Spirales Dynamiques
(Graves)

Centre de Connaissances

Théorie des niveaux de l'existence humaine. Explication des Spirales Dynamiques du Dr. Clare Graves. (1966).

Sommaire

  1. Résumé
  2. Forum
  3. Expert Tips
  4. Ressources

  Imprimer


La théorie de l'émergence, cyclique, des niveaux de l'existence par Clare Graves (également : La théorie des niveaux de l'existence humaine) a été inventée après sa mort (1986) « Les Spirales Dynamiques (Spiral Dynamics) » par ses étudiants Don Beck et Chris Cowan dans leur livre Spiral Dynamics…


Livre : "Spiral Dynamics: Mastering Values, Leadership, and Change (1996) -


Qu'est-ce que les Spirales Dynamiques ? Définition

Un bref résumé de sa théorie est donné par Graves lui-même :

La psychologie de l'être humain mature est un processus en déploiement, émergent, oscillant, se développant en spirales marqué par la subordination progressive des systèmes de comportement plus anciens, d'ordre inférieur par des systèmes plus récents, évolués, car les problèmes existentiels de l'homme changent.
 

Et plus explicitement :

À chaque étape de l'existence humaine, l'homme adulte est privé, dans sa recherche du Saint Graal, du mode de vie qu'il cherche à atteindre.

À son premier niveau, il est en quête de la satisfaction physiologique automatique [AN Beige]. Au deuxième niveau, il cherche un mode de vie sûr [BO Purple], et ceci est suivi, alternativement,  par une position héroïque en quête de puissance et de gloire [CP Red], par une quête de paix ultime [DQ Blue], une quête du plaisir matériel [ER Orange], une quête de rapports affectueux [FS Green], une quête de respect de soi-même [GT Yellow], et une quête de paix dans un monde incompréhensible [HU Turquoise]. Et, quand il découvre qu'il n'identifiera pas cette paix, il repartira pour sa quête du neuvième niveau. Tandis qu'il se lance dans chaque recherche, il croit qu'il identifiera la réponse à son existence. Cependant, à sa grande surprise et à sa grande consternation, il identifie à chaque étape que la solution à l'existence n'est pas la solution qu'il est venu chercher. Chaque étape qu'il atteint le laisse déconcerté et perplexe. C'est simplement que, tandis qu'il résout un ensemble de problèmes humains, il en découvre un nouveau sous-ensemble à leur place. La quête de découverte qu'il a entrepris, est interminable.


Origine de Spirales Dynamiques. Histoire


Un article début par Graves était : « Une théorie émergente de comportement éthique basée sur un modèle épigénétique » (1959). Sa théorie est devenue plus largement connue après publication dans Harvard Business Review, dans un article appelé : « Détérioration des normes de travail » (LA REVUE AMÉRICAINE HBR septembre/octobre 1966).


Cinq points clés des Spirales Dynamiques

  1. La nature humaine n'est pas statique, ni finie. La nature humaine change pendant que les conditions de l'existence changent, façonnant ainsi de nouveaux systèmes. Bien que, les systèmes plus anciens perdurent.
  2. Quand un nouveau système ou niveau est activé, nous changeons notre psychologie et nos règles pour que notre mode de vie s'adapte à ces nouvelles conditions.
  3. Nous vivons dans un système de valeurs potentiellement ouvert avec un nombre infini de modes de vie disponibles qui s'offrent à nous. Il n'y a aucune condition finale vers laquelle nous devons tous aspirer. [Il est ici où Graves a différé avec Maslow et la plupart des autres psychologues. Maslow, avant sa mort, a dit à Graves qu'il (Graves) avait raison et qu'il (Maslow) avait tort en pensant au système de développement humain comme un système fermé.
  4. Un individu, une entreprise, ou une société entière peuvent seulement répondre positivement à ces principes de gestion, attractivité des motivations, formules éducatives, et codes légaux ou éthique qui sont appropriés au niveau actuel de l'existence humaine. Comparez : Modèle de Hagberg de Pouvoir Personnel
  5. Un vortex en spirale dépeint mieux cette apparition des systèmes humains pendant qu'ils évoluent à travers les niveaux d'accroissement de la complexité. Chacun tour ascendant de la spirale marque le réveil d'une version plus élaborée de ce qui existe déjà. La spirale humaine, alors, se compose d'une corde enroulée des systèmes de valeur, des vues du monde, et des mentalités, chacun étant le produit de son époque et conditions d'environnement. En d'autres termes, les nouvelles époques produisent de nouvelles pensées.

Les couleurs dans le modèle des Spirales Dynamiques

Clare Graves n'a pas employé les couleurs. Au lieu de cela, Graves généralement s'appuyait sur ses paires de lettres du début, aussi bien qu'occasionnellement sur des nombres et des noms. L'arrangement de couleur a été appliqué aux niveaux de l'existence du Dr. Graves dans les années 70 par Chris Cowan pour faire les titres des supports de cours pour enseigner la théorie. Le code de couleur a été créé comme un élément de créativité pour les matériaux de formation et est devenu un langage commun une fois inclus en tant qu'élément dans la publication du livre Spiral Dynamics par Beck et Cowan en 1996. Tandis qu'il y avait une métaphore derrière, il n'y avait certainement aucune signification métaphysique prévue, ni dérivé des chakras ou de toute autre chose. Le code de couleur a pris vie de ses propres ailes. Parfois au détriment du modèle, puisqu'il rend la discussion des stades de transition presque impossible.


La théorie des Spirales Dynamiques est-elle une typologie ?

La théorie de Graves est un processus émergent, pas un ensemble de catégories ou de boîtes pour les personnes, ni une série d'étapes développementales essentielles. Ce sont des systèmes chez la personne ou le groupe, pas des genres de personnes ou de groupes. Dans la théorie, le potentiel pour tous ces systèmes se trouve en dessous de chacun avec un cerveau normal, et c'est la grande majorité de peuple. Cependant, tout les systèmes ne sont pas actif parce que la théorie est un processus d'interaction entre la neurobiologie de la personne (ou du groupe) avec des problèmes existentiels et certaines conditions du milieu externe. Ne demandez pas : Comment doit-on aborder ce genre de personne ? Au lieu de cela, cherchez à comprendre comment gérer la forme de pensée et de comportement telle qu'elle est exprimée par la personne, concernant une problématique particulière, à ce moment, dans ces conditions. Demandez par conséquent : Comment est-ce que je gère le ER Orange chez cette personne ?


Théorie d'existence humaine - Clare Graves

vMEME

Système d'Apprentissage

Pensée

Structure

Système de Motivation

Motivation Spécifique

Sens des
Valeurs

Valeurs Finales

Système de Valeur

Problèmes de l'existence

AN Beige Accoutumance Automatique Bandes relâchées Physiologique Besoins physiologiques périodiques Aucun système conscient de valeur Aucun système conscient de valeur Automatique / Instinctif Préserver la stabilité physiologique
BO Purple Conditionnement classique Autiste Groupes de type Tribu Conviction Besoins physiologiques apériodiques Traditionalisme Sécurité Animiste / Tribal Réaliser une sécurité relative
CP Red Conditionnement opérateur Égocentrique Empires Survie Survie psychologique Exploitation Pouvoir Égocentrique / Exploiteur Vivre avec la conscience de soi-même
DQ Blue Apprentissage d'évitement Absolu Pyramidal Sécurité Ordre, Signification Sacrifice Salut Absolument / Saint Atteindre la paix d'esprit éternelle 
ER Orange Expectation Multiple Délégation Indépendance Adéquation, compétence Scientisme Matérialisme Matérialiste / Réalisateur Conquête de l'univers physique
FS Green D'observation Relativiste Égalitaire Affiliation Amour, Affiliation Socio-centrisme La Communauté Relativiste / Socio-centrique Vivre avec l'élément humain
GT Yellow Tous les systèmes d'apprentissage sont ouverts Systémique Souple et Intégrateur Existentiel Valeur individuelle Accepter Existence Systémique / Intégrateur Rétablir la viabilité d'un monde désordonné
HU Turquoise Tous les systèmes d'apprentissage sont ouverts Différentiel Holistique et Global Expérience ? ? ? ? ? ? Expérimenter Communion Holistique / Expérimental Accepter des dichotomies existentielles

Caractéristiques des vMEMES

  • vMEME devraient être vus comme : un genre de systèmes d'évaluation. Vues du monde. Niveaux d'existence psychologique. Structures de conviction. Principes organisationnels. Manières de pensée ou modes d'ajustement.
  • vMEME représentent un coeur d'intelligence qui forme des systèmes et dirige le comportement humain.
  • vMEME affectent tous les choix de la vie comme cadre de prise de décisions.
  • vMEME peuvent se manifester sous des formes saines et malsaines.
  • vMEME sont une structure discrète de pensée, pas simplement un ensemble d'idées, de valeurs ou de cause.
  • vMEME peuvent éclairer et obscurcir quand les conditions de vie changent (les conditions de vie se composent d'époques historiques, d'endroit géographique, de problèmes existentiels, et de circonstances sociales).

Principes des Spirales Dynamiques sous-jacent

  1. La nature humaine inclut une capacité pour que de nouveaux vMEME se réveillent sans éliminer les vieux.
  2. Changer de conditions de vie peut activer des vMEME qui peuvent émerger, augmenter, régresser ou se faner en réponse.
  3. La spirale générale est façonnée par une mouvement de balancier entre : l'auto-expressif, le contrôle interne « le moi » ; la survie, la puissance, la réalisation, la flexibilité). Et : l'auto-sacrifice, ancrage externe « le nous » ; relationnel, l'utile, le consensuel, le global).
  4. Chaque vMEME vient en phases, indépendamment dans le passage personnel ou l'époque historique, comme les vagues sur une plage. Entrant comme une montée subite, dominant la scène comme une crête forte, et puis se retirant des feux de la rampe. Pour être remplacé par un autre.
  5. L'émergence de la pensée le long de la spirale va de peu de complexité vers une plus grande complexité.
  6. les vMEME coexistent comme mélanges. Par exemple : un tempérament généralement consensuel Orienté Vert peut activer sa puissance cherchant le domaine ROUGE dans les sports, et fait appel à une  réalisation d'orientation ORANGE lors des réunions de vente.



Forum de Spirales Dynamiques Aide
  Qu'est-ce qu'un vmeme?
Ça m'a l'air vraiment intéressant. Est-ce que quelqu'un peut me dire ce que sont les vmemes? Merci....
     

Spirales Dynamiques Groupe d'Intérêt Spécial


Groupe d'Intérêt Spécial

Spirales Dynamiques Enseignement & Evènements


Trouvez des formations, séminaires et évènements


Expert Tips (ENG) - Spiral Dynamics Premium
  Drivers and Levers of Employees - Improving Employee Motivation
 
  Alternate Classifications of Human Needs (Employees, Consumers) - Motivation, Marketing, Human Needs
 

Ressources - Spirales Dynamiques Premium
 

Nouvelles - Spirales Dynamiques Théorie

     
 

Nouvelles - Spirale Dynamique

     
 

Vidéos - Spirales Dynamiques Théorie

     
 

Vidéos - Spirale Dynamique

     
 

Présentations - Spirales Dynamiques Théorie

     
 

Présentations - Spirale Dynamique

     
 

Plus - Spirales Dynamiques Théorie

     
 

Plus - Spirale Dynamique

     

Comparez les Spirales Dynamiques avec :   Hiérarchie des Besoins  |  Modèle de Hagberg de Pouvoir Personnel  |  Théorie des Besoins  |  Réservoir de Leadership  |  Modèle d'Herrmann  |  Coaching  |  Mentoring  |  But Moral  |  Modèle de Mission d'Ashridge  |  Hertzberg Théorie des Deux Facteurs  |  Théorie Y Théorie X  |  Théorie ERG  |  Théorie des Attentes  |  Dimensions Culturelles  |  Théorie du Chaos  |  Spirale du Silence


Retour vers la page des disciplines de Management : Communication et Compétence  |  Prise de décision et Évaluation  |  Éthique et Responsabilité  |  Ressources Humaines  |  Connaissance et Immatériel  |  Leadership  |  Stratégie


Plus de Méthodes, Modèles et Théorie de Management

Sponsor
Parrainer ce centre de connaissances

Special Interest Group Leader
Expert? Would you like to be our Spiral Dynamics SIG Leader?

Tout ce que vous devez savoir sur le management

12manage pour :



Smart Card sur le Management

12manage dans :





Copyright 2014 12manage - La voie rapide vers la direction générale. V12.0 - Dernière mise à jour : 27-11-2014. Tout les noms TM par leurs propriétaires.

Spiral Dynamics
(Graves)

Knowledge Center

Theory of Levels of Human Existence. Explanation of Spiral Dynamics of Dr. Clare Graves. (1966).

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Forum
  3. Expert Tips
  4. Resources

  Print


The Theory of emergent, cyclical, levels of Existence by Clare Graves (also: Theory of Levels of Human Existence) was coined after his death (1986) "Spiral Dynamics" by his students Don Beck and Chris Cowan in their book Spiral Dynamics...


Book: "Spiral Dynamics: Mastering Values, Leadership, and Change (1996) -


What is Spiral Dynamics? Definition

A brief summary of his theory is given by Graves himself:

The psychology of the mature human being is an unfolding, emergent, oscillating, spiraling process marked by progressive subordination of older, lower-order behavior systems to newer, higher-order systems as man's existential problems change.
 

And more comprehensively:

At each stage of human existence the adult man is off on his quest of his holy grail, the way of life he seeks by which to live.

At his first level he is on a quest for automatic physiological satisfaction [AN Beige]. At the second level he seeks a safe mode of living [BO Purple], and this is followed, in turn, by a search heroic status, for power and glory [CP Red], by a search for ultimate peace [DQ Blue], a search for material pleasure [ER Orange], a search for affectionate relations [FS Green], a search for respect of self [GT Yellow], and a search for peace in an incomprehensible world [HU Turquoise]. And, when he discovers that he will not find that peace, he will be off on his ninth level quest. While he sets off on each quest, he believes he will find the answer to his existence. Yet, much to his surprise and much to his dismay, he finds at every stage that the solution to existence is not the solution he has come to find. Every stage he reaches leaves him disconcerted and perplexed. It is simply that while he solves one set of human problems he finds a new set in their place. The quest he discovered, is never ending.


Origin of Spiral Dynamics. History


An early article by Graves was: "An Emergent Theory of Ethical Behavior Based upon an Epigenetic Model" (1959). His theory became more widely known after publication in the Harvard Business Review, in an article called: "Deterioration of Work Standards" (HBR September / October 1966).


Five key points of Spiral Dynamics

  1. Human nature is not static, nor is it finite. Human nature changes as the conditions of existence change, thus forging new systems. Yet, the older systems stay with us.
  2. When a new system or level is activated, we change our psychology and rules for living to adapt to those new conditions.
  3. We live in a potentially open system of values with an infinite number of modes of living available to us. There is no final state towards which we must all aspire. [It is here where Graves differed with Maslow and most other psychologists. Maslow, before his death, told Graves that he (Graves) was correct and he (Maslow) was wrong in thinking of human development as a closed state.
  4. An individual, a company, or an entire society can respond positively only to those managerial principles, motivational appeals, educational formulas, and legal or ethical codes that are appropriate to the current level of human existence. Compare: Hagberg Model of Personal Power
  5. A Spiral vortex best depicts this emergence of human systems as they evolve through levels of increasing complexity. Each upward turn of the spiral marks the awakening of a more elaborated version on top of what already exists. The human spiral, then, consists of a coiled string of value systems, world views, and mindsets, each the product of its times and conditions. In other words, new times produces new minds.

The colors in Spiral Dynamics model

Clare Graves didn't use colors. Instead, Graves generally relied on his original pairs of letters, as well as numbers and names on occasion. The color scheme was applied to Dr. Graves's levels of existence in the 1970s by Chris Cowan for making title slides for use in teaching the theory. The color code was created as a design element for training materials and became a common language when included as part of the publication of the Spiral Dynamics book by Beck and Cowan in 1996. While there was a metaphor behind it, there was certainly no metaphysical significance intended, nor was it derived from chakras or anything else. The color code has taken on a life of its own. Sometimes to the detriment of the model, since it makes discussion of the transition stadia almost impossible.


Is Spiral Dynamics a typology?

The theory of Graves is of an emergent process, not a set of categories or boxes for people, nor a series of essential developmental stages. These are systems within the person or group, not kinds of persons or groups. In theory, the potential for all of these systems lies within everyone with a normal brain, and that's the vast majority of people. However, all the systems aren't awakened because the theory is a process of interaction between the neurobiology of the person (or group) with existential problems and conditions in the external milieu. Don't ask: How do you deal with this kind of person? Instead, seek to understand how to manage the form of thinking and behavior as it is being exhibited by the person, regarding a particular thing, at this time, under these conditions. Therefore ask: How do I manage the ER Orange in this person?


Theory of Human Existence - Clare Graves

vMEME

Learning System

Thinking

Structure

Motivational System

Specific Motivation

Means
Values

End Values

Value System

Problems of Existence

AN Beige Habituation Automatic Loose bands Physiological Periodic physiological needs No conscious value system No conscious value system Automatic / Instinctive Maintaining physiological stability
BO Purple Classical conditioning Autistic Tribe-like groups Assurance Aperiodic physiological needs Traditionalism Safety Animistic / Tribalistic Achievement of relative safety
CP Red Operant conditioning Egocentric Empires Survival Psychological survival Exploitation Power Egocentric / Exploitive Living with self-awareness
DQ Blue Avoidant learning Absolutistic Pyramidal Security Order, meaning Sacrifice Salvation Absolutely / Saintly Achieving ever-lasting peace of mind
ER Orange Expectancy Multiplistic Delegative Independence Adequacy, competency Scientism Materialism Materialistic / Achiever Conquering the physical universe
FS Green Observational Relativistic Egalitarian Affiliation Love, affiliation Sociocentricity Community Relativistic / Sociocentric Living with the human element
GT Yellow All learning systems are open Systemic Flexible & Integrative Existential Self-worth Accepting Existence Systemic / Integrative Restoring viability to a disordered world
HU Turquoise All learning systems are open Differential Holistic & Global Experience ?????? Experiencing Communion Holistic / Experimental Accepting existential dichotomies

Characteristics of vMEMES

  • vMEMES should be seen as: a kind of valuing systems. World views. Levels of psychological existence. Belief structures. Organizational principles. Ways of thinking or modes of adjustment.
  • vMEMES represent a core intelligence that forms systems and directs human behavior.
  • vMEMES impact upon all life choices as a decision-making framework.
  • vMEMES can manifest themselves in both healthy and unhealthy forms.
  • vMEMES are a discrete structure for thinking, not just a set of ideas, values or cause.
  • vMEMES can brighten and dim when life conditions change (life conditions consist of historic times, geographic place, existential problems, and societal circumstances).

Principles underlying Spiral Dynamics

  1. Human nature includes a capacity for new vMEMES to awaken without eliminating old ones.
  2. Changing life conditions can activate vMEMES which may emerge, surge, regress or fade in response.
  3. The overall Spiral is forged by a pendulum-like alternation between: the self-expressive, internal controlled 'me'; survival, power, achievement, flexibility). And: the self-sacrificing, externally-anchored 'we'; relatedness, purposeful, consensual, global).
  4. Each vMEME comes in phases, either in personal passage or historic epoch, like waves on a beach. Entering as a surge, dominating the scene as a strong peak, and then exiting from prominence. To be replaced by another.
  5. The emergence of thinking along the spiral is from lesser complexity towards greater complexity.
  6. vMEMES coexist as mixtures. For example: a generally consensual GREEN-oriented character may activate his or her power seeking RED aspect in sports, and call up an ORANGE achievement orientation in marketing meetings.



Spiral Dynamics Forum (3 topics) Help
  Recommended Books on Spiral Dynamics
Who can recommend books on spiral dynamics, discussing the theory and providing further examples, cases etc.?
Please indicate the level (beginner/advanced/expert)? Much appreciated....
     
  Adressering a Red (Blue) Manager
In addressing an authority figure with red (and hints of blue) consciousness, what is the lever? So far I have used: 'That strategy many not allow us to survive in the future'. Is there a better one?...
     
  Turquoise Specific Motivation in Spiral Dynamics
Where in the table it says ? for the specific motivation of a turquoise behavior, perhaps it could be something like: "Pursuit of excellence or perfection"....
     



Spiral Dynamics Special Interest Group


Special Interest Group

Spiral Dynamics Education & Events


Find Trainings, Seminars and Events


Expert Tips - Spiral Dynamics Premium
  Drivers and Levers of Employees - Improving Employee Motivation
 
  Alternate Classifications of Human Needs (Employees, Consumers) - Motivation, Marketing, Human Needs
 

Resources - Spiral Dynamics Premium
Announcement of the Emergent Cyclical Level of Existence Theory of Human Behavior - Graves 1975
NLP: The 6 Neurological Levels - 6 layers to view at the reality of a person or issue
 

News - Spiral Dynamics Theory

     
 

News - Spiral Dynamics

     
 

Videos - Spiral Dynamics Theory

     
 

Videos - Spiral Dynamics

     
 

Presentations - Spiral Dynamics Theory

     
 

Presentations - Spiral Dynamics

     
 

More - Spiral Dynamics Theory

     
 

More - Spiral Dynamics

     

Compare with Spiral Dynamics:  Hierarchy of Needs  |  Hagberg Model of Personal Power  |  Theory of Needs  |  Leadership Pipeline  |  Whole Brain Model  |  Coaching  |  Mentoring  |  Moral Purpose  |  Ashridge Mission Model  |  Herzberg Two Factor Theory  |  Theory X Theory Y  |  ERG Theory  |  Expectancy Theory  |  Cultural Dimensions  |  Chaos Theory  |  Spiral of Silence


Return to Management Hub: Communication & Skills  |  Decision-making & Valuation  |  Ethics & Responsibility  |  Human Resources  |  Knowledge & Intangibles  |  Leadership  |  Strategy


More Management Methods, Models and Theory

Sponsor
Sponsor this knowledge center

Special Interest Group Leader
Tom Christensen
Editor

All you need to know about management

12manage for:



Management Smart Card

12manage in:





Copyright 2014 12manage - The Executive Fast Track. V12.0 - Last updated: 29-11-2014. All names tm by their owners.