Теория правдоподобия

Центр Знаний

   

Принятие решений с неизвестными рисками. Объяснение Plausibility Theory (Теория правдоподобия).

Содержание

  1. Резюме
  2. Форум
  3. Лучшие Лрактики
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Ресурсы
  6. Печатать

Согласно Collins & Michalski, «что-то правдоподобно, если оно концептуально поддерживается предшествующим знанием». Plausibility Theory (Теория правдоподобия) Wolfgang Spohn (1985-), Collins & Michalski (1989), Lemaire & Fayol (1995), Connell & Keane (когнитивная модель правдоподобности, 2002) обеспечивает новые идеи в процессе принятия решений с неизвестными рисками. Правдоподобие неизбежное и повсеместное явление повседневной жизни. Однако, оно долго игнорировалось в науке о мышлении и рассматривалась только как операционная переменная.


Байесовская статистика (bayesian statistics)

До возникновения теории правдоподобности, распространенной теорией, которая использовалась учеными для объяснения и прогнозирования в процессе принятия решений, была байесовская статистика. Названная по имени Томаса Байеса, министра Великобритании 18 века. Байес разработал правила для оценки вероятности различных событий и их ожидаемых исходов. Байесовская статистика было популяризована в 1960-х Howard Raiffa для применения в бизнес среде. Согласно теореме Байеса, менеджеры принимают решения и должны принимать решения на основе вычисления вероятностей всех возможных исходов ситуации. Измеряя значение каждого исхода вероятностью и суммируя итоги, лицо, принимающее решение, высчитывает «ожидаемые значения» для решения, которое необходимо принять. Если ожидаемое значение положительно, то решение должно быть принято; если отрицательно, то его следует избежать.


Ограничения байесовской статистики

На первый взгляд, может показаться, что это упорядоченный метод работы. Однако, к сожалению, байесовский метод объяснения решений сталкивается, по крайней мере, с 2 явлениями, которые трудно объяснить:

  1. Оценка лежащего в основе риска. Люди обычно соглашаются на 50% вероятность заработать 10$ при том, что им пришлось бы выплатить 5$, если не повезет. Но почему, как правило, они не соглашаются на ту же 50% вероятность выигрыша $1.000.000 при потенциальной потере $500.000?
  2. Как иметь дело с неизвестными рисками. Эти виды рисков, которые не включают предсказуемых вероятностей, типичны для бизнес ситуаций!   Почему менеджеры предпочитают риски, которые известны, рискам, которые неизвестны?

Теория правдоподобия

С обоими этими явлениями можно иметь дело, если заменить байесовское вычисление «ожидаемого значения» (expected value) на «порог риска» (risk threshold) теории правдоподобия. Как и ее предшественник, Теория правдоподобия оценивает совокупность возможных результатов, но фокусируется на вероятности определения порога - например, общие потери - по отношению к приемлемому риску. Например: решение обычно отвергается, если присутствует риск потерь выше, чем 2%. Очевидно, правдоподобие может разрешить оба недостатка байесовского мышления: тенденция менеджеров к избеганию неприемлемых лежащих в основе рисков и тенденция менеджеров к избеганию неизвестных рисков.


Типичными примерами применения теории правдоподобности будут новые правила Basel II для распределения капитала в отрасли финансовых операций.


Теория правдоподобия Форум
  Plausibility Theory and Taleb
See also the more recent work of Nassim Taleb (Black Swan theory). According to Taleb, we currently live in a world of opacity, where knowledge is overestimated and chance and uncertainty are underestim...
     
 

Теория правдоподобия Специальная группа по интересам


Специальная группа по интересам

Теория правдоподобия Образование & Мероприятия


Поиск тренингов, семинаров и мероприятий


Лучшие Лрактики - Теория правдоподобия Премиум

Expert Tips (ENG) - Plausibility Theory Премиум
 

Pitfalls of Traditional Risk Analysis

In their 2000 book "Managing Crises Before they happens" Mitroff and Anagnos explain their critics on traditional risks analysis. The authors ...
Usage (application): Risk Management, Crisis Management
 
 
 

Plausibility of Consumer Behavior

Prospect theory, a descriptive model of how people make choices, finds that utility is a function of gains and losses, and risk preference diff...
Usage (application): Consumer Decision-making, Marketing
 
 
 

Why Society is More Risky than Before

In his 1992 book "  
 

Ресурсы - Теория правдоподобия Премиум
 

Новости

правдоподобие теория
     
 

Новости

правдоподобие принятие решений
     
 

Видео

правдоподобие теория
     
 

Видео

правдоподобие принятие решений
     
 

Презентации

правдоподобие теория
     
 

Презентации

правдоподобие принятие решений
     
 

Более

правдоподобие теория
     
 

Более

правдоподобие принятие решений
     

Сравните с Plausibility Theory (Теория правдоподобия):  Real Options (Реальные опционы)  |  Chaos Theory (Теория хаоса)  |  Strategic Risk Management (Стратегическое управление рисками)  |  RAROC  |  Scenario Planning (Планирование сценариев)  |  Analogical Strategic Reasoning (Аналогическое стратегическое рассуждение)  |  Root Cause Analysis (Анализ основной причины)  |  CAPM  |  Dialectical Inquiry (Диалектическое дознание)  |  Theory of Constraints (Теория ограничений)  |  Pyramid Principle (Принцип пирамиды)


Возврат на главную страницу: Процесс принятия решений и Оценка  |  Финансы и Инвестиции  |  Знания и Нематериальные активы  |  Менеджмент программ и проектов  |  Стратегия


Больше: Методы, Модели и Теории Менеджмента

Special Interest Group Leader

Вы здесь


О 12manage | Реклама | Ссылка на наш сайт | Конфиденциальность | Условия пользования
Авторское право 2016 12manage - Ускоренный путь в топ-менеджеры. V14.1 - Последнее обновление: 5-12-2016. Все права защищены обладателями.

Plausibility Theory

Knowledge Center

   

Decision making with risks that can't be known. Explanation of Plausibility Theory.

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

According to Collins & Michalski, "something is plausible if it is conceptually supported by prior knowledge". The Plausibility Theory of Wolfgang Spohn (1985-), Collins & Michalski (reasoning, 1989), Lemaire & Fayol (arithmetic problem solving, 1995), Connell & Keane (cognitive model of plausibility, 2002) provides new insights into decision-making with risks that can't be known. Plausibility is an ineluctable phenomenon of everyday life and ubiquitous. However, it was ignored in cognitive science for a long time, and treated only as an operational variable, rather than being explained or studied in itself.


Bayesian statistics

Until the arrival of the plausibility theory, the common theory which was used by scientists to explain and predict decision-making, was Bayesian statistics. Named for Thomas Bayes, an 18th-century English minister. Bayes developed rules for weighing the likelihood of different events and their expected outcomes. Bayesian statistics were popularized in the 1960s by Howard Raiffa for usage in business environments. According to Bayesian theory, managers make decisions, and managers should make decisions, based on a calculation of the probabilities of all the possible outcomes of a situation. By weighing the value of each outcome by the probability and summing the totals, Bayesian decision makers calculate "expected values" for a decision that must be taken. If the expected value is positive, then the decision should be accepted; if it is negative, it should be avoided.


Limitations of Bayesian statistics

At first sight, this may seem like an orderly working method. However unfortunately, the Bayesian way of explaining decisions faces at least two phenomena that are difficult to explain:

  1. The appreciation of downside risk. People normally take a gamble at a 50% chance to earn $10 when they have to pay $5 if they have bad luck. But why generally they refuse to take the same gamble at a 50% chance if they can win $1.000.000 versus a potential loss of $500.000?
  2. How to deal with risks that can't be known. These kind of risks, that do not involve predictable odds, are typical for business situations!  Why do managers prefer risks that are known, over risks that can not be known?

Plausibility Theory

Both of these phenomena can be dealt with if the Bayesian calculation of "Expected Value" is replaced by the "Risk Threshold" of the Plausibility Theory. Like its predecessor, the Plausibility Theory assesses the range of possible outcomes, but focuses on the probability of hitting a threshold point - such as a net loss - relative to an acceptable risk. For example: a normally profitable decision is rejected if there is a higher than 2% risk of making a (major) loss. Clearly, plausibility can resolve both weaknesses of Bayesian thinking: the tendency of managers to avoid unacceptable downside risks, and the tendency of managers to avoid taking risks that can't be known.


Typical examples of the application of plausibility theory are the new Basel II rules for capital allocation in the financial services industry.


Plausibility Theory Forum
  Plausibility Theory and Taleb
See also the more recent work of Nassim Taleb (Black Swan theory). According to Taleb, we currently live in a world of opacity, where knowledge is overestimated and chance and uncertainty are underestim...
     
 

Plausibility Theory Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

Plausibility Theory Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - Plausibility Theory Premium

Expert Tips - Plausibility Theory Premium
 

Pitfalls of Traditional Risk Analysis

In their 2000 book "Managing Crises Before they happens" Mitroff and Anagnos explain their critics on traditional risks analysis. The authors ...
Usage (application): Risk Management, Crisis Management
 
 
 

Plausibility of Consumer Behavior

Prospect theory, a descriptive model of how people make choices, finds that utility is a function of gains and losses, and risk preference diff...
Usage (application): Consumer Decision-making, Marketing
 
 
 

Why Society is More Risky than Before

In his 1992 book "  
 

Resources - Plausibility Theory Premium

How to Improve Strategic Decision Making?

In this video Michael Mauboussin, Credit Suisse's Head of Financial Strategies, briefly explains parts of Philip E. Tetlock's Model of 3 areas that ar...
Usage (application): Strategic Decision Making, Cognitive Bias, M&A, Corporate Finance
 

The Six Basic Questions of Risk Management: Introduction to Risk Management

Managing risk is essentially a process of asking and answering six relatively easy questions no matter what setting (personal, business, etc) or situa...
Usage (application): Initial Understanding of Risk Management, Risk Management Introduction
 
 

News

Plausibility Theory
     
 

News

Plausibility Decision-making
     
 

Videos

Plausibility Theory
     
 

Videos

Plausibility Decision-making
     
 

Presentations

Plausibility Theory
     
 

Presentations

Plausibility Decision-making
     
 

More

Plausibility Theory
     
 

More

Plausibility Decision-making
     

Compare with Plausibility Theory:  Real Options  |  Chaos Theory  |  Strategic Risk Management  |  RAROC  |  Scenario Planning  |  Analogical Strategic Reasoning  |  Root Cause Analysis  |  CAPM  |  Dialectical Inquiry  |  Theory of Constraints  |  Pyramid Principle


Return to Management Hub: Decision-making & Valuation  |  Finance & Investing  |  Knowledge & Intangibles  |  Program & Project Management  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2016 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 26-9-2016. All names tm by their owners.