Spiral Dynamics[螺旋动力学]
(Graves)

知识中心

   

人类社会阶段发展阶段论。 Clare Graves博士的Spiral Dynamics[螺旋动力学]解析。 (1966)。

目录

  1. 摘要
  2. 论坛
  3. 最佳实践
  4. Expert Tips
  5. 相关资料
  6. 打印

Clare Graves博士关乎人类社会层次、突变以及循环的理论,亦称为“人类存在阶段理论”(Theory of Levels of Human Existence), 直至Graves博士去世后(1986),才由他的两位学生Don BeckChris Cowan以《螺旋动力学》为名,出书发表。


参考书: "Spiral Dynamics: Mastering Values, Leadership, and Change (1996) -


什么是螺旋动力学? 释义

Graves博士本人所写的螺旋动力学理论概要:

成熟人类的心理状态是一种延伸的、发展的、摇摆的、螺旋式的进步过程。在这过程中,不仅人类所面临的存在问题不断发生变化,人类的社会行为体系亦在发生着由旧到新、由低到高的交替与变迁。人类的心理状态变化不仅臣服于这一外部系统变化,并且以其为特征。
 

以下是更为详尽的描述:

在人类存在的每一个阶段,做为一个成熟的人,他都会永不停息地追寻那个让他蒙昧萦怀的“圣杯”,因为这是他作为一个人存在的目的和意义。

在人类存在的第一个阶段,他追寻的是机械的生理上的满足感[AN,浅褐](具体特征见下图AN栏,后同); 在第二个阶段,他开始寻求一种生存上的安全感[BO,紫色];此后,他追寻的是一种英雄状态以及相应得权力和荣誉[CP,红色];厌倦了争霸,他开始渴望内心的安宁[DQ,蓝色];接着,他开始追求物质享受[ER,橙色];然后,他又有了更为强烈的情感关系的诉求[FS,绿色];再后来,他开始梦想个人价值的实现[GT,黄色],以及世界大同的终极和平[HU,青绿]。 也许,世界大同还没有实现,他又开始向第九个阶段(追求)进发了。 当他认准追求目标、坚定地前进时,他都坚信自己即将找到答案,很快就会发现自己存在的意义和价值。 然而,每一次旅行的终点,他都是极度的惊异与沮丧,他发现每一个答案都不是他要找的能够阐释生命意义的答案, 他所到达的每一个阶段只会给他自己带来更多的不安和恐慌。 换句话说,每当他解决了一个人生问题之后,他发现又有一个新的问题已经浮现于眼前等着他去解决。 这一趟追寻之旅,是没有终点的。


起源的Spiral Dynamics[螺旋动力学]。 历史


一篇早期的文章由Graves是: “道德行为的一种紧急理论根据一个外成模型” (1959)。 他的理论在《哈佛商业评论》变得在出版物以后广泛知名,在叫的文章: “工作标准的恶化” (《哈佛商业评论》9月/1966十月)。


螺旋动力学的五个要点

  1. 人类的本性是非静止的,人类的追求是无限的。 当人的生存环境发生变化之后,人性亦随之变化,并寻求构建新的系统。 然而,旧系统仍然存于新系统之内。
  2. 一旦新系统被激活,人类又开始自觉地改变其心理状态、生存规则去适应新的系统环境。
  3. 人类生存于一个潜在开放的价值体系之中,与之相应的是无穷无尽的生存模式。 根本不存在一个能为人类所穷尽的终极状态。 [它这里是Graves不同与马斯洛(Maslow)和多数其他心理学家的地方。 Maslow在其临终前告诉Graves,他自以为人类发展有一个终结状态的观点错了,Graves是正确的。]
  4. 个体的人、一个组织或者完整的人类社会只能够对与我们当下生存状态相适的管理原则、动机诉求、教育制度、司法或伦理规范做出积极的反应。 比较: Hagberg Model of Personal Power[哈格伯格个人力量模型]
  5. 因为人类系统发展状态所表现出来的这种阶段渐进和复杂性,用螺旋来描述最为形象。 螺旋的每一次上升意味着人类对于现存状态的一次觉醒和重新阐释。 人类螺旋在不断上升的过程中,亦将每一阶段和生存环境下的价值体系和思想体系包容进来,做螺旋状向上发展。 换句话说,新的时代最终造就了新的思想。

螺旋动力学模型的色彩选择

Graves博士本人在模型描述中并没有用到颜色, 而是主要依靠组合字母,以及适当运用的数字、名称。 将色彩设计带入螺旋动力学的是Chris Cowan,1970年当他在教授螺旋动力学理论的时候,为了让字幕幻灯产生更好的效果,他引入了八种颜色来分别修饰各个阶段。 于是,色彩图便成了螺旋动力学教学材料的一部份。到了1996年,当BeckCowan在《螺旋动力学》一书中运用了色彩图之后,色彩图最终成了螺旋动力学研究的共同语言。 看起来这些颜色好像含有比喻意义,事实上这层寓意是不存在的, 颜色只代表它们自己而已。 有时候,还因为颜色的存在,反而使得对于转变视距的讨论变得困难起来。


螺旋动力学是类形学吗?

Graves理论描述的是自然发生的人类进化过程,而并不是设定的人的类别,也不是设定的一系列重要发展阶段; Graves理论描述的是内在的人或组织的系统,而不是故意区分出来的人群或组织; Graves理论描述的是人类社会中有着正常智力和思维的人群,是这个社会群体中人数占最多数的一部分,他所描述的系统正存于这部分人之中。 然而, 这一系统至今还没有被大部分人所认识,因为Graves理论揭示的是人类神经生态系统与现存于外部环境之中的种种问题互为作用的过程。 所以,不要问: “你怎么看待这个人或这类人?”这样的问题, 正确的做法是,观察和把握他们在具体时间、具体事件上所表现出来的思维方式和行为方式。 因此,如果要问的话,就应该问: “ER 橙色”在这个人身上是如何表现的?


人类存在阶段图 - Clare Graves

价值基因(vMEME

学习系统(Learning System

思维(Thinking

结构 Structure

动机系统(Motivational System

具体动机(Specific Motivation

意义(Means
价值(Values

终极价值(End Values

价值系统(Value System

存在问题(Problems of Existence

AN,浅褐 适应性的 机械式的 松散的 生理的 周期性生理需求 没有意识明显的价值系统 没有意识明显的价值系统 机械的/本能的 保持生理状态的稳定
BO,紫色 经典条件反射 自我专注 部落式组织 寻求保证 非周期性生理需求 传统主义 安全 有灵论/部落观 达到相对安全
CP,红色 操作性条件反射 自我中心 帝国 生存 精神和心理生存 开拓与征服 权力 自我中心式/掠夺式 生存于自我意识之中
DQ,蓝色 回避反应式 绝对论者 金字塔形 安全 秩序、意义 牺牲 救世 绝对地/圣洁地 达到永久的内心安宁
ER,橙色 期望式 多元论 委任代表式 独立 充足,能力 科学之上主义 唯物主义 唯物论/进取者 征服物质世界
FS,绿色 观察式 相对论 平等主义 从属关系 爱与从属关系 群体中心论 公共 相对论/群体中心论 生存与以人为主的社会系统中
GT,黄色 学习系统全部开放 系统的 灵活的/综合的 存在主义 自我价值 接受、承认 存在 系统的/综合的 恢复生存于一个无序世界的能力
HU,青绿 学习系统全部开放 差异化的 整体化/全球化 经验 ?????? 体验 共享 整体性/实验性 接受存在主义二元论/实现世界大同

vMEMES的特征

  • 价值基因(vMEMES)应该被视作: 一种价值系统, 一种世界观, 一种心理状态, 一种信仰结构, 一种组织原则。 一种思维方式或调整模式。
  • vMEMES代表着人类社会系统赖以形成的核心智能,人类行为亦由它直接指挥。
  • vMEMES影响着所有人生选择,它从一点来看,它又是一种决策架构。
  • vMEMES能够表现出健康的或者不健康的两种形态。
  • vMEMES是一种离散的思维结构,而不是一系列的理念、价值或动因的结合。
  • vMEMES会随着人生环境的变化而忽明忽暗(这里的人生环境指历史时期、地理位置、存在问题以及社会环境等)

螺旋动力学的根本原则

  1. 人类本性就具有唤醒新的vMEMES,而不减损旧的vMEMES的能力。
  2. 人生环境的变迁能够激活vMEMES,使它或徐缓浮现、或奔腾而出、或衰退败落。
  3. 整个螺旋的形状就像一个钟摆,在两项选择间永无止尽地来回运动,一个选择是: 自我表达、内在控制的“我”, 生存、权力、成就、灵活。 另一个选择则是: 自我牺牲、外在锤炼的“我”, 联系、目的、交感、全局。
  4. 不管是个人的一段新发展还是社会历史的新纪元,每当vMEME来临的时候,那种感觉就像潮水击打在沙滩上。 汹涌而来,掀起巨浪,成为主宰一时的风景, 然后又会有新的浪潮压来,将它代替。
  5. 螺旋进程中的思维的模式也是从简单向复杂发展。
  6. 不同的vMEMES共存于人类系统之中, 例如: 一个具有绿色vMEME导向心理状态的人,很有可能激活他的能量在体育运动领域追求红色vMEME导向的成功,并在市场领域追求橙色vMEME导向的经营成就。

螺旋动力学论坛
  Recommended Books on Spiral Dynamics
Who can recommend books on spiral dynamics, discussing the theory and providing further examples, cases etc.?
Please indicate the level (beginner/advanced/expert)? Much appreciated....
     
 
  Adressering a Red (Blue) Manager
In addressing an authority figure with red (and hints of blue) consciousness, what is the lever? So far I have used: 'That strategy many not allow us to survive in the future'. Is there a better one?...
     
 
  Turquoise Specific Motivation in Spiral Dynamics
Where in the table it says ? for the specific motivation of a turquoise behavior, perhaps it could be something like: "Pursuit of excellence or perfection"....
     
 

螺旋动力学 小组


小组

螺旋动力学 培训|活动


搜索培训、会议及活动项目


最佳实践 - 螺旋动力学 高级帐户

Expert Tips (ENG) - Spiral Dynamics 高级帐户
 

Drivers and Levers of Employees

In their 2002 book "Driven: How Human Nature Shapes our Choices", Paul R. Lawrence and Nitin Nohria mention 4 drives underlying everything we do:
...
Usage (application)Improving Employee Motivation
 
 
 

Alternate Classifications of Human Needs (Employees, Consumers)

One of possible ways to classify human (employee, consumer) needs is to break them down into:
- Biogenic Needs (essential, inherent certain eleme...
Usage (application)Motivation, Marketing, Human Needs
 
 

相关资料 - 螺旋动力学 高级帐户
 

新闻

螺旋动力学 理论
     
 

新闻

螺旋 动力学
     
 

视频

螺旋动力学 理论
     
 

视频

螺旋 动力学
     
 

简报

螺旋动力学 理论
     
 

简报

螺旋 动力学
     
 

更多

螺旋动力学 理论
     
 

更多

螺旋 动力学
     

比较:   Hierarchy of Needs[需求层次理论]  |  Hagberg Model of Personal Power[哈格伯格个人力量模型]  |  Theory of Needs[需求理论]  |  Leadership Pipeline[领导补给线]  |  Whole Brain Model[全脑模型]  |  Coaching[教练]  |  Mentoring[启导]  |  Moral Purpose[道德目的]  |  Ashridge Mission Model[Ashridge使命模型]  |  Hertzberg Two Factor Theory[二因素理论]  |  Theory X Theory Y[X理论-Y理论]  |  ERG Theory[ERG理论]  |  Expectancy Theory[期望理论]  |  Cultural Dimensions[文化尺度]  |  Chaos Theory[混沌理论]  |  Spiral of Silence[沉默的螺旋]


返回到分类主页: 沟通与技能  |  决策与评估  |  伦理与责任  |  人力资源管理  |  知识与无形资产  |  领导力  |  战略与策略


更多管理方法、模型和理论

Special Interest Group Leader

你在这里


关于12manage | 广告服务 | 链接我们 | 隐私 | 服务条款
版权所有 2016 12manage经理人进阶捷径。V14.1 - 最后更新:27-9-2016。各管理方法名称(tm)为其原创者所拥有。

Spiral Dynamics
(Graves)

Knowledge Center

Theory of Levels of Human Existence. Explanation of Spiral Dynamics of Dr. Clare Graves. (1966).

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Expert Tips
  4. Resources

  Print


The Theory of emergent, cyclical, levels of Existence by Clare Graves (also: Theory of Levels of Human Existence) was coined after his death (1986) "Spiral Dynamics" by his students Don Beck and Chris Cowan in their book Spiral Dynamics...


Book: "Spiral Dynamics: Mastering Values, Leadership, and Change (1996) -


What is Spiral Dynamics? Definition

A brief summary of his theory is given by Graves himself:

The psychology of the mature human being is an unfolding, emergent, oscillating, spiraling process marked by progressive subordination of older, lower-order behavior systems to newer, higher-order systems as man's existential problems change.
 

And more comprehensively:

At each stage of human existence the adult man is off on his quest of his holy grail, the way of life he seeks by which to live.

At his first level he is on a quest for automatic physiological satisfaction [AN Beige]. At the second level he seeks a safe mode of living [BO Purple], and this is followed, in turn, by a search heroic status, for power and glory [CP Red], by a search for ultimate peace [DQ Blue], a search for material pleasure [ER Orange], a search for affectionate relations [FS Green], a search for respect of self [GT Yellow], and a search for peace in an incomprehensible world [HU Turquoise]. And, when he discovers that he will not find that peace, he will be off on his ninth level quest. While he sets off on each quest, he believes he will find the answer to his existence. Yet, much to his surprise and much to his dismay, he finds at every stage that the solution to existence is not the solution he has come to find. Every stage he reaches leaves him disconcerted and perplexed. It is simply that while he solves one set of human problems he finds a new set in their place. The quest he discovered, is never ending.


Origin of Spiral Dynamics. History


An early article by Graves was: "An Emergent Theory of Ethical Behavior Based upon an Epigenetic Model" (1959). His theory became more widely known after publication in the Harvard Business Review, in an article called: "Deterioration of Work Standards" (HBR September / October 1966).


Five key points of Spiral Dynamics

  1. Human nature is not static, nor is it finite. Human nature changes as the conditions of existence change, thus forging new systems. Yet, the older systems stay with us.
  2. When a new system or level is activated, we change our psychology and rules for living to adapt to those new conditions.
  3. We live in a potentially open system of values with an infinite number of modes of living available to us. There is no final state towards which we must all aspire. [It is here where Graves differed with Maslow and most other psychologists. Maslow, before his death, told Graves that he (Graves) was correct and he (Maslow) was wrong in thinking of human development as a closed state.
  4. An individual, a company, or an entire society can respond positively only to those managerial principles, motivational appeals, educational formulas, and legal or ethical codes that are appropriate to the current level of human existence. Compare: Hagberg Model of Personal Power
  5. A Spiral vortex best depicts this emergence of human systems as they evolve through levels of increasing complexity. Each upward turn of the spiral marks the awakening of a more elaborated version on top of what already exists. The human spiral, then, consists of a coiled string of value systems, world views, and mindsets, each the product of its times and conditions. In other words, new times produces new minds.

The colors in Spiral Dynamics model

Clare Graves didn't use colors. Instead, Graves generally relied on his original pairs of letters, as well as numbers and names on occasion. The color scheme was applied to Dr. Graves's levels of existence in the 1970s by Chris Cowan for making title slides for use in teaching the theory. The color code was created as a design element for training materials and became a common language when included as part of the publication of the Spiral Dynamics book by Beck and Cowan in 1996. While there was a metaphor behind it, there was certainly no metaphysical significance intended, nor was it derived from chakras or anything else. The color code has taken on a life of its own. Sometimes to the detriment of the model, since it makes discussion of the transition stadia almost impossible.


Is Spiral Dynamics a typology?

The theory of Graves is of an emergent process, not a set of categories or boxes for people, nor a series of essential developmental stages. These are systems within the person or group, not kinds of persons or groups. In theory, the potential for all of these systems lies within everyone with a normal brain, and that's the vast majority of people. However, all the systems aren't awakened because the theory is a process of interaction between the neurobiology of the person (or group) with existential problems and conditions in the external milieu. Don't ask: How do you deal with this kind of person? Instead, seek to understand how to manage the form of thinking and behavior as it is being exhibited by the person, regarding a particular thing, at this time, under these conditions. Therefore ask: How do I manage the ER Orange in this person?


Theory of Human Existence - Clare Graves

vMEME

Learning System

Thinking

Structure

Motivational System

Specific Motivation

Means
Values

End Values

Value System

Problems of Existence

AN Beige Habituation Automatic Loose bands Physiological Periodic physiological needs No conscious value system No conscious value system Automatic / Instinctive Maintaining physiological stability
BO Purple Classical conditioning Autistic Tribe-like groups Assurance Aperiodic physiological needs Traditionalism Safety Animistic / Tribalistic Achievement of relative safety
CP Red Operant conditioning Egocentric Empires Survival Psychological survival Exploitation Power Egocentric / Exploitive Living with self-awareness
DQ Blue Avoidant learning Absolutistic Pyramidal Security Order, meaning Sacrifice Salvation Absolutely / Saintly Achieving ever-lasting peace of mind
ER Orange Expectancy Multiplistic Delegative Independence Adequacy, competency Scientism Materialism Materialistic / Achiever Conquering the physical universe
FS Green Observational Relativistic Egalitarian Affiliation Love, affiliation Sociocentricity Community Relativistic / Sociocentric Living with the human element
GT Yellow All learning systems are open Systemic Flexible & Integrative Existential Self-worth Accepting Existence Systemic / Integrative Restoring viability to a disordered world
HU Turquoise All learning systems are open Differential Holistic & Global Experience ?????? Experiencing Communion Holistic / Experimental Accepting existential dichotomies

Characteristics of vMEMES

  • vMEMES should be seen as: a kind of valuing systems. World views. Levels of psychological existence. Belief structures. Organizational principles. Ways of thinking or modes of adjustment.
  • vMEMES represent a core intelligence that forms systems and directs human behavior.
  • vMEMES impact upon all life choices as a decision-making framework.
  • vMEMES can manifest themselves in both healthy and unhealthy forms.
  • vMEMES are a discrete structure for thinking, not just a set of ideas, values or cause.
  • vMEMES can brighten and dim when life conditions change (life conditions consist of historic times, geographic place, existential problems, and societal circumstances).

Principles underlying Spiral Dynamics

  1. Human nature includes a capacity for new vMEMES to awaken without eliminating old ones.
  2. Changing life conditions can activate vMEMES which may emerge, surge, regress or fade in response.
  3. The overall Spiral is forged by a pendulum-like alternation between: the self-expressive, internal controlled 'me'; survival, power, achievement, flexibility). And: the self-sacrificing, externally-anchored 'we'; relatedness, purposeful, consensual, global).
  4. Each vMEME comes in phases, either in personal passage or historic epoch, like waves on a beach. Entering as a surge, dominating the scene as a strong peak, and then exiting from prominence. To be replaced by another.
  5. The emergence of thinking along the spiral is from lesser complexity towards greater complexity.
  6. vMEMES coexist as mixtures. For example: a generally consensual GREEN-oriented character may activate his or her power seeking RED aspect in sports, and call up an ORANGE achievement orientation in marketing meetings.



Spiral Dynamics Forum (3 topics) Help
  Recommended Books on Spiral Dynamics
Who can recommend books on spiral dynamics, discussing the theory and providing further examples, cases etc.?
Please indicate the level (beginner/advanced/expert)? Much appreciated....
     
  Adressering a Red (Blue) Manager
In addressing an authority figure with red (and hints of blue) consciousness, what is the lever? So far I have used: 'That strategy many not allow us to survive in the future'. Is there a better one?...
     
  Turquoise Specific Motivation in Spiral Dynamics
Where in the table it says ? for the specific motivation of a turquoise behavior, perhaps it could be something like: "Pursuit of excellence or perfection"....
     



Spiral Dynamics Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

Spiral Dynamics Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Expert Tips - Spiral Dynamics Premium
  Drivers and Levers of Employees - Improving Employee Motivation
 
  Alternate Classifications of Human Needs (Employees, Consumers) - Motivation, Marketing, Human Needs
 

Resources - Spiral Dynamics Premium
Announcement of the Emergent Cyclical Level of Existence Theory of Human Behavior - Graves 1975
NLP: The 6 Neurological Levels - 6 layers to view at the reality of a person or issue
 

News - Spiral Dynamics Theory

     
 

News - Spiral Dynamics

     
 

Videos - Spiral Dynamics Theory

     
 

Videos - Spiral Dynamics

     
 

Presentations - Spiral Dynamics Theory

     
 

Presentations - Spiral Dynamics

     
 

More - Spiral Dynamics Theory

     
 

More - Spiral Dynamics

     

Compare with Spiral Dynamics:  Hierarchy of Needs  |  Hagberg Model of Personal Power  |  Theory of Needs  |  Leadership Pipeline  |  Whole Brain Model  |  Coaching  |  Mentoring  |  Moral Purpose  |  Ashridge Mission Model  |  Herzberg Two Factor Theory  |  Theory X Theory Y  |  ERG Theory  |  Expectancy Theory  |  Cultural Dimensions  |  Chaos Theory  |  Spiral of Silence


Return to Management Hub: Communication & Skills  |  Decision-making & Valuation  |  Ethics & Responsibility  |  Human Resources  |  Knowledge & Intangibles  |  Leadership  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Sponsor
Sponsor this knowledge center

Special Interest Group Leader
Tom Christensen
Editor

All you need to know about management

12manage for:



Management Smart Card

12manage in:





Copyright 2014 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V12.0 - Last updated: 29-11-2014. All names tm by their owners.