Managing Successful Programmes[MSP,成功管理计划](OGC

知识中心

   

成功管理计划。 英国政府商务办公室(OGC)MSP[成功管理计划]解析。 (‘99)

投稿人: Mark Tomlinson

目录

  1. 摘要
  2. 论坛
  3. 最佳实践
  4. Expert Tips
  5. 相关资料
  6. 打印

MSP[成功管理计划]处理概要什么是成功管理计划(MSP)? 释义

成功管理计划(MSP),是由英国政府商务办公室(OGC)制定的一个项目管理架构,用以帮助企业识别商机和成功转型。 项目管理的目标是明确组织发展方向, 实现组织的愿景宣言(Vision Statement)。 愿景宣言(Vision Statement),是组织同时向内部和外部顾客描述所期望达到的未来的景象, 它是在组织“后转型期”(MSP术语),对服务层面的描述。 换句话说,愿景宣言就是对组织所执行的、并服务于利益相关者的各种项目、计划的终极目标的描述。

MSP包含一份名为“蓝图”(The Blueprint)的文件。 蓝图对转型后的组织结构和组织构成进行设置,这一设置要能够反映出愿景宣言所期望的组织未来能力。 它对组织的各方面均有详尽描述,如运营流程、组织人员、信息系统及设备、以及数据等等。 蓝图有助于组织在向新的目标、新的能力变迁过程中,保持变革项目核心,牢牢把握变革重点。

MSP的起始步骤“识别项目”(Identifying a Programme),是一个指导性的项目要求,它为项目执行提出了高标准的战略目标。 根据这些要求和目标,形成项目纲要(Programme Brief。 在项目进入下一步实施之前,项目纲要必须得到项目赞助方和项目高级主管的双重认可。

项目纲要被批准后,即可由此着手“定义项目”。 换句话说,项目纲要是项目定义(Programme Definition、项目方案(Plans)及战略(Strategies)等项目管理元素的基础。 所涉及各信息数据亦要得到项目赞助方和项目高级主管的正式认可。

MSP的项目管理、项目安排分属另一个独立步骤 ——“控制项目”(Governing a Programme)。 在此过程中,项目定义和项目规划作为“组合管理”和“收益管理”的基础,非常重要。

MSP中的项目和相关活动被划分成不同的“部分”(Tranche。 这些“部分”记录着组织能力的一步步的变迁,在此过程中创造的收益当然也能够被评估出来。 在每一个“部分”中,均包含有“组合管理”和“收益管理”这两项重要活动。 在每一个“部分”的结束阶段,均要做一次回顾,对项目进行正式评估,评估要点包括:是否达到既定目标、量化实现的收益。 在整个项目过程中,项目监控通过对一些重要问题的检测,来实现持续、有效的评估。这些问题包括:“我们出轨了吗?”,“这个因素是否仍然相关、有效“”,“我们是否需要改变些什么,来重组项目?”,等等。

“结束项目”(Closing a Programme)是MSP的最后一个步骤,这是企业蓝图和期望的能力均成为现实。 项目结束后,仍有可能需要对项目所带来的收益做持续的评估。
 

MSP起源。 历史

MSP的开发者是英国财政部下属的独立部门——英国政府商务办公室(OGC)。 OGC负责一系列旨在提高政府及公共部门效率与效用的项目。

同时,OGC亦负责发展和促进私人组织部门与公共部门之间的合作关系。
此外,OGC在促进政府部门的项目管理方面扮演着非常重要的角色。 OGC的优秀部门管理中心(Departmental Centres of Excellence)正逐渐成为在政府各部门间推广、嫁接优秀项目管理的中坚力量。
 

MSP架构的运用 应用

  • 企业变革。
  • 企业战略与具体项目的链接。
  • 交流、协调、联合、管理以及控制变革的结构化的管理架构。

MSP的步骤 流程

  1. 辨认项目(Identifying a Programme)。 寻求项目资金支持、委任项目高级主管、制定项目纲要、为项目定义提供参考资料准备、对前项工作回顾、审议。
  2. 定义项目(Defining a Programme。 组建项目定义团队、撰写蓝图、描述预期效益、确认效益、辨识利益相关者、设计项目组合、部分识别(Trancehes Identification 同时,设计项目组织结构、撰写项目案例、准备项目管理安排、设计交流方案、设计项目效益实现方案、设计项目方案、审议。
  3. 控制项目(Governing a Programme。 设立项目组织机构、设立项目办公室、管理需求支持、营造项目硬件环境、风险管理与具体问题处理、人力资源管理、采购与合同管理、项目沟通、报告-监督-控制、信息管理、各“部分”期末回顾、业务保持,等等。
  4. 管理组合(Managing the Portofolio。 项目启动、项目内容与项目效益的协调、项目内容与项目目的的协调、流程监控、风险管理与具体问题处理、项目终结、利益相关者管理。
  5. 管理效益(Managing Benefits。 制定效益衡量机制、对预期效益进行修订、对效益实现情况进行监督、对转变过程进行管理、对涉及到的企业文化及人员方面的变革提供支持、对效益实现的过程提供支持、测量效益。
  6. 结束项目(Closing a Programme。 确认项目结束、项目回顾、更新和确定新的项目信息、解散项目管理团队、撤销项目支持功能、通知利益相关者。

MSP的优势。 优点

  • 变革转移。 因为变革活动是在一种整合的环境下按规划进行,所以对现有经营活动不会产生负面影响,因此是一种更为有效的变革执行方式。
  • 企业整体战略与不同层次的变革项目相协调。 通过缩小战略目标与显示项目之间的差距,对企业战略作出更为有效的反应。
  • 管理支持。 通过为高管指导与管理变革流程提供有效架构,使变革活动能够紧扣企业战略核心。
  • 资源管理。 通过对项目整合、项目优化,实现更为有效的资源管理。
  • 风险管理。 由于对项目架构和项目环境的深刻理解,能够更好地规避项目风险。
  • 效益实现。 通过效益识别、效益实现以及效益测量等正式流程,能够帮助企业实现变革效益。
  • 预算控制。 通过系统的成本管理架构(确认、衡量及评估),预算控制的能力得到提高。
  • 业绩提升。 通过准确定义预期效益,并将它们与变革实践相结合,使得人们能够清楚地看到在新的运营环境里企业绩效是如何被提高的。
  • 案例管理。 通过将当前运营活动与更为高效的未来运营活动相比较,使得企业的商业案例管理更富成效。
  • 协调控制。 通过准确定义项目组合的角色和职责,使得项目管理的协调合控制更为有效。
  • 转变管理。 由于变革过程准备充分、角色和职责分配明确,企业向未来的转变将更加平稳。
  • 连贯性。 通过整合的定义、规划、转变,以及对于转变所需的各项保证,最终实现一个连贯的系统,调整过的或者是完全一新的政策、标准以及工作实践均于项目变革前的内容保持连贯性。

MSP的局限。 缺点

  • MSP未能提供一个说明性操作流程,也没有包含项目管理所需各项要素,如,它提醒你案例管理的重要性,并要求你做一份精炼的商业案例,但并没有解释如何去做这样的一份案例。 它的考量仍停留在组织现有流程及系统内。
  • MSP是对单一项目方案的考量,而事实上,在一个企业内部可能会有多个项目相互管理、并发作用。

MSP的假定。 条件

  • 那些合适的企业资源都是资利用、唾手可得的。 换句话说, 项目办公室不是一个人唱独角戏的地方。
  • 高级主管必须同意变革,积极支持变革。

参考书: Managing Successful Programmes (2nd edition), 2004, The Stationary Office - ISBN: 0-11-330917-1 -


成功管理计划论坛
  Quotes on Managing Programmes. Quotations
Hi, do you know of a remarkable, humorous quote by a famous person or a proverb related to managing programmes?
Please enter a reaction to share it for other people to enjoy! Please use this template:
Author Name Year of Birth - Year of Death, ...
     
 

成功管理计划 小组


小组

成功管理计划 培训|活动


搜索培训、会议及活动项目


最佳实践 - 成功管理计划 高级帐户

Expert Tips (ENG) - MSP 高级帐户

相关资料 - 成功管理计划 高级帐户
 

新闻

MSP 计划
     
 

新闻

计划 管理
     
 

视频

MSP 计划
     
 

视频

计划 管理
     
 

简报

MSP 计划
     
 

简报

计划 管理
     
 

更多

MSP 计划
     
 

更多

计划 管理
     

比较: OPM3[组织项目管理成熟度模型] (PMI)  |  IPMA Competence Baseline[ICB,国际项目管理专业资质标准]  |  PMBOK[项目管理知识体系]  |  PMMM[项目管理成熟度模型]  |  PRINCE2[PRINCE2项目管理体系] (CCTA)  |  PEOPLE-CMM[人力资源能力成熟度模型]  |  Change Management Iceberg[变革管理冰山]  |  Appreciative Inquiry[肯定式探询]  |  Positive Deviance[正向偏差]  |  Balanced Scorecard[平衡计分卡]


返回到分类主页: 变革与组织  |  计划与项目管理  |  战略与策略


更多管理方法、模型和理论

Special Interest Group Leader

你在这里


关于12manage | 广告服务 | 链接我们 | 隐私 | 服务条款
版权所有 2016 12manage经理人进阶捷径。V14.1 - 最后更新:7-12-2016。各管理方法名称(tm)为其原创者所拥有。

MSP (OGC)

Knowledge Center

   

Managing Successful Programmes. Explanation of MSP of the Office of Government Commerce (OGC). ('99)

Contributed by: Mark Tomlinson

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Best Practices
  4. Expert Tips
  5. Resources
  6. Print

MSP process overviewWhat is the MSP method? Description

The MSP method from OGC is a programme management framework for benefits identification and delivery. Programme Management of change deals with achieving the Vision Statement. This is the view of where the organization is going. A Vision Statement describes to the organization's internal and external customers the definition of what to expect from the organization in the future. It describes its service levels "after its transformation" in MSP terminology. The Vision Statement is a statement of the end-goal of all the organization's programmes to the stakeholders.

MSP includes a document referred to as "The Blueprint". This sets out the structure and composition of the changed organization that, after delivery, should demonstrate the capabilities expressed in the Vision Statement. The Blueprint is a detailed description of the organization in terms of its business processes, people, information systems and facilities and its data. It is used to maintain the focus of the program on the delivery of the new capability.

The trigger for the initial step - "Identifying a Programme" is a program mandate which provides the high-level, strategic objectives of the program. From the program mandate, the objectives are developed into the Programme Brief. Formal approval of the program brief is required from the sponsoring group and senior responsible owner before the program proceeds any further.

The Programme Brief (following approval) is the key input to "Defining a Programme". It provides the basis for the development of the Program Definition, the plans, and the strategies for programme governance. This information requires formal approval by the senior responsible owner and the sponsoring group before the program is formally established.

The programme's governance arrangements are established and implemented in "Governing a Programme". The program definition and plans are the basis for "Managing the Portfolio" and "Managing Benefits".

The projects and activities are grouped into tranches. Each tranche delivers a step change in capability, after which the realization of benefits can be assessed. The activities of "Managing the Portfolio" and "Managing Benefits" are repeated for each tranche. The end of each tranche provides a major review point at which the program can be formally assessed in terms of its progress towards achieving the desired outcomes and measurable realization of benefits. Throughout the program, progress monitoring provides continual assessment of crucial questions such as "Are we still on track?", "Is the business case still valid and relevant?", and "Do we need to change anything to realign the program?"

"Closing a Programme" is done when the program is completed - when the blueprint is delivered and the capabilities required to achieve the vision statement are implemented. Following program closure, further assessments may be required to assess and measure the continuing realization of benefits.
 

Origin of MSP. History

Developed by the OGC (formerly CCTA), The Office of Government Commerce (OGC), an independent Office of the UK Treasury reporting to the Chief Secretary to the Treasury. The OGC is responsible for a wide-ranging programme, which focuses on improving the efficiency and effectiveness of central civil government procurement and the wider public sector.

In addition, OGC has an important role in developing and promoting private sector involvement across the public sector.
OGC also has a key role in assisting departments with project and program management. Departmental Centres of Excellence will become central points for embedding project and program management best practice across Government.
 

Usage of the MSP framework. Applications

  • Business change.
  • Connecting of strategy to projects.
  • A structured framework to co-ordinate, communicate, align, manage and control change.

Steps in the MSP method. Process

  1. Identifying a programme. To sponsor the program, to confirm the program mandate, to appoint the senior responsible owner, to produce the program brief, to develop terms of reference for program definition, review, and to approve to proceed.
  2. Defining a programme. To establish the team to define the program, to develop the vision statement, to develop the blueprint, to develop the benefit profiles, to validate the benefits, to identify the stakeholders, to design the project portfolio, and to identify the tranches. And to design the programme's organization structure, to develop the programme's business case, to develop the programme's governance arrangements, to develop the communications plan, to develop the benefits realization plan, to develop the program plan, and to approve to proceed.
  3. Governing a programme. To setting up the program organization, to set up the program office, to support governance requirements, to set up the physical program environment, risk management and issue resolution, HR management, procurement and contract management, program communications, reporting - monitoring - control, information management, end of tranche reviews, and to maintain business as usual.
  4. Managing the portfolio. Project startup, to align projects with benefits realization, to align projects with program objectives, to monitor progress, to manage risks and to resolve issues, project closure, and to manage stakeholders.
  5. Managing benefits. To establish benefits measurement, to refine benefits profiles, to monitor benefits, to manage transition, to support changes to culture and personnel, to support benefit realization, and to measure benefits.
  6. Closing a programme. To confirm program closure, program review, update and finalize program information, to disband program management team and support function, and to inform stakeholders.

Strengths of MSP. Benefits

  • Delivery of change. More effective delivery of changes because they can be planned and implemented in an integrated way ensuring that current business operations are not adversely affected.
  • Alignment between the strategy and project levels. Effective response to strategic initiatives by bridging the gaps between strategy and projects.
  • Management support. Keeps activities focused on the business change objectives by providing a framework for senior management to direct and manage the change process.
  • Resource management. More effective management of resources by providing a mechanism for project prioritization and project integration.
  • Risk management. Better management of risk because the wider context is understood and explicitly acknowledged.
  • Benefits realization. Helps to achieve real business benefits through the formal process of benefit identification, realization, and measurement.
  • Budgetary control. Improves control through a framework within which the costs of introducing new infrastructure, standards, and quality regimes can be justified, measured, and assessed.
  • Improved performance. Clarifies how new business operations will deliver improved performance by defining the desired benefits and linking them to the achievement of new working practices.
  • Management of the business case. More effective management of the business case by building and maintaining a business case that clearly compares current business operations with the more beneficial future business operations.
  • Co-ordination & control. More efficient co-ordination and control of the often complex range of activities by clearly defining roles and responsibilities for managing the project portfolio and realizing the benefits expected from the program
  • Transition management. Smooth transition from current to future business operations through the clear recognition and responsibility for preparing the organization for migration to new ways of working.
  • Consistency. Achieving a consistent system of new or amended policies, standards, and working practices through the integrated definition, planning, delivery, and assurance of the required changes.

Limitations of MSP. Disadvantages

  • MSP does not provide a prescriptive process and does not include all ingredients i.e. it notes that you need a refined business case, but it does not explain how you can create the business case. It sits above the existing processes and systems within your organization.
  • MSP only discusses one program although in reality there may be many programs inter-related to each other.

Assumptions of the MSP model. Conditions

  • That suitable resources are available. I.e.: a programme office is generally not a "one-man band" role.
  • Senior Management have to agree with the change and actively sponsor it.

Book: Managing Successful Programmes (2nd edition), 2004, The Stationary Office - ISBN: 0-11-330917-1 -


MSP Forum
  Quotes on Managing Programmes. Quotations
Hi, do you know of a remarkable, humorous quote by a famous person or a proverb related to managing programmes?
Please enter a reaction to share it for other people to enjoy! Please use this template:
Author Name Year of Birth - Year of Death, ...
     
 

MSP Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

MSP Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Best Practices - MSP Premium

Expert Tips - MSP Premium

Resources - MSP Premium

First Introduction to Project Management. Essentials

This presentation provides a good first introduction to project management and how to more efficiently implement and execute projects in your organiza...
Usage (application): Project Management Primer, Project Management 101, Basics of Project Management
 

Project Management of Information Technology Projects

This presentation provides information about project management, thereby especially focusing on a context of information technology. The presentation ...
Usage (application): Project Management, Information Technology, Three Sphere Model
 

Program Communication Management

This presentation is about communication, specifically focusing on communciation during projects. The presentation includes the following sections: Usage (application): Project Communications Plan, Project Management, Project Communication Plan, Project Stakeholder Analysis
 

Introduction to Project Risk Management

Project Management is Risk Management. From maintaining the customer relationship to protecting the critical path. The classic definition of risk is t...
Usage (application): Understanding the Importance of Project Risk Management
 

MSP Diagram

Download and edit this 12manage PowerPoint graphic for limited personal, educational and business use. Republishing in intranets, websites, books, ma...
Usage (application): Managing Successful Programmes
 
 

News

Msp Program
     
 

News

Program Management
     
 

Videos

Msp Program
     
 

Videos

Program Management
     
 

Presentations

Msp Program
     
 

Presentations

Program Management
     
 

More

Msp Program
     
 

More

Program Management
     

Compare with Managing Successful Programmes (MSP): OPM3 (PMI)  |  IPMA Competence Baseline (ICB)  |  PMBOK  |  PMMM  |  PRINCE2 (CCTA)  |  P-CMM  |  Change Management Iceberg  |  Appreciative Inquiry  |  Positive Deviance  |  Balanced Scorecard


Return to Management Hub: Change & Organization  |  Program & Project Management  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Special Interest Group Leader

You here


About 12manage | Advertising | Link to us | Privacy | Terms of Service
Copyright 2016 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V14.1 - Last updated: 1-10-2016. All names tm by their owners.