MSP-Methode
OGC

Wissenszentrum

   

Managing Successful Programmes. Erklärung von MSP des Office of Government Commerce (OGC). ('99)

Beigetragen von: Mark Tomlinson

Inhaltsverzeichnis

  1. Zusammenfassung
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Quellen
  6. Drucken

MSP ProzessüberblickWas ist die MSP-Methode? Beschreibung

Die MSP-Methode von OGC ist ein Programm-Management-Rahmenwerk für die Nutzenidentifizierung und -förderung. Programm-Management der Änderung beschäftigt sich mit dem Erzielen der Visionsaussage. Dieses ist die Ansicht, in welche Richtung sich die Organisation entwickelt. Eine Visionsaussage beschreibt den internen und externen Kunden der Organisation die Definition, was in Zukunft von der Organisation erwartet werden kann. Sie beschreibt ihre Serviceniveaus „nach ihrer Umwandlung“ in MSP Terminologie. Die Visionsaussage ist eine Aussage über das Endziel aller Organisationsprogramme für die Stakeholder.

MSP schließt ein Dokument ein, das gekennzeichnet ist als „der Entwurf“. Dieses legt die Struktur und den Aufbau der geänderten Organisation dar, die, nach Erreichen, die Fähigkeiten zeigen sollte, die in der Visionsaussage ausgedrückt werden. Der Entwurf ist eine ausführliche Beschreibung der Organisation in Bezug auf ihre Geschäftsprozesse, Leute, Informationssysteme und -einrichtungen und ihre Daten. Er wird verwendet, um den Fokus des Programms für die Förderung der neuen Fähigkeit beizubehalten.

Der Auslöser für den ersten Schritt - „Identifying a Programme“ ist ein Programmmandat, das die hochqualifizierten, strategischen Zielsetzungen des Programms liefert. Vom Programmmandat werden die Zielsetzungen in den Programmauftrag entwickelt. Formale Zustimmung des Programmauftrags wird von der fördernden Gruppe und dem hauptverantwortlichen Inhaber angefordert, bevor das Programm fortfährt.

Der Programmauftrag (folgende Zustimmung) ist der Hauptinput für „Defining a Programme“. Er stellt die Grundlage für die Entwicklung der Programmdefinition, der Pläne und der Strategien für Programmsteuerung zur Verfügung. Diese Informationen erfordern formale Zustimmung durch den hauptverantwortlichen Inhaber und den Projektträger, bevor das Programm formal gegründet wird.

Die Steuerungsmaßnahmen des Programms werden in „Governing a Programme“ etabliert und implementiert. Die Programmdefinition und -pläne sind die Grundlage für „Managing the Portfolio“ und „Managing Benefits“.

Die Projekte und die Tätigkeiten werden in Transchen gruppiert. Jede Tranche liefert eine schrittweise Änderung in der Fähigkeit, nachdem die Realisierung des Nutzens beurteilt werden kann. Die Aktivitäten von „Managing the Portfolio“ und „Managing Benefits“ werden für jede Tranche wiederholt. Das Ende jeder Tranche liefert einen großen Durchsichtspunkt, an dem das Programm in Bezug auf seinen Fortschritt in Richtung des Erzielens der gewünschten Resultate und der meßbaren Realisierung des Nutzens formal beurteilt werden kann. Während des Programms liefert Fortschrittsüberwachung kontinuierliche Einschätzung der entscheidenden Fragen, wie „sind wir noch auf dem richtigen Weg? “, „ist der Geschäftsfall immernoch gültig und relevant? “ und „müssen wir irgendwas ändern, um das Programm neu auszurichten?“

„Das Abschließen eines Programms“ wird vorgenommen, wenn das Programm durchgeführt wurde - wenn der Entwurf geliefert wurde und die Fähigkeiten, die erfordert werden, um die Visionsaussage zu erzielen, implementiert sind. Nach Programmabschluss können weitere Einschätzungen erfordert werden, um die fortfahrende Realisierung des Nutzens zu beurteilen und zu messen.
 

Ursprung von der MSP-Methode. Geschichte

Entwickelt durch das OGC (früher CCTA), das Office of Government Commerce (OGC), ein unabhängiges Büro der britischen Treasury-Berichterstattung an den Chief Secretary to the Treasury. Das OGC ist für ein weitreichendes Programm verantwortlich, das sich auf das Verbessern der Effizienz und der Wirksamkeit von zentraler Zivilregierungsbeschaffung und des weiteren öffentlichen Sektors fokussiert.

Zusätzlich hat das OGC eine wichtige Rolle in dem Entwickeln und Fördern des privaten Sektors über den öffentlichen Sektor hinweg.
Das OGC hat auch eine Schlüsselrolle in der Unterstützung von Abteilungen in Projekt- und Programm-Management. Abteilungszentren der hervorragenden Leistung werden zentrale Punkte für das Einbetten der besten Praktiken des Projekt- und Programm-Managements in der Regierung sein.
 

Gebrauch des MSP-Rahmenwerkes. Anwendungen

  • Geschäftsänderung.
  • Verbinden von Strategie mit Projekten.
  • Ein strukturiertes Rahmenwerk, um Änderung zu koordinieren, zu kommunizieren, auszurichten, zu handhaben und zu kontrollieren.

Schritte in der MSP-Methode. Prozess

  1. Identifizieren eines Programms. Um das Programm zu fördern, das Programmmandat zu bestätigen, den hauptverantwortlichen Inhaber zu ernennen, den Programmauftrag zu produzieren, Aufgabengebiete für Programmdefinition zu entwickeln, nachzuprüfen und um das Fortfahren zu genehmigen.
  2. Definieren eines Programms. Um das Team zu gründen, das Programm zu definieren, die Visionsaussage zu entwickeln, den Entwurf zu entwickeln, die Nutzenprofile zu entwickeln, den Nutzen zu validieren, den Stakeholder zu identifizieren, das Projektportfolio zu entwerfen, und die Tranchen zu identifizieren. Und um die Organisationsstruktur des Programms zu entwerfen, den Geschäftsfall des Programms zu entwickeln, die Steuerungsmaßnahmen des Programms zu entwickeln, den Kommunikationsplan zu entwickeln, den Nutzenrealisierungsplan zu entwickeln, den Programmplan zu entwickeln und um das Fortfahren zu genehmigen.
  3. Steuern eines Programms. Um die Programmorganisation aufzubauen, das Programmbüro aufzubauen, die Steuerungsanforderungen zu unterstützen, die technische Programmumgebung, das Risikomanagement und die Themenlösung, HR Management, Beschaffungs- und Vertragsmanagement, die Programmkommunikationen, die Berichterstattung - Überwachung - Steuerung, Informationsmanagement, Dursichten am Ende der Tranche aufzubauen, und das Geschäft wie üblich fortzuführen.
  4. Das Portfolio handhaben. Projektstart, um Projekte an der Nutzenrealisierung und Projekte an den Programmzielsetzungen auszurichten, Fortschritt zu überwachen, Gefahren zu handhaben und Probleme zu lösen, das Projekt abzuschliessen, und Stakeholder zu handhaben.
  5. Nutzen handhaben. Um Nutzenmessung aufzubauen, Nutzenprofile zu verfeinern, Nutzen zu überwachen, Übergang zu handhaben, Änderungen der Kultur und des Personals zu unterstützen, Nutzenrealisierung zu unterstützen und Nutzen zu messen.
  6. Schließen eines Programms. Um Programmabschluss, Programmdurchsicht, Update zu bestätigen und Programminformationen zu finalisieren, um Programm-Management-Teams und Unterstützungsfunktion aufzulösen und Stakeholder zu informieren.

Stärken von MSP. Nutzen

  • Förderung der Änderung. Wirkungsvollere Förderung der Änderungen, da sie in einer integrierten Weise geplant und eingeführt werden können, um sicherzustellen, dass Geschäftsaktivitäten nicht nachteilig beeinflußt werden.
  • Ausrichtung zwischen der Strategie und den Projektniveaus. Effektive Antwort zu den strategischen Initiativen durch das Überbrücken der Lücken zwischen Strategie und Projekten.
  • Managementunterstützung. Hält Aktivitäten auf die Geschäftsänderungsziele fokussiert, indem es ein Rahmenwerk für das obere Management zur Verfügung stellt, um den Änderungprozess zu leiten und zu handhaben.
  • Betriebsmittelverwaltung. Wirkungsvolleres Management der Betriebsmittel durch das zur Verfügung stellen eines Mechanismus für Projektpriorisierung und Projektintegration.
  • Risikomanagement. Besseres Management von Gefahren, weil der breitere Kontext verstanden und ausdrücklich bestätigt wird.
  • Fördert Realisierung. Hilft, um reale Geschäftsnutzen durch den formalen Prozess der Nutzenidentifizierung, -realisierung und -messung zu erzielen.
  • Feststellung von Planabweichungen. Verbessert Kontrolle durch ein Rahmenwerk, innerhalb dessen die Kosten des Einführens der neuen Infrastruktur, der Standards und der Qualitätssysteme gerechtfertigt, gemessen und beurteilt werden können.
  • Verbesserte Leistung. Erklärt, wie neue Geschäftstätigkeiten verbesserte Leistung liefern, indem es den gewünschten Nutzen definiert und ihn mit der Ausführung der neuen Arbeitspraktiken verbindet.
  • Management des Geschäftsfalls. Wirkungsvolleres Management des Geschäftsfalls durch das Errichten und das Beibehalten eines Geschäftsfalls, der genau die derzeitigen Geschäftsaktivitäten mit den vorteilhafteren zukünftigen Geschäftstätigkeiten vergleicht.
  • Korrdination u. Steuerung. Leistungsfähigere Korrdination und Kontrolle der häufig komplexen Reihe von Tätigkeiten, durch das genaue Definieren von Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten für das Handhaben des Projektportfolios und die Realisierung des Nutzens, der vom Programm erwartet wird.
  • Übergangsmanagement. Glatter Übergang von den derzeitigen zu den zukünftigen Geschäftstätigkeiten, durch die klare Anerkennung und die Verantwortlichkeit für das Vorbereiten der Organisation für Migration zu den neuen Arbeitsweisen.
  • Übereinstimmung. Erzielen eines gleichbleibenden Systems von neuen oder geänderten Taktiken, Standards und Arbeitspraktiken durch die integrierte Definition, Planung, Förderung und Sicherung der erforderlichen Änderungen.

Einschränkungen von MSP. Nachteile

  • MSP liefert nicht einen vorschreibenden Prozess und schließt nicht alle Bestandteile mit ein, d.h., es merkt an, dass Sie einen raffinierten Geschäftsfall benötigen, aber es erklärt nicht, wie Sie den Geschäftsfall erschaffen können. Es befindet sich über den vorhandenen Prozessen und Systemen innerhalb Ihrer Organisation.
  • MSP bespricht nur ein Programm, obgleich es in der Wirklichkeit viele Programme geben kann, die miteinander in Zusammenhang stehen.

Annahmen des MSP-Modells. Bedingungen

  • Die passenden Betriebsmittel sind vorhanden. D.h.: ein Programmbüro ist im allgemeinen nicht eine „One-man Show“ Rolle.
  • Oberes Management muss mit der Änderung übereinstimmen und sie aktiv fördern.

Buch: Managing Successful Programmes (2nd edition), 2004, The Stationary Office - ISBN: 0-11-330917-1 -


Die MSP-Methode | Das MSP-Modell-Forum
  Quotes on Managing Programmes. Quotations
Hi, do you know of a remarkable, humorous quote by a famous person or a proverb related to managing programmes?
Please enter a reaction to share it for other people to enjoy! Please use this template:
Author Name Year of Birth - Year of Death, ...
     
 

Die MSP-Methode | Das MSP-Modell Fachgruppe


Fachgruppe

Die MSP-Methode | Das MSP-Modell Bildung & Veranstaltungen


Finden Sie Trainings, Seminare und Veranstaltungen


Best Practices - Die MSP-Methode | Das MSP-Modell Premium

Expert Tips (ENG) - MSP Premium

Quellen - Die MSP-Methode | Das MSP-Modell Premium
 

Nachrichten

Msp Programm
     
 

Nachrichten

Programm Management
     
 

Videos

Msp Programm
     
 

Videos

Programm Management
     
 

Präsentationen

Msp Programm
     
 

Präsentationen

Programm Management
     
 

Mehr

Msp Programm
     
 

Mehr

Programm Management
     

Vergleichen Sie mit MSP-Methode : OPM3-Modell (PMI)  |  IPMA Competence Baseline (ICB)  |  PMBOK-StandardPMMM-ModellPRINCE2-Methode (CCTA)  |  P-CMM  |  Veränderungsmanagement Eisberg  |  Appreciative Inquiry-Methode  |  Positive Abweichung  |  Balanced Scorecard-Konzept


Zurück zur Managementdisziplin: Veränderung & Organisation  |  Programm- & Projektmanagement  |  Strategie


Mehr Managementmethoden, Modelle und Theorie

Special Interest Group Leader

Sie hier


Über 12manage | Werbung | Verlinken Sie uns | Datenschutz | Rechtlicher Hinweis
Copyright 2016 12manage - E-Learning Gemeinschaft zum Thema Management. V14.1 - Letzter Update: 8-12-2016. Alle Namen tm durch ihre Inhaber.

MSP (OGC)

Knowledge Center

   

Managing Successful Programmes. Explanation of MSP of the Office of Government Commerce (OGC). ('99)

Contributed by: Mark Tomlinson

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

MSP process overviewWhat is the MSP method? Description

The MSP method from OGC is a programme management framework for benefits identification and delivery. Programme Management of change deals with achieving the Vision Statement. This is the view of where the organization is going. A Vision Statement describes to the organization's internal and external customers the definition of what to expect from the organization in the future. It describes its service levels "after its transformation" in MSP terminology. The Vision Statement is a statement of the end-goal of all the organization's programmes to the stakeholders.

MSP includes a document referred to as "The Blueprint". This sets out the structure and composition of the changed organization that, after delivery, should demonstrate the capabilities expressed in the Vision Statement. The Blueprint is a detailed description of the organization in terms of its business processes, people, information systems and facilities and its data. It is used to maintain the focus of the program on the delivery of the new capability.

The trigger for the initial step - "Identifying a Programme" is a program mandate which provides the high-level, strategic objectives of the program. From the program mandate, the objectives are developed into the Programme Brief. Formal approval of the program brief is required from the sponsoring group and senior responsible owner before the program proceeds any further.

The Programme Brief (following approval) is the key input to "Defining a Programme". It provides the basis for the development of the Program Definition, the plans, and the strategies for programme governance. This information requires formal approval by the senior responsible owner and the sponsoring group before the program is formally established.

The programme's governance arrangements are established and implemented in "Governing a Programme". The program definition and plans are the basis for "Managing the Portfolio" and "Managing Benefits".

The projects and activities are grouped into tranches. Each tranche delivers a step change in capability, after which the realization of benefits can be assessed. The activities of "Managing the Portfolio" and "Managing Benefits" are repeated for each tranche. The end of each tranche provides a major review point at which the program can be formally assessed in terms of its progress towards achieving the desired outcomes and measurable realization of benefits. Throughout the program, progress monitoring provides continual assessment of crucial questions such as "Are we still on track?", "Is the business case still valid and relevant?", and "Do we need to change anything to realign the program?"

"Closing a Programme" is done when the program is completed - when the blueprint is delivered and the capabilities required to achieve the vision statement are implemented. Following program closure, further assessments may be required to assess and measure the continuing realization of benefits.
 

Origin of MSP. History

Developed by the OGC (formerly CCTA), The Office of Government Commerce (OGC), an independent Office of the UK Treasury reporting to the Chief Secretary to the Treasury. The OGC is responsible for a wide-ranging programme, which focuses on improving the efficiency and effectiveness of central civil government procurement and the wider public sector.

In addition, OGC has an important role in developing and promoting private sector involvement across the public sector.
OGC also has a key role in assisting departments with project and program management. Departmental Centres of Excellence will become central points for embedding project and program management best practice across Government.
 

Usage of the MSP framework. Applications

  • Business change.
  • Connecting of strategy to projects.
  • A structured framework to co-ordinate, communicate, align, manage and control change.

Steps in the MSP method. Process

  1. Identifying a programme. To sponsor the program, to confirm the program mandate, to appoint the senior responsible owner, to produce the program brief, to develop terms of reference for program definition, review, and to approve to proceed.
  2. Defining a programme. To establish the team to define the program, to develop the vision statement, to develop the blueprint, to develop the benefit profiles, to validate the benefits, to identify the stakeholders, to design the project portfolio, and to identify the tranches. And to design the programme's organization structure, to develop the programme's business case, to develop the programme's governance arrangements, to develop the communications plan, to develop the benefits realization plan, to develop the program plan, and to approve to proceed.
  3. Governing a programme. To setting up the program organization, to set up the program office, to support governance requirements, to set up the physical program environment, risk management and issue resolution, HR management, procurement and contract management, program communications, reporting - monitoring - control, information management, end of tranche reviews, and to maintain business as usual.
  4. Managing the portfolio. Project startup, to align projects with benefits realization, to align projects with program objectives, to monitor progress, to manage risks and to resolve issues, project closure, and to manage stakeholders.
  5. Managing benefits. To establish benefits measurement, to refine benefits profiles, to monitor benefits, to manage transition, to support changes to culture and personnel, to support benefit realization, and to measure benefits.
  6. Closing a programme. To confirm program closure, program review, update and finalize program information, to disband program management team and support function, and to inform stakeholders.

Strengths of MSP. Benefits

  • Delivery of change. More effective delivery of changes because they can be planned and implemented in an integrated way ensuring that current business operations are not adversely affected.
  • Alignment between the strategy and project levels. Effective response to strategic initiatives by bridging the gaps between strategy and projects.
  • Management support. Keeps activities focused on the business change objectives by providing a framework for senior management to direct and manage the change process.
  • Resource management. More effective management of resources by providing a mechanism for project prioritization and project integration.
  • Risk management. Better management of risk because the wider context is understood and explicitly acknowledged.
  • Benefits realization. Helps to achieve real business benefits through the formal process of benefit identification, realization, and measurement.
  • Budgetary control. Improves control through a framework within which the costs of introducing new infrastructure, standards, and quality regimes can be justified, measured, and assessed.
  • Improved performance. Clarifies how new business operations will deliver improved performance by defining the desired benefits and linking them to the achievement of new working practices.
  • Management of the business case. More effective management of the business case by building and maintaining a business case that clearly compares current business operations with the more beneficial future business operations.
  • Co-ordination & control. More efficient co-ordination and control of the often complex range of activities by clearly defining roles and responsibilities for managing the project portfolio and realizing the benefits expected from the program
  • Transition management. Smooth transition from current to future business operations through the clear recognition and responsibility for preparing the organization for migration to new ways of working.
  • Consistency. Achieving a consistent system of new or amended policies, standards, and working practices through the integrated definition, planning, delivery, and assurance of the required changes.

Limitations of MSP. Disadvantages

  • MSP does not provide a prescriptive process and does not include all ingredients i.e. it notes that you need a refined business case, but it does not explain how you can create the business case. It sits above the existing processes and systems within your organization.
  • MSP only discusses one program although in reality there may be many programs inter-related to each other.

Assumptions of the MSP model. Conditions

  • That suitable resources are available. I.e.: a programme office is generally not a "one-man band" role.
  • Senior Management have to agree with the change and actively sponsor it.

Book: Managing Successful Programmes (2nd edition), 2004, The Stationary Office - ISBN: 0-11-330917-1 -


MSP Forum
  Quotes on Managing Programmes. Quotations
Hi, do you know of a remarkable, humorous quote by a famous person or a proverb related to managing programmes?
Please enter a reaction to share it for other people to enjoy! Please use this template:
Author Name Year of Birth - Year of Death, ...
     
 

MSP Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

MSP Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - MSP Premium

Expert Tips - MSP Premium

Resources - MSP Premium

First Introduction to Project Management. Essentials

This presentation provides a good first introduction to project management and how to more efficiently implement and execute projects in your organiza...
Usage (application): Project Management Primer, Project Management 101, Basics of Project Management
 

Project Management of Information Technology Projects

This presentation provides information about project management, thereby especially focusing on a context of information technology. The presentation ...
Usage (application): Project Management, Information Technology, Three Sphere Model
 

Program Communication Management

This presentation is about communication, specifically focusing on communciation during projects. The presentation includes the following sections: Usage (application): Project Communications Plan, Project Management, Project Communication Plan, Project Stakeholder Analysis
 

Introduction to Project Risk Management

Project Management is Risk Management. From maintaining the customer relationship to protecting the critical path. The classic definition of risk is t...
Usage (application): Understanding the Importance of Project Risk Management
 

MSP Diagram

Download and edit this 12manage PowerPoint graphic for limited personal, educational and business use. Republishing in intranets, websites, books, ma...
Usage (application): Managing Successful Programmes
 
 

News

Msp Program
     
 

News

Program Management
     
 

Videos

Msp Program
     
 

Videos

Program Management
     
 

Presentations

Msp Program
     
 

Presentations

Program Management
     
 

More

Msp Program
     
 

More

Program Management
     

Compare with Managing Successful Programmes (MSP): OPM3 (PMI)  |  IPMA Competence Baseline (ICB)  |  PMBOK  |  PMMM  |  PRINCE2 (CCTA)  |  P-CMM  |  Change Management Iceberg  |  Appreciative Inquiry  |  Positive Deviance  |  Balanced Scorecard


Return to Management Hub: Change & Organization  |  Program & Project Management  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2016 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 1-10-2016. All names tm by their owners.