Plausibilitätstheorie

Wissenszentrum



Zusammenfassung, Forum, Best Practices, Expertentipps und Informationsquellen.

14 Objekte • 190.832 Besuche


Zusammenfassung

Laut Collins u. Michalski „ist etwas plausibel, wenn es konzeptionell durch vorheriges Wissen unterstützt wird“. Die Plausibilitätstheorie von Wolfgang Spohn (1985-), Collins u. Michalski (Argumentation, 1989), Lemaire u. Fayol (arithmetische Problemlösung, 1995), Connell u. Keane (kognitives Modell von Plausibilität, 2002) gibt neue Einblicke in Entscheidungsfindung mit Risiken, die nicht bekannt sein können. Plausibilität ist ein unvermeidliches Phänomen des täglichen Lebens und ist überall vorhanden. Jedoch wurde sie in der kognitiven Wissenschaft für lange Zeit ignoriert und wurde nur als operative Variable behandelt, anstatt erklärt oder selbst studiert zu werden.


Bayesische Statistiken

Bis zur Einführung der Plausibilitätstheorie war die verbreitete Theorie, die von Wissenschaftlern verwendet wurde, um Entscheidungsfindung zu erklären und vorauszusagen, bayesische Statistiken. Genannt nach Thomas Bayes, einem englischen Minister im 18. Jahrhundert. Bayes entwickelte Richtlinien für das Gewichten der Wahrscheinlichkeit von unterschiedlichen Vorkommnissen und ihrer erwarteten Resultate. Bayesische Statistiken wurden in den sechziger Jahren durch Howard Raiffa im Rahmen der Anwendung in Unternehmensumgebungen populär. Laut bayesischer Theorie treffen Manager Entscheidungen, und Manager sollten Entscheidungen auf der Grundlage einer Berechnung der Wahrscheinlichkeiten aller möglichen Resultate einer Situation treffen. Indem sie den Wert jedes Resultates durch die Wahrscheinlichkeit gewichten und die Gesamtmenge summieren, errechnen bayesische Entscheidungstreffer „erwartete Werte“ für eine Entscheidung, die getroffen werden muss. Wenn der erwartete Wert positiv ist, dann sollte die Entscheidung akzeptiert werden; wenn sie negativ ist, sollte sie vermieden werden.


Einschränkungen der bayesischen Statistiken

Auf den ersten Blick kann dieses wie eine gründliche Arbeitsmethode erscheinen. Leider sieht sich jedoch die bayesische Weise des Erklärens von Entscheidungen mindestens zwei Phänomene gegenüber, die schwierig sind zu erklären:

  1. Die Beurteilung des Kehrseitenrisikos. Leute nehmen normalerweise an einem Glücksspiel teil, das eine 50% Wahrscheinlichkeit hat 10$ zu gewinnen, wenn sie 5$ zahlen müssen, wenn sie Pech haben. Aber warum lehnen sie allgemein das gleiche Glücksspiel mit einer 50% Wahrscheinlichkeit ab, wenn sie $1.000.000 im Vergleich zu einem möglichen Verlust von $500.000 gewinnen können?
  2. Wie man mit Risiken umgeht, die nicht bekannt sein können. Diese Arten von Risiko, die nicht vorhersagbare Chancen einbeziehen, sind typisch für Unternehmenssituationen!   Warum bevorzugen Manager Gefahren, die bekannt sind, gegenüber Gefahren, die nicht bekannt sein können?

Plausibilitätstheorie

Beide dieser Phänomene können berücksichtigt werden, wenn die bayesische Berechnung des „erwarteten Werts“ durch den „Risikogrenzwert“ der Plausibilitätstheorie ersetzt wird. Wie ihr Vorgänger beurteilt die Plausibilitätstheorie die Reihe der möglichen Resultate, aber fokussiert sich auf die Wahrscheinlichkeit des Treffens eines Grenzwertpunktes - wie ein Reinverlust - im Verhältnis zu einem annehmbaren Risiko. Zum Beispiel: eine normalerweise rentable Entscheidung wird zurückgewiesen, wenn es ein höheres Risiko als 2% gibt einen (großen) Verlust zu machen. Offensichtlich kann Plausibilität beide Schwächen des bayesischen Denkens beheben: die Tendenz von Managern, inakzeptable abwärts gerichtete Risiken zu vermeiden und die Tendenz von Managern, Risiken zu vermeiden, die nicht bekannt sein können.


Typische Beispiele der Anwendung der Plausibilitätstheorie sind die neuen Basel II Richtlinien für Kapitalallokation im finanziellen Dienstleistungsgewerbe.


Fachgruppe

Beitreten

Plausibilitätstheorie Fachgruppe.



Fachgruppe (1 Mitglieder)

Forum

Neues Thema

Forum über Plausibilitätstheorie.


Plausibility Theory and Taleb
See also the more recent work of Nassim Taleb (Black Swan theory). According to Taleb, we currently live in a world of o (...)
14
 

Starten Sie ein neues Forenthema über Plausibilitätstheorie. Mehr Informationen.

 

Best Practices

Registrieren Sie sich

Die am besten bewerteten Themen über Plausibilitätstheorie. Hier finden Sie die wertvollsten Ideen und praktischen Vorschläge.


Expertentipps

Registrieren Sie sich

Erweiterte Einblicke zu Plausibility Theory (Englisch). Hier finden Sie professionelle Ratschläge von Experten.


Pitfalls of Traditional Risk Analysis

Risk Management, Crisis Management
In their 2000 book "Managing Crises Before they happens" Mitroff and Anagnos explain their critics on traditional risks (...)

Plausibility of Consumer Behavior

Consumer Decision-making, Marketing
Prospect theory, a descriptive model of how people make choices, finds that utility is a function of gains and losses, a (...)

Why Society is More Risky than Before

Understanding New Risk Categories, Risk Management
In his 1992 book "Risk Society: Towards a New Modernity”, Ulrich Beck describes new risk scenarios that companies have t (...)
Informationsquellen

Registrieren Sie sich

Verschiedene Informationsquellen zu Plausibilitätstheorie. Hier finden Sie Powerpoints, Videos, Nachrichten usw., die Sie in Ihren eigenen Vorträgen und Workshops verwenden können.


How to Improve Strategic Decision Making?

Strategic Decision Making, Cognitive Bias, M&A, Corporate Finance
In this video Michael Mauboussin, Credit Suisse's Head of Financial Strategies, briefly explains parts of Philip E. Tetl (...)

The Six Basic Questions of Risk Management: Introduction to Risk Management

Initial Understanding of Risk Management, Risk Management Introduction
Managing risk is essentially a process of asking and answering six relatively easy questions no matter what setting (per (...)

Forschungslinks

Registrieren Sie sich

Springen Sie automatisch in weitere nützliche Quellen bezüglich Plausibilitätstheorie.


Nachrichten Videos Präsentationen Bücher Mehr

Nachrichten

Videos

Präsentationen

Bücher

Mehr


Vergleichen Sie mit Plausibilitätstheorie:  Realoptionen  |  Chaos-Theorie  |  Strategisches Risikomanagement  |  Kreditrisikomanagement  |  Szenarioplanung  |  Analogische Strategische Argumentation  |  Analyse der zugrunde liegenden Ursache  |  CAPM-Modell Dialektische Anfrage  |  Engpasstheorie  |  Pyramiden-Prinzip


Zurück zur Managementdisziplin: Entscheidungsfindung & Bewertung  |  Finanzieren & Investieren  |  Wissen & immaterielle Werte  |  Programm- & Projektmanagement  |  Strategie


Mehr Managementmethoden, Modelle und Theorie

Fachgruppe

Haben Sie ein großes Interesse an Plausibilitätstheorie? Werden Sie unser SIG Führer

 


Über 12manage | Werbung | Link zu uns / Zitieren Sie uns | Datenschutz | Vorschläge | Rechtlicher Hinweis
© 2021 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V15.8 - Letzter Update: 31-7-2021. Alle Namen ™ ihren Inhaber.

Plausibility Theory

Knowledge Center

   

Decision making with risks that can't be known. Explanation of Plausibility Theory.

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

According to Collins & Michalski, "something is plausible if it is conceptually supported by prior knowledge". The Plausibility Theory of Wolfgang Spohn (1985-), Collins & Michalski (reasoning, 1989), Lemaire & Fayol (arithmetic problem solving, 1995), Connell & Keane (cognitive model of plausibility, 2002) provides new insights into decision-making with risks that can't be known. Plausibility is an ineluctable phenomenon of everyday life and ubiquitous. However, it was ignored in cognitive science for a long time, and treated only as an operational variable, rather than being explained or studied in itself.


Bayesian statistics

Until the arrival of the plausibility theory, the common theory which was used by scientists to explain and predict decision-making, was Bayesian statistics. Named for Thomas Bayes, an 18th-century English minister. Bayes developed rules for weighing the likelihood of different events and their expected outcomes. Bayesian statistics were popularized in the 1960s by Howard Raiffa for usage in business environments. According to Bayesian theory, managers make decisions, and managers should make decisions, based on a calculation of the probabilities of all the possible outcomes of a situation. By weighing the value of each outcome by the probability and summing the totals, Bayesian decision makers calculate "expected values" for a decision that must be taken. If the expected value is positive, then the decision should be accepted; if it is negative, it should be avoided.


Limitations of Bayesian statistics

At first sight, this may seem like an orderly working method. However unfortunately, the Bayesian way of explaining decisions faces at least two phenomena that are difficult to explain:

  1. The appreciation of downside risk. People normally take a gamble at a 50% chance to earn $10 when they have to pay $5 if they have bad luck. But why generally they refuse to take the same gamble at a 50% chance if they can win $1.000.000 versus a potential loss of $500.000?
  2. How to deal with risks that can't be known. These kind of risks, that do not involve predictable odds, are typical for business situations!  Why do managers prefer risks that are known, over risks that can not be known?

Plausibility Theory

Both of these phenomena can be dealt with if the Bayesian calculation of "Expected Value" is replaced by the "Risk Threshold" of the Plausibility Theory. Like its predecessor, the Plausibility Theory assesses the range of possible outcomes, but focuses on the probability of hitting a threshold point - such as a net loss - relative to an acceptable risk. For example: a normally profitable decision is rejected if there is a higher than 2% risk of making a (major) loss. Clearly, plausibility can resolve both weaknesses of Bayesian thinking: the tendency of managers to avoid unacceptable downside risks, and the tendency of managers to avoid taking risks that can't be known.


Typical examples of the application of plausibility theory are the new Basel II rules for capital allocation in the financial services industry.


Plausibility Theory Forum
  Plausibility Theory and Taleb
See also the more recent work of Nassim Taleb (Black Swan theory). According to Taleb, we currently live in a world of opacity, where knowledge is overestimated and chance and uncertainty are underestim...
     
 

Plausibility Theory Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

Plausibility Theory Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - Plausibility Theory Premium

Expert Tips - Plausibility Theory Premium
 

Pitfalls of Traditional Risk Analysis

In their 2000 book "Managing Crises Before they happens" Mitroff and Anagnos explain their critics on traditional risks analysis. The authors ...
Usage (application): Risk Management, Crisis Management
 
 
 

Plausibility of Consumer Behavior

Prospect theory, a descriptive model of how people make choices, finds that utility is a function of gains and losses, and risk preference diff...
Usage (application): Consumer Decision-making, Marketing
 
 
 

Why Society is More Risky than Before

In his 1992 book "  
 

Resources - Plausibility Theory Premium

How to Improve Strategic Decision Making?

In this video Michael Mauboussin, Credit Suisse's Head of Financial Strategies, briefly explains parts of Philip E. Tetlock's Model of 3 areas that ar...
Usage (application): Strategic Decision Making, Cognitive Bias, M&A, Corporate Finance
 

The Six Basic Questions of Risk Management: Introduction to Risk Management

Managing risk is essentially a process of asking and answering six relatively easy questions no matter what setting (personal, business, etc) or situa...
Usage (application): Initial Understanding of Risk Management, Risk Management Introduction
 
 

News

Plausibility Theory
     
 

News

Plausibility Decision-making
     
 

Videos

Plausibility Theory
     
 

Videos

Plausibility Decision-making
     
 

Presentations

Plausibility Theory
     
 

Presentations

Plausibility Decision-making
     
 

More

Plausibility Theory
     
 

More

Plausibility Decision-making
     

Compare with Plausibility Theory:  Real Options  |  Chaos Theory  |  Strategic Risk Management  |  RAROC  |  Scenario Planning  |  Analogical Strategic Reasoning  |  Root Cause Analysis  |  CAPM  |  Dialectical Inquiry  |  Theory of Constraints  |  Pyramid Principle


Return to Management Hub: Decision-making & Valuation  |  Finance & Investing  |  Knowledge & Intangibles  |  Program & Project Management  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2016 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 26-9-2016. All names tm by their owners.