Integrierung anderer gegründeter Strategierahmenwerke und Annäherungen, so wie PEST, Kernkompetenz, Wertkette.

Einschränkungen von Strategy Dynamics. Nachteile

  • Die Methode ist anspruchsvoll und zeitraubend, aber nicht übermäßig, wenn der Wert verbesserter Strategien und Entscheidungen gegeben ist.
  • Es gibt bedeutende Begrenzungen für die Bestimmung, die auf bestimmte Faktoren angewendet werden kann, z.B. Maße für Reputation oder Fähigkeit, und auf einige wichtige kausale Verhältnisse, z.B., in welchem Ausmaß Reputation die Rate der Kundenakquise beeinflusst.

Annahmen des Strategy Dynamics Ansatzes. Bedingungen

  • Um ihre Auswirkung zu maximieren, erfordert die Methode umfangreichen, faktischen Beweis, einschließlich die Geschichte über viele Aspekte des Unternehmens und ihrer Performance Häufig sind diese Schlüsselzahlen unbekannt, so das in diesem Fall das Team vorbereitet werden muss, um zu schätzen, was diese fehlenden Werte sind und welche Auswirkung sie haben können.
  • Der Ansatz hängt von der Bereitschaft und der Fähigkeit des Managements ab, in ihrer Entscheidungsfindung quantitativ zu sein, was nicht in allen Kulturen gefunden werden kann.

Buch: Kim Waren - Competitive Strategy Dynamics -

Buch: Kim Waren - The Critical Path -

Buch: Lars Finskud - Competing for Choice -


Strategy Dynamics-Ansatz-Forum
  Learning Experience... Well Done..
A professional collection of inputs enhancing a real time learning experience for graduate students... Well done, a comprehensive digest of strategic thinking and planning......
     
 
  Use of Strategy Dynamics
How useful is strategy dynamics for strategy development?...
     
 

Strategy Dynamics-Ansatz Fachgruppe


Fachgruppe

Strategy Dynamics-Ansatz Bildung & Veranstaltungen


Finden Sie Trainings, Seminare und Veranstaltungen


Best Practices - Strategy Dynamics-Ansatz Premium

Expert Tips (ENG) - Strategy Dynamics Premium
 

Strategy Dynamics in SMEs

What distinguish best performers from meteors - companies performing well only in a short run - is the capability to excel even in today’s high...
Usage (application): How to Reach the Top
 
 

Quellen - Strategy Dynamics-Ansatz Premium
 

Nachrichten

Strategy Dynamics Methode
     
 

Nachrichten

Strategie Dynamiken
     
 

Videos

Strategy Dynamics Methode
     
 

Videos

Strategie Dynamiken
     
 

Präsentationen

Strategy Dynamics Methode
     
 

Präsentationen

Strategie Dynamiken
     
 

Mehr

Strategy Dynamics Methode
     
 

Mehr

Strategie Dynamiken
     

Vergleichen Sie mit Strategy Dynamics-Ansatz: Simulation von GeschäftsprozesseSystemdenkenResource Based View  |  Balanced Scorecard-KonzeptWertorientierte UnternehmensführungWertketteWertstromanalyse  |  Benchmarking-Methode


Zurück zur Managementdisziplin: Entscheidungsfindung & Bewertung  |  Wissen & immaterielle Werte  |  Strategie


Mehr Managementmethoden, Modelle und Theorie

Special Interest Group Leader

Sie hier


Über 12manage | Werbung | Verlinken Sie uns | Datenschutz | Rechtlicher Hinweis
Copyright 2016 12manage - E-Learning Gemeinschaft zum Thema Management. V14.1 - Letzter Update: 26-9-2016. Alle Namen tm durch ihre Inhaber.

Strategy Dynamics
(Warren)

Knowledge Center

   

Explain the business performance to date, and develop strategies for improving the future performance, based on building and retention of resources and capabilities. Explanation of Strategy Dynamics of Kim Warren. ('99)

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

Strategy Dynamics WarrenWhat is Strategy Dynamics? Description

The Strategy Dynamics method from Kim Warren is a technique that can be used to explain the business performance to date, and develop strategies for improving the future performance, based on building and retention of resources and capabilities.


The target of Strategy Dynamics is to answer some challenging questions (figure):

  • Why is the business performance following its current path?
  • Where will the business performance go if we continue the way we are doing today?
  • How can we design a robust strategy to radically improve the performance into the future?

The ultimate concern of strategic management is to quantitatively improve performance through time. Whether for the enterprise as a whole, or for a key function of interest [e.g. sales]. This trajectory depends, strongly and unavoidably, on what has occurred over the organization's history, and will continue to do so. The method therefore starts from a time-chart of the organization's performance over its relevant history, and the future period of interest, as measured by one or more conventional indicators [e.g. revenue or profits].

Rather than seek statistical explanations for this performance, the method drills back along the logical causal chain. Revenue = sales volume x price. Costs = salaries + sales & marketing + R&D. Etcetera. Each element is mapped on a diagram, whether on paper, white-board or software. Any non-constant item is, like the performance outcome itself, depicted with a time-chart of its values over the past, and as estimated into the future.

After 2-3 steps, this drill-back process reaches one or more 'resources' [strictly, accumulating asset-stocks]. These resources are factors whose behavior is such that they fill up, and drain away over time. Customers, cash, people, products in a product range, and capacity are the most common examples. The logical causality rule still applies. Sales volume = customers x sales-per-customer . Total salaries = staff x average salary.

The next element of the method is critical - the current value of such asset-inventories is not 'determined by' any other factor, but is mathematically identical to the sum of all element that were ever added, minus all elements that were ever lost. This is fundamental in the case of cash. Cash-today is equal to all cash that was ever received, minus all cash that was ever spent. But this is equally true of every other asset-inventory. Today's customers is equal to every customer that was ever won, minus every customer that was ever lost. Today's staff is equal to every person that was ever hired, minus every person that was ever lost. Today's product range is equal to every product that was ever launched, minus every item that was ever discontinued. This is why today's performance and future performance are both unavoidably dependent on history.

The next question of causality is to explain what has been driving these 'flow-rates'. How quickly customers have been won, or how quickly staff was lost. These flow-rates turn out to be dependent upon:

  • Management Decisions [e.g. the amount of money spent on marketing is influencing the customer acquisition. The salaries that were offered are influencing the staff attrition.
  • External Factors [e.g. other firms' marketing or salaries, or customers' disposable income], and crucially also upon
  • Existing Resource-levels [ e.g. customer loss rates depend on service quality, which depends on adequate staff numbers]. All of this is populated with quantitative time-path information.

The three Principles of Strategy Dynamics are:

  1. Performance depends on resources.
  2. Resources fill and drain.
  3. These flow-rates depend on existing resources.

When combined, the principles create an integrated strategic architecture that depicts the 'physics' of the system - highly analogous to the flow-charts found in chemical process plants or power-transmission systems - and how this system determines performance through time.

Once this core architecture of an enterprise is complete [or of a business segment], additional factors can be added by extending the same principles. Key amongst these is the role of potential resources [e.g. likely customers] and the various development-states of resources [e.g. junior, middle, senior staff, or products in research, development and launched]. The impact of intangible factors can be captured. How does reputation affects customer acquisition. How does the morale influences staff turnover. Competitive rivalry effects can be estimated, e.g. likely rates at which rivals may win a newly-developing customer segment. And the impact of organizational capabilities can be evaluated.


Origin of Strategy Dynamics. History

The underlying science is the System Dynamics method, originated by Prof Jay Forrester at MIT in the 1960s, applied explicitly to a resource-perspective of organizations and strategy and the principle of asset-stock accumulation highlighted by Dierickx and Cool, and long recognized to lie at the heart of Strategy and performance. However, in contrast to the Resource Based View [Wernerfelt, Barney, Grant, et al], and competence-based and knowledge-based perspectives on strategy, the method stresses the importance of mundane resources [products, people, capacity ...] as well as the role of rare and inimitable factors believed to be responsible for sustained competitive advantage. The method also differs from 'Systems Thinking' approaches [Senge et al] in emphasizing resource-accumulation and the importance of quantifying change-through-time, in contrast to the qualitative, feedback orientation of that tradition.


Calculation of Strategy Dynamics. Formula

Performance(t) = f[Resources(1-n, t), Decisions(t), Exogenous factors(t)]
Resource(i,t) = Resource(i,t-1) +/- Resource-flows(i,t-1 to t)
Resource-flows(i,t-1 to t) = f[Resources(1-n, t), Decisions(t), Exogenous factors(t)]


Usage of the Strategy Dynamics method. Applications

  • The method is applicable to every kind of enterprise, whether commercial, public-service, or voluntary, as well as to every function within an enterprise.
  • It is also applicable to not yet existing enterprises, such as new ventures or voluntary initiatives.

Steps in Strategy Dynamics. Process

  1. Quantify the time path of the current performance objective, and of the anticipated or desired performance objective.
  2. Identify and quantify over time the causal relationships back to the resources that directly drive performance.
  3. Quantify the flow-rates of these resources over time.
  4. Trace the causality from these resource flow-rates back to the decisions, exogenous factors and existing resources on which they depend.
  5. Connect these dependencies to create the core "strategic architecture" for the enterprise.
  6. Optional: Extend this core architecture to encompass potential resources, resource-development, intangible factors, rivalry etc.

Strengths of Strategy Dynamics. Benefits

  • The method is strongly evidence-based and rigorous, and it provides a good understanding of the causes of current performance, and it provides confidence in the future performance.
  • Since it highlights exactly where management actions and decisions exert control, it provides clear and specific strategies and action plans, that are adaptable when the future unfolds.
  • The method is evidence-based, and it can solve differences of opinion amongst team-members. Also it allows each individual [both amongst the management team and below] to see where their activity contributes to the whole, and on whom they depend.
  • The method provides a solid foundation for methods as the Balanced Scorecard [Kaplan and Norton] and for Value Based Management, and is a means of integrating other established strategy frameworks and approaches, such as PEST, Core Competence, Value Chain.

Limitations of Strategy Dynamics. Disadvantages

  • The method is demanding, and time-consuming, but not excessively so, given the value at stake from improved strategies and decisions.
  • There are significant limits to the certainty that can be applied to certain factors, e.g. measures for reputation or capability, and to some important causal relationships, e.g. to what extent reputation influences the rates of customer acquisition.

Assumptions of the Strategy Dynamics approach. Conditions

  • To maximize its impact, the method requires extensive factual evidence, including history, about many aspects of the enterprise and its performance. Frequently, these key numbers are unknown, in which case the team must be prepared to exercise its judgment in estimating what those missing values might be, and what impact they may have.
  • The approach depends on management's willingness and ability to be quantitative in their decision-making, which not all cultures find easy.

Book: Kim Warren - Competitive Strategy Dynamics -

Book: Kim Warren - The Critical Path -

Book: Lars Finskud - Competing for Choice -


Strategy Dynamics Forum
  Learning Experience... Well Done..
A professional collection of inputs enhancing a real time learning experience for graduate students... Well done, a comprehensive digest of strategic thinking and planning......
     
 
  Use of Strategy Dynamics
How useful is strategy dynamics for strategy development?...
     
 

Strategy Dynamics Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

Strategy Dynamics Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - Strategy Dynamics Premium

Expert Tips - Strategy Dynamics Premium
 

Strategy Dynamics in SMEs

What distinguish best performers from meteors - companies performing well only in a short run - is the capability to excel even in today’s high...
Usage (application): How to Reach the Top
 
 

Resources - Strategy Dynamics Premium

Introduction to Simulation: Definition, Terminology and Process Steps

Presentation about Simulation that includes the following sections:
1. Definition of Simulation
2. Applications of Simulation
3. Defini...
Usage (application): Simulation, Complex Systems
 

Strategy Dynamics Diagram

Download and edit this 12manage PowerPoint graphic for limited personal, educational and business use. Republishing in intranets, websites, books, ma...
Usage (application): Strategy
 
 

News

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

News

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

Videos

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

Videos

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

Presentations

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

Presentations

Strategy Dynamics
     
 

More

Strategy Dynamics Method
     
 

More

Strategy Dynamics
     

Compare with Strategy Dynamics: Business Simulation  |  System Dynamics  |  Resource Based View  |  Balanced Scorecard  |  Value Based Management  |  Value Chain  |  Value Stream Mapping  |  Benchmarking


Return to Management Hub: Decision-making & Valuation  |  Knowledge & Intangibles  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2016 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 6-12-2016. All names tm by their owners.